We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry in the big easy!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #48 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Calif
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sorry in the big easy!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

This was by far the worse hotel that I have ever stayed in. The room smelled and there was garbage under the bed including a old water bottle and a broken phone. The light in the bathroom was impossible to turn on without getting up on the sink. The blinds were broken so we had to put a towel up to keep the light out.

To get to our room, we had to walk by overflowing garbage cans. We had to kick more garbage out of the way (on the sidewalk) to get our roller bags in.

Several times, we tried to call the inn before we got there and in every case we got a different answering message. None of them identified who the call was being forwarded to. Requests for call backs were not honored.

Had we not gotten in late, we would not have stayed at the inn. We were so concerned about bugs in the room that we slept in our clothes. We got out of the room as early as possible the following day and never looked back.

The inn appears to be run by people who just do not care. I would rather stay in my car then spend a night here again. I would avoid at all costs!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The whole experience was one to be avoided at all costs.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lhiflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    107
    33
    24
    43
See reviews for
44
164
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

The Rathbone Inn, until this year, was our favorite place to stay in NOLA for the Jazz and Heritage Festival. However, this year the experience was so bad that I do not think we will be staying there again. Our original reservation was “lost” and if we had not called back to see why the 100% non-refundable deposit was not drawn on our credit card, we would have been without a place to stay during the fest. On call back, we found the price was increased by about 20% over the original price of the room we had booked. Since rooms are scarce during the fest, we were forced with the choice of either accepting the higher price or going without a room.

We arrived and went to our first room – it was not as clean as we had expected – the small fridge was less than clean on the inside, the AC unit leaked on the floor (and our shoes) During the rainstorm, the ceiling leaked water.

Our second room was infested with fleas and the 3rd room was in disrepair – the towel racks were gone – even through the hangers for the bars were still there. The door lock had a deadbolt that did not work, the towels were stained and there were cockroaches, just to name a few of the issues, which we took up with the inn keeper. We were told there were no other rooms to move us to…

One of the nicest features of this Inn is the pool area and hot tub – except the hot tub was broken and no effort, over the course of the 10 days we were there, was made to fix it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was dirty, with fleas and in disrepair
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ftbinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berk, CA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We had a good stay during Fest 2007. Not like the experiences otherwise recently cataloged here. We got into our room on arrival and it was sufficiently clean, provisioned, and decorated. There was continental breakfast every day during our stay. Our room was cleaned each day. When we asked for additional things, we got them. The pool was clean and refreshing. The neighborhood is cool, close to Fest and the Quarter and we never had any concerns about safety.

We're just rebooked with Tina for Fest '08, and I'm happy to stay there.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank MarkWass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

No towels in room upon arrival! Request for towels ignored! Had to call another party to get towels. 2nd day - No maid service!!! Again no towels, Again promised towels, was told in dryer and upon completion will be placed in room and beds made up. Again neither done. Listened to Owner (Tina) excuses for lack of service. She has not credited promised amount back to my credit card and has not returned any of my calls. She did extend an excuse as to why credit not on ( three days ago) machine broken, did not even ask how charge got on then???? Just more excuses! LACK OF SERVICE ! NO PROMISE FULFILLED !!!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank billtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phili
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

This is more like a Half Way house than a bed and breakfast Inn. There are rats in the rooms, rat turds everywhere. The showers are cold. They don't provide you with bath towels. There are live in residents who do drugs and stay up all night in the building. They didn't serve breakfast or the promised wine and cheese because they were "too busy." Too busy doing what? Certainly not cleaning. It's a shame because the building has potential to be nice, but whoever runs this place does a horrible job. The whole building smells like cigarette smoke. They tell you it's a block and a half from the French Quarter, but that block and a half is through the ghetto. You risk your life just to walk to the French Quarter. It is truly disgusting! I would have rather slept on the street.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Checking in
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank phili25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

This place is a complete dump and totally misrepresents itself online. First of all, We were supposed to check in at 3pm, our room wasn't "ready" until 6pm. They continued to tell us it would be ready in 20 minutes...well it was ready 3 hours later. One would think that since they inconvienced us with the wait, we would have been able to enjoy the evening wine and cheese...but they were too busy to serve wine and cheese that day. Upon arrival to the room, there were rats turds on the bed, cockroaches on the floor, broken mirrors, dirty counter tops, no towels in the bathroom. So we asked for towels...18 hours later, the next afternoon, they finally brought us towels, telling us that they had just finished in the dryer. (That is some dryer!) It is like a homeless shelter inside. There are people who live there who are less than respectful to short term guests. They scream and fight all hours of the night, bang on the door and the walls, run up and down the stairs and share the hallucinating behaviors with you. It is so awful...I could go on for days, just do yourself and me a favor...NEVER STAY HERE!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelallRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon, ms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

Let me tell you about our stay at Rathbone Inn on Esplanade in New Orleans. First of all, it was not clean by any means. We had to kill a few roaches and the rug looked like it had never seen a vaccum cleaner. We found a dead rat and some whiskey bottles under one bed the morning we left. We had to call and request clean towels etc-forget cleaning our room! The rooms were sparsely furnished and they weren't antiques. What they have done in renovating this beautiful old home is a crying shame. Shoddy cheap furnishings and workmanship. And, there is no complimentary breakfast or wine and cheese in the parlor!! I could go on for days, but this will have to do.

  • Liked — It was in a beautiful neighborhood and was one time a beautiful home
  • Disliked — It was not clean and I hated the renovations that had been done. It was cheap and poorly maintained. It was not in keeping with a mansion built in the 1850's.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#14 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Property: Rathbone Mansions
Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing