We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical charm in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great experience from the time we arrived. The valet was very pleasant. The registration process moved very quickly. We did have to call down after 35 min. of waiting on our luggage. The valet stand is on the 1st floor and then you take the elevators to the 3rd floor to register. You do need to have your elevator key with you in order to use the elevator. The hotel is across from McDonalds, and down the street from an I-Hop, so no need to eat in the hotel unless you want to splurge. If you get a chance, check out the public restrooms in the 3rd floor lobby. Beautiful décor. Plenty of chairs in the public spaces to sit, relax and read. Our room had some paint chipping (719), and it was facing Canal Street with quite a bit of emergency traffic through the day.

Room Tip: Choose a club level room, if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wheaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,978)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,661 of 2,978 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just swung by for an overnight last weekend. Standard great service and beautiful rooms. The lounge is hopping on a Saturday night, and Jeremy Davenport and his band are terrific. This is the only place we stay when we want to be close to the French Quarter, as the experience is top notch and location is fantastic. We also used the Spa for massages. The facilities are nothing special there for a high end place but the service is always terrific.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Maison Orleans if you wan't a truly memorable experience, but even the basic room...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sunrisederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This place is over the top nice. Rooms are super clean. You walk in and the room screams luxury. And it doesn't stop there. Service was above and beyond. Talk about making our stay unforgettable. The hotel customer service found out that my daughter was celebrating a birthday during our stay. Sure enough there was a card and a gift bag waiting for her when we got there -Thank you Priscilla!
The hotel is located right on Canal street, a short walking distance to Bourbon street. Loved it.
The only negative is the parking fees. It's a bit high at $50, not sure if this is the average rate in the area, but as an overall experience, it was super.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 3 nights to move our daughter into college. The hotel itself was lovely, although a little dark, and had an odd layout. We had to use several elevators and walk across the hotel just to get to our room.
Other than that, the food at the restaurant was exquisite with great, live music.
But never before have I experienced such great service. This was the best service at any hotel I've stayed. They accommodated my request for a very quiet room (hotels don't always do that so successfully.) The staff was very courteous and helpful. The concierge staff, in particular Karen Ford, were wonderful. With all of our daughter's college activities we had to change our dinner reservations a few times. Karen rearranged them swiftly and without complaint. She also recommended wonderful restaurants for our family and friends.
We did have a snafu with our daughter's birthday cupcakes which I'd previously ordered. Marco Fanelli (Asst. restaurant manager) took care of the problem expertly and located new cupcakes the morning of our daughters birthday at a beautiful bakery on the way to her college and took care of the charge. I was very grateful for his quick remedy which turned out to be fantastic. I can't say enough about this hotel's staff. They were amazing. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinG32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just what you'd expect from The Ritz Carlton. Great historic building, great location, excellent service. Within walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The bistro in the hotel was great also.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard. The view was exceptional but there were speakers right outs...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Parrot111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Love this historic building. The authentic post Katrina restored architecture speaks volumes. Loved the internal courtyard but wish the pool wasn't in the basement. Great music and fun times. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldwintampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This review is wayyy overdue. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in July. I love the heavy culture of the French Quarters and the City of New Orleans. It was a 5 star experience from the phone call I made to set the reservation, to John(valet extraordinaire) closing my driver door of my Jag waving bye as we drove off! We stayed here 3 days and never encountered one negative person. Everyone was pleasant. Dwight(bellman extraordinaire) was excellent with his service also. I read other reviews where people complained about having to change elevators to get to the top floors. It didn’t bother us really. It added to the exclusive feel of the Ritz. We had a small maintenance issue with the room and the maintenance guy was just as patient as the front desk concierges! One night I saw the management staff out front fussing at the cab drivers because they were not treating the Ritz guest properly. Talk about the pride and passion! My wife and I are celebrities in our own right and we were treated as such. The room was cozy yet elegant. We are planning to come back to New Orleans next year and there is no doubt where we are staying! WAY TO GO RITZ CARLTON NEW ORLEANS!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trouble c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 165 in New Orleans
1,678 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,548 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $265 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing