We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #139 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
Dothan,AL
11
Reviewed September 8, 2004

We had the Queen Suite, we loved it! The room was tastefully done. The desk clerks were so nice and so willing to help make sure the stay was going well. The trolley stop was right out the door. Our room was on the bottom floor in a another building.We were able to come come and go without even going in the hotel. The only thing about this room is you do have street noise. BUT we still loved it! I recommend this room to anyone who doesn't mind the noise from the street. The air conditioning worked great. Copelands which is about 3-4 blocks down has the BEST cheesecake ever!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 604 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans, LA
29
Reviewed August 14, 2004

What a gem! A friend came into town for a "moms' weekend away," so we just wanted something inexpensive and clean. The hotel served our purpose -- a clean place to sleep and shower. Plus it was close to the street car, the restaurants, and the spa we were visiting. Our room was very quiet, although other rooms were closer to the stairs and we wondered if those guests suffered from all the guests walking past -- i don't know. The front desk clerk was very friendly and we felt safe and comfortable. The only challenge is parking. St. Charles has a lot of restrictions (meters) and the side streets get sketchy pretty fast.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, ON
13
Reviewed July 26, 2004

The hotel is very central to the downtown area, french quarter and nearby restaurants as you can hop on the St. Charles streetcar (right accross the street) to get around. It's about a 5-10 minute ride into the downtown area..then you can walk to the french quarter or hop on another trolley with your pass to get to the french market, riverwalk, convention centre, casino, and other attractions. Our family of of four slepted very comfortably in a large room with two double beds. Each bed was in a separate area..each with it's own tv. The rooms were very clean, fresh towels every morning, good airconditioning and ceiling fans over each bed. The bathroom was very clean and included a hair dryer. Breakfeast was served from 7:30-9:30 every morning. This included coffee, juice, milk, cereal, bagels, english muffins and boiled eggs. There is a lovely patio area and sitting room with a computer that has internet access. I was able to check my email every day. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. A 3 day pass for the streetcar can be purchased at Winstons Grocery Store just down the street from the hotel. The pass will give you unlimited access to the trolley both on the St. Charles line and another downtown one for the three days. It runs every 5 minutes until 12am each night..this mode of transportation was very convenient and is very safe. We ate very well at the following restaurants..voodoo bbq, mothers, delmonicos (extremely pricely, but well worth it!), cafe du monde, and the cheesecake bistro. We went on the Steamboat Natchez Riverboat (not worth the price) and a tour of the Laura Plantation..good tour but would have liked to see a very traditional Southern Plantation..this was a Creole Plantation. Great jazz club to check out is Snug Harbor Bistro..nice atmosphere..amazing music and reasonably priced food and drink.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2004

We had originally planned to stay further away from the city and take advantage of a shuttle service to and from the French Quarter. I'm sure glad we didn't! There were some reviews on here about cars getting broken into. I've got a 2003 Explorer and we parked on Martin Luther King blvd for 3 nights and didn't have any problems. They have a private garage for $18 a day if you prefer. We were fine, right under a street light next to the Voodoo BBQ.

As far as the hotel goes, the staff is remarkable, the value unheard of for the location, and the feel... truely New Orleans. They've got 1 internet computer so you can check your e-mail while you're away. I was checking mine around 11pm and caught the hotel owner lugging (what seemed like) 20 bags of luggage to the door of one of the guests. I also locked my key in the room and my wife called the hotel 'after hours' number to get into the room and we were in in less than 2 minutes. VERY exceptional service. The rooms had an old New Orleans feel. The hotel is like 3 old houses transformed into an hotel. It's got a patio that is completely surrounded by the other buildings and only hotel guests are allowed in. You get a key to the property when you arrive. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. They've got extra pillows in the closest and an iron. The ceilings are very tall like 12-15ft. The TV has cable complete with Fox News and The Weather Channel. Breakfast is Orange juice, milk, cereal, English Muffins or bagels complete with all the jellies or butter you want.

There are several nice places to eat within walking distance from the hotel. "Houstons" and "Copelands Cheesecake Bistro" are very nice but a little pricy. $20-$25 per person for a good meal, more if you get alcohol. If you're wanting to go to the French Quarter to eat, I would buy a 3 day pass to ride the street car which stops right outside of the hotel. It's $12 and you can ride it as much as you want. There's only 1 place close to the hotel that sells the passes "Williams Grocery Store" which is a small store about a 15 minute walk down St Charles on the right past all of the hi class hotels. The ride to Bourbon street is around 5-10min depending on traffic. I know this probably doesn't happen a lot, but our streetcar smashed into a car on the tracks going about 30mph. It just about totaled the car, but the streetcar barely had a scratch. Talk about exciting.

Bourbon Street has a lot of good music but I was dissapointed to see so many stripclubs and 'live sex act' bars. The beer is cheep on the street $2 for a 32 oz cup of draft, but when you get into the bar it's like $4-$5 for a bottle. You can't use the bathroom anywhere but the bars so bring extra cash.

We left Bourbon street around 2am to catch the streetcar back to the hotel and I felt completely safe. Harrahs casino, Riverwalk, & the Aquarium are about a 10min walk from the Bourbon street stop. You can just about do it all by staying in this hotel. Oh, and if you're going to book on one of the major online hotel companies, first try and book on their 'home' website, you can save around $10/night.

Needless to say, this was a very positive experience. No doubt I will stay here again when I visit. If you're looking for a hotel with a pool, unfriendly staff, and the same 'ol hotel room feeling don't stay here. This is truely New Orleans at it's finest.

8  Thank WX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Winter Haven, FL
1
Reviewed June 5, 2004

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
12
Reviewed May 31, 2004

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2004

1  Thank chrisrn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#103 of 167 in New Orleans
162 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#113 of 167 in New Orleans
130 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#107 of 167 in New Orleans
801 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 167 in New Orleans
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4445 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $79 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing