We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing for a Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing for a Ritz”
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I just returned from a trip to New Orleans and was somewhat disappointed by the Ritz Carlton. I can't say that anything especially bad happened to me when I was there, it's just that the service was not up the Ritz standards. I travel a fair bit for work and usually stay in Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons and I like this hotel less than any other Ritz I've stayed in. I thought the decor of my room was pretty horrifying. There was dark Victorian-looking wallpaper with matching drapes and near matching comforter. Suffice it to say that it was not my thing stylistically. Also, there was hair on the shower walls in the bathroom (not a lot but enough to make you wonder about how thoroughly the rooms are cleaned). The service was pretty good but just not as crisp as a typical Ritz. For example, when I called down to get my car brought up the morning of my departure, the attendant's answer was "gotcha covered." I didn't think that was especially appropriate. Finally, once I got downstairs 10 minutes after calling, the car still hadn't been brought up. I had to wait another 5 minutes. Maybe that would have been understandable if it was busy, but this was 5am and no one was around. Until I find a better hotel in NO, I'd probably stay there again but would certainly lower my expectations.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Nupester89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    658
    269
    140
    56
See reviews for
420
1,095
83
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

I have traveled the world and I have to say that the Ritz New Orleans is the most amazing hotel in which I have ever stayed. Everything was perfect. The rooms were remniscent of Marie Antoinette. Had a canopy above the bed & loaded with pillows. The bathroom was all marble, clean and not lacking for any item you could possibly think of to pamper you.
The Club Floor Lounge was designed to emulate a Garden District home. Just amazingly beautiful! And, the staff of the Lounge and the concierge staff were so helpful and friendly I didn't want to leave. I will return to New Orleans and will definitely return to the Ritz New Orleans!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dinerosdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed at the New Orleans Ritz Carlton while in town for a wedding. We arrived at nearly 11pm having flown in from France. The doorman greeted us cordially and said he'd have our bags sent up. Check-in was courteous and quick. We got to our room and bags arrived just moments later. The room was nice with the typical Ritz Carlton traditional decor. Our room looked over the courtyard.
We were extremely tired and sleepy but when I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth etc I noticed there was no soap. There was shower gel but no bar soap. Neverless I was so sleepy I didn't even call about it. The next morning I did let them know and we quickly had soap.
The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast which was fine except it was very expensive but that's typical for hotel breakfasts.
I used the fitness center just for the treadmill and it seemed fine. This was not the most extraordinary hotel stay I've ever had but it was pleasant and I would not hestiate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sgbslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We spent four nights at the Ritz-Carlton's Club level. It's a block off of Bourbon on Iberville and is known as the Maison Orleans. The price was the same as a suite in the Ritz and the location was perfect from our perspective. Reception is at an actual table in a room with sofas and oriental rugs and the concierges were helpful. The room included a large tub and separate shower, cherry floors, comfy bed (my fiance wants to buy some of the linens) and appeared almost new. There were 4-5 snacks a day, which could replace meals and were far above the average continental breakfast and lunch on included wines and champagne. We went for a long weekend and I can see escaping again and again in the future.

The only thing that was not quite as expected was the spa. The first massage I had was delayed and no one advised me of the problem. As a result, my fiance was done early and they hounded her about whether I'd used the gym (apparently $25/day). The second day, I waited for about 20 minutes before finding the valet, which put me in a state of mind you don't go to a spa for; that massage was comp'd.

  • Liked — Club Level amenities
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JibCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

As a treat to my husband for his 65th birthday, we booked a long weekend stay at the Ritz in New Orleans. Upon arrival, we were awed by the beauty of the lobby; however, the staff were a bit cold and stand-offish to guests. The stay went downhill from there; the housekeeping staff pilfered through my personal effects; I noted missing makeup and perfumes, not to mention some of my bracelets and rings were discovered missing, as well. I contacted Risk Management and the Management at the hotel directly, but they noted that they were not liable to missing items of this nature and a claim was denied.

Warning - Do Not Stay At This Hotel...You can find much better accommodations elsewhere at the Omni Royal Orleans, W New Orleans (both quarter and on Poydras), and Loew's.

Ritz, you have a very deceptive facade and you are not the top dog any longer!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank YatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

I recently stayed at the Ritz for a conference for three days. On the positive side, the rooms were very nice, the hotel is beautiful and it is in a great location. I also got great tips for the concierge who was extremely helpful and friendly. There were a few minor room problems with the bathrooms/airconditioning.

The general service is horrible. I ordered room service the night before for an early breakfast but it never showed up. The next day i ordered a smoked salmon bagel and got a bagel with no salmon. My wake up call never happened. They screwed up my reservation and kept trying to come into my room during an important phone meeting because they thought i was checked out! The people in New Orleans are great but the hotel management at this hotel has clearly not adequately trained their staff.

I would NOT recommend this for a business traveler since things like wakeup calls and on time breakfast are vital.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — extremely poor service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Upon arrival at the RC we were greeted by warm and helpful staff. The hotel is very clean, secure, and our room was a great value offering great views of the Crescent City, with very nice furnishings. The restaurants on site, and the bar were all superb. Canal St has experienced a transformation to 'clean' with new palm trees lining the street. The French Quarter is likewise far cleaner than in past visits. The Big Easy is ready for tourists and some great deals can be had. My room which was ordinarily $279/night was discounted $110 per night. If you like a great location, upscale rooms, and at reasonable prices then this is a must try hotel.

  • Liked — The hotels beauty and superb staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to mention
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UNTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,470 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing