We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impeccable!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at the hotel and were awed by the service. Upon arrival we decided to upgrade to the club floor for an additional fee. The facilities includes three lounge rooms which provided a wonderful buffet breakfast, lunch, beverages all day and an evening offering of buffet food which could serve as a light dinner. The staff made a point of learning our names upon arrival and provided extremely friendly, courteous and attentive service. After two days of their observing my dads drinking habits, he was awed when before he finished his statement to us that he thought he would have another scotch, he was served one.

The rooms are lovely, the location ideal, and the concierge service extremely helpful. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,744
    655
    269
    138
    55
See reviews for
417
1,089
83
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I planned a Bachelor Party for my best bro here and could not have been happier. Whenever we get together with friends, we still talk about how epic the trip was -- mainly on account of our stay at the Ritz. The Ritz NOLA is central to everything -- Bourbon Street, Harrah's, great eats and the French Quarter in general. The rooms were beautiful, and we spent the extra dough to add the "Club Level" to our stay. The "Club Level" really made the trip -- the food was copious and delicious, the drinks were complimentary and free-flowing, and the service was insanely great. We asked one of the concierges if we could have some extra bananas, and found a basket of them sent to our rooms later that night. I've never had service like this -- anywhere -- and I've stayed at Ritz-Carltons in New York, Ireland, and Vegas.

Five guys on a bachelor party is probably not the key demographic for the Ritz-Carlton (even though we are all young professionals). We definitely looked a little out of place, and while some places might act snooty, the staff here went out of their way to make our stay amazingly enjoyable -- especially Pim. Because we had such a good time, we're going to plan an annual couples trip here with all our wives.

Thank you Ritz-Carlton, for helping us send or buddy into married life and for giving us an experience none of us will ever forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stay at Ritz Carlton properties all over the US and I must say the team at this hotel really set the bar high. Normally a business traveler, I stayed at this Ritz with my family (3 year old and 8 month old). When I made my reservation, I requested a crib and they asked me about my kids: age and name. I didn't think much of it at the time, but when we arrived, in our room waiting for my son was a book called "Goodnight NOLA" with some rubber duckies (that had mardi gras beads on it). Also, for my infant daughter, then had a NOLA bath book along with a few handwritten notes. No good deed goes unpunished: they didn't realize that I was also booked a room for my sister and her daughter, who didn't get a book. I just casually mentioned it to Pierre when we returned one night from dinner and within 10 minutes, he had a few gifts for her as well. I really was impressed with their service, whether it was our guy PIerre (who my son really loved) or Lindy or Thomas who checked us in or Simon the valet who left us a handwritten note in our car when we left for the airport early in the morning. I guess my point is, if their goal was to get me to remember them and their service, they succeeded with flying colors.

When you're traveling on vacation, you want things to be easy and you want the hotel to help make your trip special. The gang at the Ritz NOLA did exactly that. As far the amenities: the bed was heavenly, so much so that both my kids slept in it. The crib looked like it had never even been used, incredibly clean. We missed the complementary beer tasting, but my wife and sister enjoyed their time at the spa.

I guess the only negative things I could say are the double elevators aren't great, I did try to check in early but the lady on the phone had a bit of an attitude. But as you can see, the rest of the team did such a great job I couldn't have been happier with this place.

I hope some of the other Ritz Carlton properties take notice...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiatsu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent room, excellent service, excellent location. The only 2 negatives are the 2 elevator thing gets annoying. I don't know who the genious was that design that. And for such a high end hotel the bathrooms are really plain and small but it's a very old building and you have to work with what you have.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBeachbum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my first stay at a Ritz Carlton, and I was pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. I usually stay at Four Seasons, but this was part of American Express's Fine Hotels and Resorts. The hotel is wonderfully taken care of and the room was very spacious. I had a city view room with twin king beds. The room was larger then I would have expected. The service was excellent in the dining room for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel lobby is on the third floor which is a quick elevator ride. Then to get to your room your required to use your room key otherwise the elevator will not move. This is a great function since canal street has some rather shady folks lurking around. The location is excellent since Bourbon Street is only a block away, and the shopping, art, and French Quarter are all right there. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in New Orleans. The only negative about the hotel is the $44.00 parking fee daily. I think that is on the rather high end for a parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Ritz in New Orleans while on business. Great location in the middle of the Canal Street action and at the edge of the French Quarter.

Rooms were very nice, but not over the top. Service was outstanding and the staff made you feel like you were at home.

Only complaint I have was at the high cost of the valet parking, which was the only option, $44 for one night.

Great place for business or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steel5rings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is super special! We stayed here just one night, and we did not want to leave. I am not the world's biggest New Orleans fan - for me, a little goes a long way. But staying here gave me some peace and quiet, class and tranquility just blocks from the craziness of New Orleans. Our room was INCREDIBLY beautiful. We were told that we were the first guests to stay in our room since it had been remodeled. It was so tasteful and comfortable. Oh my, oh my, oh my, we want to go back (and we are already trying to figure out when we can make that happen).
PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Club floor is so lovely as is the entire hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsuzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
2,459 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing