We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here!!!”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #29 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 5, 2008

This place is a complete dump and totally misrepresents itself online. First of all, We were supposed to check in at 3pm, our room wasn't "ready" until 6pm. They continued to tell us it would be ready in 20 minutes...well it was ready 3 hours later. One would think that since they inconvienced us with the wait, we would have been able to enjoy the evening wine and cheese...but they were too busy to serve wine and cheese that day. Upon arrival to the room, there were rats turds on the bed, cockroaches on the floor, broken mirrors, dirty counter tops, no towels in the bathroom. So we asked for towels...18 hours later, the next afternoon, they finally brought us towels, telling us that they had just finished in the dryer. (That is some dryer!) It is like a homeless shelter inside. There are people who live there who are less than respectful to short term guests. They scream and fight all hours of the night, bang on the door and the walls, run up and down the stairs and share the hallucinating behaviors with you. It is so awful...I could go on for days, just do yourself and me a favor...NEVER STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travelallRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 405 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

Let me tell you about our stay at Rathbone Inn on Esplanade in New Orleans. First of all, it was not clean by any means. We had to kill a few roaches and the rug looked like it had never seen a vaccum cleaner. We found a dead rat and some whiskey bottles under one bed the morning we left. We had to call and request clean towels etc-forget cleaning our room! The rooms were sparsely furnished and they weren't antiques. What they have done in renovating this beautiful old home is a crying shame. Shoddy cheap furnishings and workmanship. And, there is no complimentary breakfast or wine and cheese in the parlor!! I could go on for days, but this will have to do.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed February 16, 2006

Those looking to stay in a beautiful old home, with a fabulous walk to the Boubon street area, will enjoy the Rathbone.
We sat on the front porch and had wine with a staff member.
The court yard was charming.
No, it is not top notch luxurious but it made you feel lke a part of
Old New Orleans.
If you want all the bells and whistles there are plenty of VERY expensive places that will give you that.
The Rathbone is a steal. Especially for those who are not fussy about every little detail.
I would stay there again and again.
Wisconsin girls.

  • Stayed: October 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indio, California
11
Reviewed January 25, 2006

From the moment we walked in the Rathbone Mansion, we were in awe! Beautiful antique furniture, lovely room with vaulted ceiling and kitchenette, and great ambiance. The breakfasts were delicious, and host was very helpful. Close walking distance to the Quarter. We also loved the jacuzzi! We will definitely be staying at the Rathbone next time we visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dothan, Alabama
19
Reviewed August 7, 2005

This was the worst two nights vacation that I have spent anywhere!! A friend set this deal up and I was foolish enough to listen to a local who supposedly knew the city. We arrived during a heat wave and found not only a filthy room, but no air conditioning in 100+ heat. I got sick and there was about 2 squares of toilet paper to be had; of course no staff at night to provide any either. I agree with the reviewer who appropriately called this place the Ratbone Inn. Spend a few more dollars and find a clean comfortable place or save your money and sleep on the street. At least it would be cooler.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nwe Orleans
113
Reviewed May 29, 2005

I live in New Orleans less than 3 miles from the Inn and decided to take a weekend vacation in my own city. We had been to a wedding at the Inn in the past and were curious about the rooms for a possible wedding venue of our own. I am very familiar with bed and breakfasts all the way up the Mississippi River and I have to say this was my least favorite. There was another review that this is a place to stay "where the locals go". Speaking as a local "DO NOT GO".

The room had no class. The room was filled with bad reproductions and unattractive linens/curtains/paint color. Not to mention the reproduction bed was missing two posts on a four posture bed. Also, the wayward posts were stored visibly in the room. The bathroom was small, with an even smaller stand up shower. The toilet seat was even too small for the toilet. The room was mis-matched, uninviting, and only superficially clean. The pool was the best feature. Too bad you can't sleep in a pool.

I love my city and know we have much more to offer our lovely visitors. I want people to go home and be overwhelmed with our hospitality and charm. Please do not choose to stay here because you will be cheating yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

This was my fourth trip to New Orleans and second stay at the Rathbone Inn. Our last trip my group stayed in Rathbone II due to AC problems in #1. While the #2 has been refurbished (finishing work when last there) I found the room to be nice but more like a standard motel room.
However on this visit I really enjoyed the larger apartment like setting that allowed my friend and I have to have our own space. True Rathbone I needs some TLC and Richard remarked it was going to be shut down soon for it (to a hefty amount), but unlike some of the other reviews I've found the staff to be more than helpful and friendly and have not feared for my safety while there.
I think if travelers want to stay in classic Inn's and become part of the city, Rathbone Inn 1 and 2 can be a great deal. If your picky and want t.v. remotes, and hotel services than stay in one on Canal Street or in the quarter and pay the price.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cargodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
373 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
9 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $137 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone Mansions are two stately antebellum mansions along Esplanade Avenue bordering the French Quarter. We offer our guests warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. The Mansion at 1244 Esplanade features a pool and hot tub, available to guests at either Mansion. The Mansion at 1227 Esplanade has a beautiful garden with comfortable seating to take in the lush surroundings. The Mansions are located diagonally across the street from one another, about 100 steps apart. We have 5 parking spots in the back of the Mansion at 1244 available to guests for a fee. There is free street parking along Esplanade Avenue near both Mansions. Enjoy watching life go by on stately Esplanade Avenue from the large front porch featured at both properties. We look forward to welcoming you and making your New Orleans visit everything you expect it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing