We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Wish-and then some”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Every Wish-and then some”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have visited New Orleans before, but had not had the opportunity to stay at the Ritz-Carlton. What a joy: service is #1 and delivered flawlessly and with kindness. Rooms are large, beautifully appointed and with amenities to aid any traveler. There are thoughtful amenities in the public areas: as you leave in the morning, there is chilled, bottled water for you to take as you look about the city; in the afternoon there is iced water with fresh fruit infusions to cool you off. The location of the Ritz-Carlton works for anyone who wants to see the city: easy access to the French Quarter; trolley car running on Canal St. etc. The Davenport Lounge offers some very good jazz music in the evenings in a very comfortable setting. Dining room service is also top notch: while the food doesn't rival Commander's Palace-and what places do?-the offerings were interesting and well prepared. Sometimes, paying a bit more for a hotel is worth it and in the case of the Ritz-Carlton in New Orleans, this is definitely the case. I do hope to return!

Room Tip: Higher levels provide excellent city views-all rooms seem to be quiet/soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    645
    265
    134
    55
See reviews for
410
1,066
82
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Attending a conference at the hotel, we could not have been more pleased with the service and surroundings. The hotel is in close walking proximity of the French Quarter. Maintaining high standards is very much in evidence. The hotel is lovely. There is a beautiful outdoor courtyard, the Library Bar is comfortable and has great jazz at night. The rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would return here without hesitation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cajFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Davenport Lounge offers a great place to relax, enjoy a classy environment with wonderful jazz music by renowned music of Jeremy Davenport. Loved it!! Great cocktails, wonderful service! If you like jazz, you'll love this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guypicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent four nights earlier this month at the Ritz Carlton to attend a conference that was being hosted at the hotel. We were lucky to get a good rate on the rooms, because this property more luxurious than the hotels where I usually stay. The level of service was noticeably high - I was called by name, I was offered extra services (though not in a pushy, up-selling way), and the venue is beautifully maintained.

I have a few tiny complaints, which I mention only to balance out the review. A hotel that is as luxurious as this one probably doesn't need to resort to scented candles in the lobby, which I found a bit jarring. The extra security feature of needing to put your room keycard in the elevator to get to the guest room floors stymied many guests. The location, Canal Street, is a little seedy (not the Ritz's fault, I'm sure). All the same, this was a fine hotel, and I would return to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This luxury hotel is on Canal St., sitting at the top of the Fench Quarter. Its architecture offers marble granduer and lingering in the courtyard or in the sumptuous bar. The rooms are classic Ritz Carlton and service everywhere is top notch. This is my second trip and I will not go to any other hotel in New Orleans.

Room Tip: For a quieter room face away from Canal St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just checked out after spending three nights in a club room at the Ritz. What a fantastic experience. We were celebrating our honeymoon and a special birthday and the staff treated us like royalty. Experiencing the club lounge (breakfast, lunch, evening snacks) really helped to make this a wonderful vacation; the food, drinks, atmosphere and the service all were top notch. So relaxed and enjoyable. The decor was French Provincial and was a pleasure to look at. Kudos go to Russell, Janis and Dianne and everyone in the lounge.

Our room was on the 9th floor with an OK view of the city. It was large, very clean and very comfortable (the bed, the bedding, towels etc) and in fact was quite luxurious. When we called for something to be delivered to our room, it came within a few minutes! This is the kind of service one expects from the Ritz. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Make your you stay on one of the club floors. It is really worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drphil58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans over the weekend. It was conveniently located just one block from Bourbon Street and was the edge of the French Quarter. It was a bit confusing going from the first floor to the third floor for the check-in, but once I got there, everything went smoothly. I was especially impressed on Sunday morning when they had an older gentleman there to greet and hold the elevator for me. It's a nice addition to have that kind of service. And Bubba, one of the door men, graciously helped me hail a cab and get me off to the airport while everyone was busy trying to get to the Saints Game. My only criticism is that the hotel is a bit dated, but when thinking about it, it adds to the charm of the hotel; make it more nostalgic. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,627 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,424 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,031 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing