We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location with Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal Location with Outstanding Service”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton New Orleans at the end of March 2012 for business. The meeting facilities on the first level are on par with all other high end hotels, however the proximity to Bourbon street was ideal for exploring the area when I had free time. The gym also had a nice layout where the weight room was separate from the cardio machines, which was separate from the open gym/yoga space. The dual elevators where odd at first, then I soon realized that it was a nice security feature and separated the hotel from the busy streets below. The one complaint (although very minor) I had was that my mini fridge was not restocked, but I was able to order additional bottles of water from room service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans in March. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay and apologize that your mini-bar was not restocked with water. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,744
    655
    269
    138
    55
See reviews for
417
1,089
83
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahway, nj
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Ritz Carlton in New Orleans is right on canal street and a block from all the cities, french quarter activity. Great Place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well it was St Patricks Day in the Quarter so green was the color of choice, not just on faces but the clothes too. The Ritz is an oasis, it has a superb location front door onto Canal and back door you fall into the Quarter. Well appointed rooms and smiling happy service. The A/C was broken in our room upon arrival, but repaired within the hour. We enjoyed coming back in the evenings to settle into the lounge for the live jazz trumpet & songs, and for that one last drink you always seem to need. We booked through American Airlines vacations with air, a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend St.. Patrick's Day with us and for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. We will share your review with our ladies and gentlemen. It is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Made reservations for a long girls weekend in March. The Ritz is nicely located about a block from Bourban Street and was a generally good starting point for all of our activities. The rooms were average, but nothing special.

There was no coffee maker in the room and there was also an additional charge for wi-fi. We didn't use the spa, as it seemed to be pricier than other Ritz's we have stayed at in the past.

The Concierge was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. Really enjoyed herr recommendation.

The bellhops and door service was very poor. Most times they never asked if you needed a taxi or assitance. Not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We hope to earn back your business and appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your girl's getaway weekend. We are glad to hear that the concierge's recommendations were helpful and that you enjoyed our location. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Please contact Front Office Manager Jerry Stillwell at the hotel directly (504-524-1331) if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent the Regional Semi Finals of the 2011 NCAA tournament at the Ritz. 1Br Suite - club level.

Really nice stay. With my Dad, he really liked the Gumbo served in the Club level parlour one day. He expressed his liking to the hostess who in turn had the chef cut the recipe down, print it out and send it up. My father being appreciative said thank you and began looking over the recipe. He looked a bit confused and asked the hostess what a Roux was.

The hostess instead of being flustered, had the head chef come up and spend 15 minutes explaining to my father how to make Gumbo.

It is the little things at the Ritz that they do right.

Nice location too

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group and need multiple rooms, at least one of the rooms should be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with your father. And, we're very glad that our Club Level Concierge was able to locate a recipe and a chef to offer assistance. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our first stay at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans since Hurricane Katina. We had stayed here three weeks prior to the storm. First of all, they have remodeled the hotel to bring the main level of the hotel up to the third floor. We heard many stories from the staff about the hotel's loyalty to guests and employees during the hurricane. Even years later, these were welcomed stories of triumph. The service we received during the stay was exceptional--front desk, operation manager, housekeeping, event coordinator, banquet staff, valet, bell captain, business center and spa. The rooms, although redecorated and clean, are small which is normal in New Orleans. I cannot emphasis the great service and spirit among the employees and staff. This management's doing something right by keeping the right people on the bus! Will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay. Thank you for the glowing compliments, which we will share with our ladies and gentlemen. As a point of clarification, our lobby has always been situated on the third floor. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

the property is awesome, the room was much bigger then I anticipated. My biggest regret is that we didn't catch the jazz musician that they have playing in the bar area, I heard from others that he was awesome (I think he plays thurs fri and sat nights). I wish we gravbbed some drinks here, as the beer menu and coctail list was pretty reasonably priced despite it being an upscale/expensive hotel. The Ritz is always fantastic for its level or service and how nice the properties are. Location is good on the hotel as well, its on canal and very close walking distance to bourbon and the quarter. Bourbon street is literally one street down. What I liked about the location is that the hotel is right on the outskirts of the quarter and gives you easy access to to other parts/sights in the city if you to see beyond bourbon street. It is very easy to walk to St. Charles to catch the streetcars to the garden district, it's also about a 15 min to the ww2 museum if you'd like to see that as well. Overall we loved our stay here. Staff was great.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brooksdj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay, enjoying our French Quarter location. Your review is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
2,459 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing