We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to say. . ."It's a Ritz-Carlton!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What to say. . ."It's a Ritz-Carlton!"”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

As expected, the R-C exceeds expectations! EXCELLENT location within walking distance to the quarter and many warehouse district sights. We ate at the M-Bistro restaurant and were treated like family! The staff was superb there! We had a couple of glitches with the housekeeping, but nothing major. The hotel is beautiful! Beware if you have a child's stroller (or a wheelchair)--stairs around every turn makes maneuvering a bit tricky.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and feedback. We will share it with our ladies and gentlemen. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    664
    271
    140
    59
See reviews for
432
1,112
84
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Spent four nights here on our first visit to the Crescent City. Not only is the hotel located within walking district of many of the well-known restaurants and bars you're likely to visit, the staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly without overdoing it. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The furniture and tiles all were in good shape and the carpets clean. You'd expect as much for what you're paying. The courtyard is big with plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy breakfast or a cocktail. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willhomes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were supposed to have a suite at the Iberville Suites in New Orleans, but when our friend got there, the suite wasn't ready, so they gave us two rooms at the Ritz-Carlton. I had never stayed in one before. First of all, it is very posh, the hotel room was bigger than our one-bedroom in Manhattan, there were robes, internet amenities etc. The bathroom was palatial. I never enjoyed a hotel room as much as this one. I felt much wealthier than I had a right to expect. The minor drawback was the configuration of the bathroom lights: there should have been one for the entire bathroom and one for the sink, but that's my only complaint. The restaurant where we had lunch, or perhaps it was the lounge area, was very good. I thought this room was better than the Waldorf-Astoria, which also had a huge room and fireplace. We went there for Halloween, 2010 (not a date option, but... a highlight experience... worth a review...)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is stunning with beautiful rooms and plenty of amenities. However, the atmosphere tends to appeal to the 50+ crowd and I do sense an air of snobbery whenever I walk through the lobby. I doubt they make any apologies for that. So if you're a young professional there are plenty of other options in the CBD that will appeal to your modern taste such as the Westin, W, Renaissance, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The reasons for subtracting 1/2 star: They charge $13 a day for internet. In this day and age that's ridiculous. And $1.25 for a local call? Why? IMHO when I splurge and stay in a 5-star hotel, don't nickel-and-dime me.
And now the other 4 1/2 stars: We were there for a girl's weekend. We asked for an upgrade to club level (gratis). We didn't get it but we really didn't expect to. The website we used to make our reservations reserved the wrong type of room, but the front desk people quickly resolved that. They were always very helpful and friendly. We asked for rooms with a nice view. We didn't get those either. We were on the 9th floor overlooking the rooftop construction of the bldg next door. Not lovely, but we never heard any construction noise either. The room itself was beautiful, the bed very comfortable, soft sheets, lots of pillows so you could surely find at least one that was right for you. Lots of soft towels. The shower was WONDERFUL. I'm going to try to find one of those shower-heads for my bathroom! Lots of hot water, and never any hot/cold variations -- you set the temp and it stayed there. The room was sparkling clean. Turn-down service with chocolates. Very quiet. The staff all over the hotel was very friendly. The doorman at the front door was phenomenal. He remembered us from day to day, welcomed us back, told us to have a seat where it was cool inside and he would come and get us when our tour bus (or whatever) arrived. All the people going and coming from that hotel and he could keep us all straight, answer 20 questions at once, and get us on the right bus. He's amazing; wish I remembered his name. We had one drink at the hotel the night we arrived and then left to do our eating/drinking elsewhere (it's pretty spendy at the RC). Besides, there are a million great restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so we went exploring. Our favorite restaurants were the Red Fish Grill and the Court of Two Sisters. Make sure you visit Cafe du Monde for beignets at least once. The Natchez Riverboat cruise was fun. Take the 7pm cruise; the sun sets while you're out so you can see the city by day and by night. You can purchase the cruise with or without dinner. Next time I will skip dinner, it wasn't great and certainly not worth the price. Oh and the absolute best pralines are in a little shop right next to the tiny park that's just this side of the French Market. Ooh la la.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad that you had a memorable stay with your friends. We wonder if you are you referring to our doorman, Bubba. He is truly amazing and we appreciate that you recognized him in this post. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel makes you realize why you pay what you do for this level of accomodation. It was one of the nicest rooms, nicest staffed, and comfortable atmosphere's I think I have stayed in. My husband and I typically go to New Orleans about twice a year, and we had narrowed our perferred hotels to two choices. After staying here, I'm not sure I'll ever be able to stay at any of the other's again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had another nice stay at the Ritz. The location is hard to beat. Everyone treated us well. No complaints about the hotel or the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you very much for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,661 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,514 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing