We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #41 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was very dirty. We wrote our name in the dust. Nail clipping on the floor. Mold in the bathroom on the shower curtain. But no way could we sleep there with cockroaches. We left after 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynn0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

I am sorry there was one dead cockroach in your room, as you said. We have had a lot of rain in New Orleans this summer as I explained to you the day before we had so much rain the streets flooded, so yes cockroaches live everywhere by the way and they don't like rain, so from time to time you may see one, nothing I can do about that now is there? Is it a reason to write me a bad review and leave?, I don't think so. Keep reading other reviews, I believe this one is just rediculous..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Rathbone Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 360 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

Had a great stay at these old mansions, not far from the french quarter (about 6 blocks/8-10min walk) so fairly centrally located... ROOM WAS HUGE and lovely, Quite a safe neighbourhood, heard all the horror stories about New Orleans but didn't have any problems.Breakfast was nice, with a few homemade delicacies to try, which were different every morning-good touch. Staff were mostly friendly, a few could work on it a little, but overall was a nice experience. NO itself is a good place with good people, of course it is important to stay safe. Go on guided tours etc. But enjoy yourself...there are options in the French Quarter but for prices like this and rooms like this...you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarbear1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. Y'all were so nice it waws a pleasure to have you as my guests. Hope to see you soon.

Cheers, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were in NOLA for five days to celebrate my 50th birthday and had the pleasure of staying at the Rathbone II. Although, checking in after hours posed a bit of a challenge we later discovered the "slight" inconveniece was only minor in comparison to our overall experience in NOLA and at the Rathbone. The Mansions are mysterious and intriguing and filled with ALL sorts of delights which I had the pleasure of experiencing personally. Miss Pat, is AWESOME and makes you feel welcome and at home. Her energy alone will entice you to return, no doubt about it! We loved the staff, Dawn and Shorty were wonderful! We will definitely stay here again. The Mansion is about 5 blocks from the French Quarter which if you walk in the heat and humidity makes it feel like you are walking 20 blocks. Easy remedy....grab a cab OR stop at the pubs/bars along the way for a quick cool down and a cocktail. May I recommend that you befriend a cab driver..We did with Reggie and he drove us anywhere we wanted, was always on time to pick us up and the rate was reasonable. Please beware of the over-zealous cabbie who's rates are above average. The average rate starts at $3.50 and the additional rate $3.00. Anything above that is a rip off! Glad to hear the THREE pool boys made it back to Chicago safely!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Blessed1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you so much, I do love happy guests! Hope you can visit again soon.

Cheers, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights, July 25th-29th, for $52/night from bookit.com. Overall, I would stay here again, but I'd like to leave a few helpful tips so that future guests might have a better idea of what to expect.

The mansions are about a 20 minute walk from the real action in the French Quarter, which isn't bad at all, but if you aren't used to walking a lot or if you're out of shape you might want to include cab fare in your budget, or money for public parking.

Speaking of parking, the Rathbone has very limited free parking--literally 5 spaces. If you aren't lucky enough to get a spot there, educate yourself on the public parking rules, because you WILL get towed.

Our room was very nice, but the shower was small, we saw two bugs in the 5 days we were there (no roaches or bedbugs, though), and since it is an old building it was rather humid in our room. The AC worked well to make up for this but it still made our sheets sticky. Also, the sink was dirty and the batteries in our remote were dead. None of this was too bothersome, but some people might be harder to please.

The staff isn't overly friendly, but I think this is a common complaint because people don't understand how people in New Orleans are; my family is from there and that's just how they are. Don't take it personal.

Hopefully this review will be helpful--and like I said, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhiJ2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

That is always good advice, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon,

Cheers, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Miss Patt, i just want to let u know that the three pool boys made it back safe to chicago land. We had such a great time in Nola. Thanks again for driving us for seafood. We will defenitley be staying at Rathone again. See u next year, i will let you know when we are heading down, so you can prepare u large pot of your amazing grits and greens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpeasy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hey y'all, I'm so glad you made it back, you are lovely guests and I look forward to seeing you again.
Let the good thims roll right here with us in the Big Easy!

Cheers, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our stay at Rathbone was really enjoyable. We mainly used it as a base to explore New Orleans so the location just outside the French Quarter suited us perfectly. It was one of the cheaper B&B's we came across so was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The room was a little dark but clean and nicely decorated, we really needed to leave the fans on to keep it cool though. The bathroom was small and the shower was not the greatest but this did not really bother us.

The staff are all really friendly and genuine, breakfast is always a nice gathering of guests and staff where you can have a chat if you want to, not much choice but the basics were there. They let us check in early without any problem and gave us a map and sent us on our way. The pool is a nice bonus and a great way to cool down in the New Orleans heat.

Rathbone was everything we needed, don't expect what you get at a hotel as it is a guest house with office hours, try catch the staff in these hours if you need something and you will be alright. Definetly planning to revisit New Orleans and would not hesitate to base ourselves here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Y'all were lovely people, hope you get to visit again someday, Thanks,Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our first experience in a B&B and absolutely loved it! If you prefer lux & updated amenities, go elsewhere but I personally loved the charm this property has. We stayed for two nights during the week and checked in about an hour early so we were able to obtain a parking spot in the very small lot, so I would recommend getting there early unless you don't mind trying to park on Esplanade. It is located a few streets away from the French Quarter so it is very quiet and peaceful at night. You will need to be okay with walking to stay here unless you don't mind paying for cabs. Although it is only a few blocks from the French Quarter, it is at the far end so it takes probably 15 mins to get to the French Market/Jackson Square area. The area is residential and, as with any other city, you need to be careful when walking, but I definitely felt safe inside the property. The pool/bar area was a definite plus and breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JusineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

And the Rathbone Loves you too! Thanks so much for the glowing review, hope you can visit soon, you're the kind of guests we love!

Cheers, Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 141 in New Orleans
234 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
148 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 141 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $136 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone Mansions are two stately antebellum mansions along Esplanade Avenue bordering the French Quarter. We offer our guests warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. The Mansion at 1244 Esplanade features a pool and hot tub, available to guests at either Mansion. The Mansion at 1227 Esplanade has a beautiful garden with comfortable seating to take in the lush surroundings. The Mansions are located diagonally across the street from one another, about 100 steps apart. We have 5 parking spots in the back of the Mansion at 1244 available to guests for a fee. There is free street parking along Esplanade Avenue near both Mansions. Enjoy watching life go by on stately Esplanade Avenue from the large front porch featured at both properties. We look forward to welcoming you and making your New Orleans visit everything you expect it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing