We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Big Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
jackson MS
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Oasis in Big Easy”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Recently stayed at this property Aug. 7th_10th, 2014 at club room level (room 889). This was my 2nd stay here, having previously stayed in about February, 2012 while it was under renovation. We were warmly greeted by front desk and offered an upgrade for a modest price, which we accepted. If you stay at this property, Club level is the way to go. The Club level lounge is well appointed and immaculate and has endless wine, beverages as well as 7 food presentations daily. The staff is professional & warm without being overbearing. I was particularly fond of Madeline who works at the Club lounge. This property has an excellent gym/Fitness rooms, plenty of cardio machines, weights and core, yoga area. It also has an indoor resistance pool, but NO OUTDOOR POOL The room renovation was a huge hit with my wife & I. Our room was spacious, the bed had the best mattress I've ever slept on, great 50" LG HD TV, had two large windows overlooking the French Quarter and a splendid marble bath. Now the negatives: (1) the layout of this hotel is terribly confusing. Even though this was my 2nd stay, I found navigating from the lobby level to the club level & back extremely frustrating. One set of elevators only go from ground level to the 3rd floor. Another set of elevators go from the 4th through 9th floors. However, club levels are on the 8th & 9th floors and you must exit onto the 4th floor to go through a special door at the end of the hall to access the club level lounge, from which you can access other elevators to your club level room. (Clear as mud? Exactly.) I wasn't the only one having problems, as I was asked by 5 or 6 other guests how to get back to their room or to the lobby. (2) The in-room coffee makers are less than desirable, ours brewed about 1/2 shot of coffee per packet; maybe ours was defective. (3) Housekeeping twice failed to restock our coffee supply. (3) This property charges about $13 a day for WiFi, which I find excessive for a property of this class. I would expect WiFi to be free. (4) Although we traveled by train to the city and therefore didn't have a vehicle to park, I noted that parking was about $43 per night, so you need to keep that in mind as well. All that said, my wife and I enjoyed our stay very much, the Ritz is a great place to rest & recharge in NOLA.

Room Tip: I highly recommend staying on the Club level and room 889 has a great view of the French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarmBeachLover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,744
    655
    269
    138
    55
See reviews for
417
1,089
83
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here for one night during Mardi Gras earlier this year and I have to say that it is definitely the nicest place that I have ever stayed in New Orleans. The room was a great size and the bathroom was phenominal. We didn't have a fridge in our room and when I called the front desk, someone delivered one in record time. The courtyard was a great place to hang out and chill ot get your self ready for the adventure awaiting in the French Quarter. The only down side was that the valet forgot we were waiting for our vehicle and it ended up being a long wait. Other than that, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenivg
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Im so sorry it took me so long to write this review: After a long couple weeks opening a new business I flew a few employees to NOLA for weekend R&R.

The staff has to be commended for their outstanding professionalism and amazing customer service. The ladies working in the concierge lounge were amazing we had the most fabulous time right there! we did not want to leave! the food was outstanding and again I cannot say enough good things about the staff.

You have a loyal fan and im thrilled to be coming back around Sept 10th for a couple nights SOOO looking forward to it! You treatment to your Platinum members is exquisite!! YOU ARE BY FAR THE BEST other Ritz properties need to learn a lesson from you.

Room Tip: Have to stay in the hotel inside the hotel! amazing service you will not want to leave the concierge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenivg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many hotels throughout the country, from Four Seasons, Windsor Court, Royal Sonesta, The W, etc... The Ritz-Carlton in New Orleans is really disappointing from the room to even the lobby. The room is very average with very few amenities, paint was chipping in the bathroom, walls seem thin because you can hear "everything" from the rooms next to you. You have to pay for the wifi it's not included in your rate. Overall it's just very average but if you are looking to be close to the French Quarter but is very average.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community regarding your recent experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. I have reviewed your comments and I appreciate your feedback.

If you would like to speak with me in more detail, please feel free to contact the hotel. We do hope you will consider staying with us again if you ever return to New Orleans!

Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Staff is extremely friendly and professional. The hotel is in perfect location for quick walking access to the riverwalk, eats, and to all the craziness that happens at night.

The hotel had what look like to be renovations to the outside of it, so it kind of took away from the 'wow' factor. The foyer of the lobby to outside lacked personality and was more plain-jane than expected from a higher class hotel.

The rooms were great, the fridge is hidden underneath the TV but does not provide any room for your own storage - i.e. Leftovers. The bathroom door bangs up against the bathroom tub, so watch for that. They should put a stopper or damper to minimize any damage.

The overall hotel is good but came short for what I expected from a Ritz-Carlton hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AVILL907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2013, forgot to review. Same ritz standards, fantastic location, within easy walking distance to Bourbon Street, just around the corner, in fact. We would consider staying here again, staff very professional.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sythie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location to walk to many different attractions. Staff was very accommodating. Food that we tried in the Bistro & Bar area was delicious. Tuna Tar-Tar was a big favorite. Outdoor sitting area was very nice & cozy. Massage at the spa was amazing & possibly the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
2,455 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing