We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The reviews are spot on”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Click on Excellent and read the reviews...they're all true as applies to our stay...it is the Ritz on every level. It's quietly on the uppermost tier of hotels anywhere and with a level of service quite rare in New Orleans. The "Maison d'Orleans" is the club level, we paid an additional $100/night and it was more than worth it. Here's an accurate quote on this hotel's one drawback from a prior review: "Unfortunately, there is a circuitously long route to get there with several elevator rides, locked doors that all need your access card to enter..." It took us a couple of days to figure out the various elevators and keep the key at the ready, as usual just as we were checking out! The bathroom is quite nice (take note that the hotel is a "soft water" venue) but it had only a single sink so there are some logistics challenges...but not bad as there is plenty of shelf space.

The staff is what sets this hotel apart from 4 and 5 star wannabes. Eddie in the Club facility was helpful, friendly, courteous, and above all truly engaging. He contacted the concierge, got our boarding passes, served our cocktails and generally took great care of us. He is not the exception in this facility, as we saw evidence of his standard of care and engagement in others on staff...it just so happens our schedules intersected and we were happy they did, and more than happy to give him this most deserved recognition. When we told him we were going to the Palm Court for jazz he asked us to let him know how it was so that he could pass it on to the concierge, who also did not know about it. My wife was advised by a tour guide to pay it a visit, which we did and that review may also be found on TA. What we found remarkable was that the hotel didn't try to bluff us on the Palm Court, they freely admitted they were not familiar and asked for the intel which we gave. He said he would pay it a visit so that he could give future guests firsthand information. To us that spoke volumes about the quality of the Ritz staff.

Food was great in the Club and we are convinced that the food and drink we consumed in the Maison combined with the quality of the room and the exceptional service made that $100/night additional a great investment. Relaxing in front of the fire with a glass of champagne to end the day, a relaxed breakfast with many selections, all while idling over the WSJ is a nice way to overcome the carnival atmosphere on the streets of New Orleans. When we return, we will check in at the Ritz.

Room Tip: King room on the Club side of the hotel is as good as one could hope for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    645
    265
    134
    55
See reviews for
410
1,066
82
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. There are not many top rate hotels in that area. I was glad I went with the Ritz. Great spa area with jet pool and hot tub. The gym was great. It had everything from free weights to machines. There was also a lot of cardio equipment. The rooms were awesome. The beds were comfortable. The service was top notch. We ordered burgers one day and although the food was pricey it was worth it. The best burgers I have ever had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfnjwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms are opulent and service was excellent. Actually asked what more they could do to make the stay more enjoyable. Smoking in center outdoor courtyard next to bar and library. Close to most attractions-concierge seemed very knowledgable and anxious to please. Wonderful food and a great selection of dishes. You've got to try the breakfast-wonderful pancakes and eggs to order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boknows2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Amazing service, fabulous room, great concierge lounge. New Orleans has great southern hospitality but when I get a phone call from the front desk asking me how they could make my stay even better, I know I'm in the right place. I was fortunate enough to stay in a concierge level room and it was so worth it. The room was fabulous and very spacious. We ate all our breakfasts in the lounge, a few lunches and after hours snacks. The service couldn't have been better, whatever you wanted or needed was taken care of. Like I said, if you can afford it this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: concierge level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well, Its the Ritz, what more can I say? Its opulent and service oriented and has an old world charm. Its right in the center of the action, though the city known for Bourbon street is much lower brow. Staff very helpful but a little stiff. Hotel has a beautiful outdoor courtyard you can rent for events or go for drinks and food. There is a seperate part of the hotel called "Maison d'Orleans" that has food and drinks set out for guests, like a club level, for an extra expense but worth it. Unfortunately, there is a circuitously long route to get there with several elevator rides, locked doors that all need your access card to enter through. My suite was adequate but not too large. Carpets a little dated. Window was small with not much of a view. The bathroom was very nice and had the largest tub I ever saw. In fact, I took a bath in it daily with real wax candles just because it was there. The water in the shower was "soft"--feels like you have to rinse alot just to wash off the smoothness. I went as the sponsor of a small 150 person conference and it went off very well. The staff were exteremly helpful in the entire conference planning and execution and it went very well. Food was great. Also a note on safety: New Orleans apparently is not the safest city and I was warned repeatedly by locals about walking around at night alone. Please be aware and be careful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra rate to get a room on the Maison D'Orleans Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewmiamibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz the first week in October. It is a very beautiful property. The rooms were a little dated, but its an old building in an old city, so it was to be expected. The customer service was great. The foot was really good too. We ordered room service a few times. Order the funnel cake fries, they were amazing! My one complaint was room service. On two occasions I caught them using my cell phone charger, the first time I didn't mind, but the 2nd time was a little much and she was there with her supervisor, so you'd think the supervisor wouldn't allow something like that. Overall not a huge deal to me, but may be to others. We'd stay again if we ever come back to NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACHance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz in September for one night. I attended the Ole Miss -Tulane football game. The hotel was beautiful and clean. The employees were indifferent and unfriendly. I requested an early check -in. I was traveling with my husband and adult daughter. When I got there at 11:00 AM they told me my room was ready but it had a king sized bed. Obviously, that was unacceptable. They told me they would call when my room was ready. They NEVER called me. We checked back a half hour before check in and it still was not ready. We decided to get something to eat and while we were at the restaurant , we still did NOT receive a phone call. RUDE! I requested extra towels and they were not present when we check in. I had to find the maid to get them. NO attention to detail. You would think such a nice hotel would have exceptional service. To top it off, the room next to us had unsupervised children making LOUD noise (slamming doors) until after midnight. Disappointing stay at the Ritz. When I return to NOLA I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,627 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,424 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,031 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing