We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made it back miss patt”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #47 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
“We made it back miss patt”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Miss Patt, i just want to let u know that the three pool boys made it back safe to chicago land. We had such a great time in Nola. Thanks again for driving us for seafood. We will defenitley be staying at Rathone again. See u next year, i will let you know when we are heading down, so you can prepare u large pot of your amazing grits and greens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpeasy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hey y'all, I'm so glad you made it back, you are lovely guests and I look forward to seeing you again.
Let the good thims roll right here with us in the Big Easy!

Cheers, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    110
    34
    24
    42
See reviews for
45
168
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our stay at Rathbone was really enjoyable. We mainly used it as a base to explore New Orleans so the location just outside the French Quarter suited us perfectly. It was one of the cheaper B&B's we came across so was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. The room was a little dark but clean and nicely decorated, we really needed to leave the fans on to keep it cool though. The bathroom was small and the shower was not the greatest but this did not really bother us.

The staff are all really friendly and genuine, breakfast is always a nice gathering of guests and staff where you can have a chat if you want to, not much choice but the basics were there. They let us check in early without any problem and gave us a map and sent us on our way. The pool is a nice bonus and a great way to cool down in the New Orleans heat.

Rathbone was everything we needed, don't expect what you get at a hotel as it is a guest house with office hours, try catch the staff in these hours if you need something and you will be alright. Definetly planning to revisit New Orleans and would not hesitate to base ourselves here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Y'all were lovely people, hope you get to visit again someday, Thanks,Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was our first experience in a B&B and absolutely loved it! If you prefer lux & updated amenities, go elsewhere but I personally loved the charm this property has. We stayed for two nights during the week and checked in about an hour early so we were able to obtain a parking spot in the very small lot, so I would recommend getting there early unless you don't mind trying to park on Esplanade. It is located a few streets away from the French Quarter so it is very quiet and peaceful at night. You will need to be okay with walking to stay here unless you don't mind paying for cabs. Although it is only a few blocks from the French Quarter, it is at the far end so it takes probably 15 mins to get to the French Market/Jackson Square area. The area is residential and, as with any other city, you need to be careful when walking, but I definitely felt safe inside the property. The pool/bar area was a definite plus and breakfast was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
And the Rathbone Loves you too! Thanks so much for the glowing review, hope you can visit soon, you're the kind of guests we love!

Cheers, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Im writing this review the same night I checked in. Parking is limited. There are 3 spots on location, the rest are on the street if you are lucky. The mansion is a glorified house and looks absolutely terrible on the outside. I did get a "free upgrade" to a king size room. The inside of the room was pretty nice. King size bed, kitchen sink with counter microwave and mini fridge. Their make up removing clothes is a washcloth. The bathroom is up 3 steps so make sure you are 100% dry so you don't slip on your way out. The pool is about the size of a hot tub which is fine if the owner isn't in it with 3 other people. I havnt gone to sleep yet so I can comment on the noise level or the breakfast. It IS close the the French quarter but the residential side of it. Good luck walking to anything worth seeing in the heat and good luck walking at night. I was walking back to my car at royal and esplanade and there were police outside who told me the area was a crime scene and they were waiting for the coroner. Know what that means?? Dead body. He escorted me back to my car an said under no circumstances to be out alone and do not carry anything valuable at any point. I'm in the process of trying to get my money back.

Very very poor impression of new Orleans so far. I drove 20 hrs from Chicago and if I get a refund I will be driving 20 hrs back TONIGHT. Absolutely stay somewhere else. Do not risk being in this neighborhood. There are better b and b's especially at at this price!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Wow! I am shocked, because I remember meeting you the day you checked out and you did'nt say anything to me about your complaints. Maybe writing a review after a 20 hour drive from Chicago was not the best idea. With that being said, There is limited parking which we do say on the bookit website,We have 5 spots for parking not 3 and parking around the property is free unlike the french quarter. A Mansion is a Glorified House, your a teacher, look it up in the dictionary. Our makeup washcloths are dark in color so our white ones for bathing do not get ruined, therefore we don't have to replace as often, keeping costs down. The pool is not the size of a hot tub that WAS the hot tub! Had you bothered to walk and see the saltwater pool is attached to it, and is 30,000 Gallons hardly small. Also there is a picture of it on the bookit site and well as ours. And are you saying the owner should not be allowed to use the pool or hot tub? RIDICULOUS! The room you were in is split level, you compalin about 3 steps to the bathroom with wet feet? Really? What do you do when its raining outside stay still till the rain stops and everything dries up and then go on your way? I don't think so. By the way Every city has crime no matter how small or big, Chicago is certainly no acception. Sorry you had a bad experience in New Orleans, I know you came here looking for a teaching job, I'm thinking you're not the teacher for New Orleans, we are a fun town, sometimes you get what you give, none of which was our fault. You will NOT be receiving a refund from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My mom and I spend 3 nights at the Historic Rathbone Mansions on Esplanade in New Orleans in mid-May. We were able to bring my puppy along, and had a gorgeous room with a desk, couch, and large closet, with a fridge and microwave. The breakfast each morning was wonderful with fresh homemade treats and the staff were friendly and helpful. The french quarter was only blocks away and we found plenty of good food and bars along our walks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansPat, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the great review, hope to see you here again! Cheers, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here recently, in the property across from the main house in #306. This was a "girls weekend" type getaway, so we booked the Mardi Gras suite, which is the largest of all the rooms offered by Rothbone. The historical value and quaint appearance of both properties is appealing, but they have seriously neglected the basic in upkeep and repairs. There were slats missing from the window shutters, several areas need a fresh coat of paint, curtains and walls had stains and tears, and overall the place seemed as though it could use a serious renovation. The rooms have ceiling fans, but they are unstable and make so much noise that you cannot leave them on overnight.

Our particular suite (#306) had 2 queen beds and one king bed, plus 1 bathroom, a couch, small kitchen table, microwave, and something of a kitchen (basically a beat up old 1/2 fridge and a sink). They didn't even supply any paper towels, silverware, dishes, or other types of eating utensils - only 6 glasses - so why the room was equipped with a "kitchen" is beyond me.

The floors are probably the most attractive part of the properties - all restored to their original state they are quite lovely. However, the staff was less than friendly (yes, we'd read some of the earlier mixed reviews, and they are not an exaggeration - while people were willing to acknowledge you, they definitely did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome). They offer breakfast included in the room rate every morning, but not until 8:30am (and it stops at 10:30am) so that makes your window of opportunity very small, They also work very limited hours - leaving by 2pm on Saturday and at 5pm on Thursday when we arrived they were already long gone. They will leave you instructions to locate your key, and they were very simple to follow, but it left you feeling somewhat unsafe. The walk to the heart of the city is in actuality about 10-15 minutes - about 5 blocks to Bourbon Street, but then another 8-10 blocks to the real activity.

The pool is quite nice - we spent part of an afternoon out there and it was clean and refreshing - they have a bar out there, but each time we were out there we never saw anyone working it so there weren't any options for beverages which would have been nice given the heat. The hot tub was not working when we were there - initially it said it was out of operation until 5/8, but then a new sign gave no definitive date for reopening.

Overall it is a nice place to gain insight into the historical parts of New Orleans, but at $350/night we felt that we paid way too much. Also, FYI they clearly state in the reservations process that you must pre-pay one night, but what they don't tell you is that the day before you arrive, they are going to charge the same credit card for the entire balance. Therefore, although we intended to pay cash for the remaining balance, we could not do so since they'd already charged a credit card on file (plus trying to catch someone at the office to pay them is almost impossible).

They state on their web site they have "limited" parking - what this really means is 3-4 slots ONLY; not nearly enough to accommodate all the rooms. We were forced to park on the street every night, which was unsettling as this property is not located in the best of neighborhoods.

Sadly, if they would invest some of the income they are getting (based upon the very high nightly rates) into the property, it could really become a lovely alternative when staying in New Orleans. However, at its current state I would say it is not worth the cost, hassles, lengthy walk to the key attractions, and poor upkeep of the rooms. We won't be staying here again during our next visit to NOLA.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy, as are those near the main property doors because it is cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the Rathbone for the Jazz Festival and couldn't have found a better place for location and comfort. Only a 20 min. walk to the Festival along Esplanade Ave which is tree lined with mansions along the way. 10 min walk in the other direction took us to the French Quarter or to Frenchman St for time after the festival. We felt very safe in this location. Our room was beautifully restored, over looking lush gardens with a nice patio. Classic 4 poster bed, room painted in deep rich colours. Bar fridge and microwave in a little kitchenette area, though there weren't any utensils or plates as you would expect in the cupboards. We had to cross the street to the main house for breakfast each day, which wasn't a problem to enjoy an authentic New Orleans meal on the porch. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard is more private though you'll have to climb a tall set of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riaPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 139 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 139 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#66 of 139 in New Orleans
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Property: Rathbone Mansions
Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing