We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sour and Sweet ......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sour and Sweet ......”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights in this hotel during a conference.
Overall a pleasant experience BUT considering we are at the Ritz we need to adopt a particular severe criteria.
Location of the Hotel is perfect to be in the 'belly' of New Orleans. Public areas are well kept and at level of what you would expect from Ritz even though the fact to have lobby at 3rd floor make it a little bit unpractical to move inside the hotel.
I got a corner room with nice view. Room was large enough well equipped BUT the weak point is the bathroom: in 2014 it is not acceptable for an hotel like this to have a combined bath tube-shower with a curtain!!!
You can accept this in a motel but not at the Ritz!
Same negative comment for the elevators..they are 3 but only one at time seems to work...if you need it at the peak hours .......be patience.....again not acceptable for the Ritz.
Going on with propably the weakest point is the room service: it took 2 days and 3 calls to have my laundry bag picked up!
Turn down service was carried out at 18 hrs and in case of busy room they just left the chocolates outside the door??!!!!
Probably employees of this Ritz should need to attend a training session lead by their colleagues of Ritz in Australasia.......

Very positive aspect is related to bar and restaurant really at the level of five stars property.
Quality (and not only quantity...predominant in US) is superbe and personnel very efficient and polite.
I must say that at the conference dinner they served hundreds of persons in a smooth , quick and elegant way, food was good and service attentive..not so common in this kind of event, in this case you Really see the Ritz's touch!

Finally I would say a nice property but need to work further to achieve fully a level of Ritz.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Carcentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Carcentina,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor Community regarding your recent experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. The bathroom and elevators where not up to your expectation and I do offer my sincerest apology for the lack of service you experienced during turndown. You are correct; this is not acceptable for a Ritz-Carlton.
I am so glad to hear that you did enjoy the hotels location, your corner room, and that you received five star service in the restaurant and lounge!

We do hope to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans soon!

Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    649
    265
    135
    55
See reviews for
411
1,067
82
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a repeat stay for me and this time, I'm able to say that the food in the restaurant and in the bar is consistent as far as quality, yet it's overpriced and nothing special. The room was clean and orderly, the bed comfortable and so far the service has been attentive and hospitable from valet to front desk, concierge, bell stand, wait staff. The Spa seems delightful, though I was not able to take part this trip. I appreciate the location of the hotel to the French Quarter and no shortage of other restaurants or interesting things to do. There's not a ton of choices with hotels at this standard in the city, which is kind of a shame. I can't complain about my stay, but I can not say that I'm impressed enough to look forward to coming back. Lessons learned: if you stay here, request a higher floor that faces the water. Ask for a room further away from elevator bays. Get out of the hotel as much as possible. Find some great restaurants and cafes and coffee shops near by to enjoy the food and pay half the price or less. There's live jazz weekly in the bar/lounge and it's enjoyable, truly.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and away from elevator bay. Ask if any rooms are being renovated near your as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the RC for two nights on our final leg of a train trip from LA to New Orleans. What an amazing finish this was to our journey. This hotel is what all other hotels should strive to be, It is elegant, comfortable, and charming. The staff is also amazing and go out of their way to make you feel special. The location is also very convenient. We were able to walk to many different venues. We loved the courtyard, the Davenport Lounge, the Bistro with its wonderful skylight. We booked a suite and our room was beyond comfortable. I found myself wanting to stay in bed which is very unusual for me since I am an early riser. The rates in June are lower due to the heat and humidity in N.O. but we did not find it to be uncomfortable. This is actually the best time to book before the real summer heat starts. All in all this is a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Gene2459,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding a recent stay in our hotel. The genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission and I am happy to know we accomplished this during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the first time over St. Patrick's weekend this year and had an amazing time. Our room was lovely and we were given a corner view. We experienced an issue with the main restaurant and poor service. After advising the concierge, we received a call from the Director of Food & Beverage and he arranged for an amazing dinner experience for us that evening. Chef Rosie even gave us a tour of the kitchen (we did pay for dinner, however received the royal treatment). We also went to the spa, which was one of the best spa experiences I have ever had - make sure you ask for Michael as there is no better massage therapist in the US. The location was perfect - walking distance to everything. Also, the valet staff at this location were professional and trustworthy. I brought my new Porsche and was very concerned about any new dings. I provided a $20 tip initially and left my car there for 4 days - no marks. Excellent experience and we are still talking about this Ritz. Thank you to all of the staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Debby2010,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I look forward to recognizing our Food and Beverage Director, Chef Rosie and Michael for their efforts in creating a memorable stay. I would also like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to resolve your earlier issue.

We hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Best regards,
Jim Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The staff was super friendly and helpful! Stayed at the Ritz three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in the heart of NOLA...within walking distance to the best restaurants and shopping. Plenty of rooms for business meetings along with outdoor patio area for quiet time.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms...super comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yhwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My favorite place to stay in New Orleans. With an entrance on Canal and another entrance on the back side of the hotel, you are centrally located in the city. Just steps from the French Quarter out the back and close to the casino out the front.
The staff is amazing from check and the best bell man ever, Andres, the service is friendly and attentive. If possible, stay on the concierge floor, it is by far the best concierge service I have experienced at any hotel. Thanks Sunday and Candace, for making it such a wonderful experience and making us feel like family.
Great food from room service, the concierge floor and the Davenport Lounge. If your stay is Wednesday through Saturday, don't miss a performance by Jeremy Davenport and his band, arrive early and get a great seat. Enjoy great music, food and cocktails. This hotel hits every mark, perfect location, lovely staff, amazing amenities and wonderful rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tschuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trussville, al
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night mother/daughter mini-trip and stayed at The Ritz Carlton, New Orleans. It was absolutely amazing! We arrived on Sunday afternoon and was given an upgrade to a suite. Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Our room was on the 9th floor and we did not hear any street noise. The room overlooked the courtyard which was very pretty.

As we were unpacking in our room, Michael, our bellman, had a plate of wonderful treats delivered to our room. Breakfast buffet for 2 at the M-Bistro was included in our booking package and I cannot say enough about how delicious everything was. The whole staff was all so friendly and helpful. We asked the concierge if she knew of the restaurant, Meals from the Heart, and she was very knowledgeable about it and gave us a walking map to it.

The hotel has candles burning throughout the day and it smells so nice when you walk in. It was so nice after walking all day doing tourist things, to walk into the hotel and be greeted by the friendly doormen and enter into the sweet smelling, cool, solace of The Ritz Carlton.

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we cannot wait to go back. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbsmimzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,630 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
2,429 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing