We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced trashy accomidations with a touch of arrogance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #134 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Westcliffe, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced trashy accomidations with a touch of arrogance”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel under previous owners and was extremely disappointed at it's decline... Not only did they quadruple prices during Mardi Gras and require non-refundable advanced payment, on check-in they made the guests wear permanent plastic wrist brands, as if we were attending a frat party instead of paying $250.00 a night for a room. They made us sign contracts stating that, among other things, if these wrist bands were damaged, we would be charged and additional $35.00.... and being that everything in town was booked-up, the management seemed to believe that they were not only doing us a favor, but would be more than happy to throw us out in the street on the slightest provocation. The accommodations themselves had gone seriously down hill from my last stay (the carpet was worn, paint was peeling, and the ceiling overhead in one of our rooms began leaking water onto the bed.) To anyone considering this hotel, I would suggest staying ANYWHERE else... New Orleans is noted for excellence in accommodations, and no one should have to be treated to such abuse and shabby conditions.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lastams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    133
    69
    62
    74
See reviews for
71
164
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The prices during mardi gras are exorbitant - about five times what the hotel charges during the rest of the year - and for that money it was not worth it. Staff was surly upon check in and at other times - with the exception of a concierge named Mark - and the facility is run down. Carpet in the room and floor of bathroom is sticky and mucky. Amenities are shabby across the board. Maybe this is ok for $50 during the rest of the year - but not for $250 - mardi gras or not. If you want to command a steady clientele during the year, you need to treat people well - from the phone reservation process, through the meet and greet - through checkout - and you need to keep up the property. People will go elsewhere unless you take care of the hotel and make people feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakshmidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is also known under the name of Avenue Garden Hotel. It is not at all what you expect and the photos on the internet are not what you will see also. The bed should have been a queen, no way!!!! We had to move rooms because the first room was on the front and the constant noise of the street cars kept up awake all night. Then the tv did not work and we constantly complained but they could not find a maintenance worker to come. We had to keep the fan on in the washroom to warm the room!!!! All in All I would not recommend this hotel even if it was the only one available. However the staff at the front desk was exceptionally helpful and kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MAYASYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I chose this hotel since it stated it was near the train station. I found it a bit far away - at least 10 blocks. On another level it is convenient to downtown with the Charles Street trolley right across the street. My first two nights I had a room without any windows, but the staff was nice and switched me to a better room. A nice little courtyard to sit in and eat breakfast also a nice front porch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
If you do choose to come to New Orleans again feel free to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally. You can reach me at 504-521-8000 or gm@historicstreetcarinn.com for any questions or reservations you might need to make.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for the RnR marathon and did not have a good experience. The only positives are that it is charming and in a good location. The first night I put earplugs in and went to sleep early since the marathon was early the next morning. They left the house music in the hall blaring all night which I could hear through the door and earplugs. The bright hall lights stay on all night and shine through the window above the door so you can't sleep. The room door is so loose that whenever someone opens the hotel front door, the air current rattles your door and wakes you. Oh yes and to top it off there is no heat in the room so we used about 4 blankets and kept the bathroom heater on all night. The next day we did not get any maid service so we had to bring our garbage and dirty towels to the front desk. One last comment is there is no parking however we found a spot on the street about a block away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UofAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

we had two rooms for three nights pre cruise on the second floor and enjoyed our stay, would stay here again. if you wnat five star stay somewhere else, if you want a relaxed and comfortable feeling stay here, we used the patio to eat lunch, loved the rocking chairs on the front porch, the streetcar stops in front. several places to eat within walking distance. we had no problem finding parking on the side street and felt safe.. the staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoktravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! I am glad you found that laid back environment we strive for here so inviting. We want our guest to have a relaxed stay here as its a New Orleans tradition.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@historicstreetcarinn.com or 504-521-8000 if you consider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I found this hotel by chance when we had a race registration transferred to New Orleans. The price and location were exactly what I was looking for. We were thrilled with our room, the double that has its own porch and entrance right onto to St. Charles Street. I was able to park my car just around the block and left for the weekend without any issues. Linda in the office was fantastic with tips for places to see and eat. Being there for the Rock n Roll race on Sunday, the office set out fruit and muffins for us runners who had to be up extra early for the race which was very nice of them! My friend and I both loved the room and the location! Right at a streetcar stop. The room was clean and nice. Will definitely check into again when I come back for a visit.

Room Tip: If you need 2 beds, see if you can get room 45. It's perfect for 2 people or a small family as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jngeer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! We welcome great comments so we know we are doing the best job we can.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@historicstreetcarinn.com or 504-521-8000 if you consider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay and the room you enjoyed so much..

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#105 of 161 in New Orleans
981 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#88 of 161 in New Orleans
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#63 of 161 in New Orleans
696 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#86 of 161 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#95 of 161 in New Orleans
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Property: Historic Streetcar Inn
Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing