We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As a frequent traveler, the New Orleans Ritz was what I was looking for using my precious points for a short weekend trip. The room has a view of the courtyard and even the street, which made for some interesting people watching. Very quiet room on the 9th floor. A little disappointed that as a Platinum Marriot member, didn't get me even a chance to use the Concierge lounge, let alone an upgrade. Oh well, didn't spoil the weekend, although coffee in the room was sorely missed. Really liked the separate toilet in the bathroom for some increased privacy. The room met my needs, and the staff could not be faulted. They were very friendly and accommodating. We really enjoyed the Davenport lounge. Great live jazz each night on the weekend, in a really comfortable lounge. Plenty of soft chairs and couches to get very relaxed in. The blonde hurricane was a bonus as a very refreshing drink. Valet parking a bit steep at $40 a night. Location, location, location. You are in an excellent place here for easy access to Bourbon street, and many fine dining establishments just a short cab drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 3,121 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Location: The hotel is situated on Canal Street at the edge of the French Quarter it is only two blocks from Bourbon Street. There are many good restaurants in the vicinity and it seemed central to many sights. After seeing Bourbon street, that's the last place I would want to return to at night. The location of the Ritz is perfect.

Service: Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. As an example of attention to detail, there is a basin with iced towels at the entrance for returning joggers.

Room: My standard king was quite large with adequate room for a desk and sitting chair.
The bathroom was equally large with a separate water closed for the toilet. Two large people would be very comfortable in this room. The room was well appointed with a 40 plus inch TV.

Value: My price was extremely reasonable as part of a conference. I would give this hotel Five stars for $275 or less and four stars for $300 or more.

Jazz Bar. Every night there is excellent jazz in the bar and lounge with no cover charge or minimum. The music consists of American standards. The bar and lounge is frequented by locals who claim it is the best jazz bar in the city. If you like jazz, the bar would be reason enough to come here.

Spa and pool: There are three exercise rooms with a large complement of machines and free weights. The pool seemed adequate for laps.

Gripe: The hotel has a business center with five computers including one Apple. BUT they charge $30/hr for their use. Over four days I did not see one person there. I went down to do some work on one of their larger screens but went back to my laptop when I saw the charges.
C'mon managers. No one is using the place. Most hotels of your caliber, or less, offer complimentary computers. You're not making any money, wasting space and irritating business travelers. Your excellent jazz bar is complimentary, it's nuts to make your business center the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. Check-in was excellent and the allocation of a heavenly quiet room away from the Canal Street craziness was highly appreciated. Mattress did sag a bit in the middle but everything else in the room was high quality and functioned well. Gym had great equipment and food provided as part of the conference was good. Service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Probably the most mediocre Ritz I have ever stayed in. The hallways were smelly. The service was really good though. The location was also good, but the hotel was dated and not up to ritz carlton standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Amc A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guests and I would like to personally apologize for not meeting your expectations with our facilities. Please know that I will use your comments as an opportunity to improve our hotel.

If you would like to reach out and discuss this further, I would be happy to speak with you.

Again please accept my sincere apology for falling short of meeting your needs.

Best regards,
Jim Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was staying at another hotel for a conference and came here for a spa day. It was overall amazing. Booking was easy. The fitness center is large and clean. There are precor machines. Then they have a dry and wet sauna. I had the best facial in my entire life by Beth. My deep tissue massage by Eddie was wonderful. Also had a great pedicure with Susan (I think). Lakisha was the attendant who showed me around and worried about me because I did not eat lunch. She had some hummus waiting for me during my pedicure. I actually think I would return to NOLA just for this spa. Next time I will stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton New Orleans for five nights. We had a suite on the club level and it was nothing short of spectacular. The room was quiet and beautifully appointed. The Club at the NOLA Ritz was exceptional – it is huge, has multiple rooms and delicious food. If you are looking for a place to escape from the French Quarter at the end of the day, this is the place.

Room Tip: Club level is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgkmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed on club level in the Maison Orleans section of the hotel for three nights. The lobby is traditional Ritz Carlton and the hotel was clean and staff mostly accommodating. However, when you spend north of $800/ night you expect something more...like the little thing to work flawlessly. For example, the telephones in the room should be operational but ours were not. The bed mattress should not concave to the point that you feel like your sinking in quicksand...but our was exactly that uncomfortable. Turn down service? Nope. The self-serve wine dispenser in the club lounge hardly ever worked and when bottles were empttied they were reluctantly changed. I've experienced better in airline club lounges without a doubt. The ability to connect WiFi effortlessly should be without question...but not the case at this Ritz! Not only did we have serious problems connecting (finally routed to off-site technical support in another country!) but then added insult to injury by charging us $12.95/ day for access. To make matters worse, my teenage kids (also on club level), discovered that they could receive the Marriott Courtyard (sits adjacent to Ritz on same block) high speed WiFi connection for FREE with no password, etc.!!! It's nonsensical and really bad business for the Ritz Carlton to nickel and dime their very best customers. I brought the foregoing to management's attention but to no avail. I was informed that this is their standard policy. My policy moving forward will be to spend my money at a hotel that does not take their customers for granted! Goodbye Ritz Carlton...$$$$

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from a club level room. Stay at the Marriott Courtyard next door as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Penta23,


I am so very sorry for the issues you experienced during that your recent stay in our Club accommodations. We are always looking for feedback from our guests to review our product and service standards, so I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings with us. Please know that I will use your comments as an opportunity to improve upon these standards as well as make adjustments to offer more value for our guests. We are currently implementing changes based directly upon your feedback.

If you would like to reach out and discuss this further, I would be happy to speak with you.

Again please accept my sincere apology for your inconvenience and I am sorry to hear that you do not plan on returning to stay with us in the future.


Best Regards,
Jim Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $294 - $968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing