We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Happy! Quiet and charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Streetcar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #133 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Happy! Quiet and charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I found this hotel and booked based on the other reviews on this site; and I was not disappointed! We needed three rooms for an extended stay and they all worked out great. The couple with the king sized bed loved that their room was so quiet and the three ladies sharing room #30 (with three full sized beds) loved that their room could accommodate them so comfortably. There were minor issues with the a/c in one room that resulted in a brand new unit the next day and extra hangers were provided for us quickly. The owner and the staff were friendly and efficient. And the coffee cake served with the continental breakfast was delicious!

We LOVED having the streetcar stop across the street - and the THREE 25 hour taverns within 2 blocks of the hotel. The neighborhood is lively, but not too busy. Restaurants, drug stores, and other amenities are within a short walking distance. Cabs come by frequently. Would love to stay there again. Thanks to Lydia, Keith and the rest of the staff for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and tell them what you're looking for - they were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    124
    59
    56
    67
See reviews for
61
154
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had a room with 2 double beds. Excellent value for money. Impressed by its beauty once coming in. There is a charming interior garden, tea and coffee out all day, a good continental breakfast. All of the various management and staff made us feel like part of the family. Many comfortable interior sitting areas as well. Right on the St. Charles streetcar line, a short trip to both the French Quarter and the Garden District. Very convenient for us. Traveled to and from Jazz Fest very conveniently. Other guests were civilized and down to earth. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Not the Ritz, but nice if you can get a good rate. We got a double for $109. Room was a little worn down but clean and comfortable. We stayed in Room 16. Door knob to the room was loose. Could be easily fixed with a screwdriver. Old kind of TV and kind of a hodge podge in regards to furniture and decorations. Felt like we were staying at Grandma's cluttered house. Big Head Drew Brees adorned the mainhallway along with old misc. pictures and mirrors. Kind of different. Also, you actually use real keys to get in hotel and room. Wow!

Shower had a little drainage problem (ended up with water around my ankles). Could be easily fixed. Cute little courtyard. You have to park in the street since they have no on site parking. But felt safe and nothing happened to car. You also have to load in through front door which has stairs to climb. Could be an issue if you have big bags, although they helped carry them in. Staff was extemely friendly! Very nice and accommodating. Check in was a breeze.
I wouldn't stay for more than a night or two, but if you are on a tight budget and just need a place to sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I prefer this type accommodations when in NOLA instead of the boring, newer hotels and to be an older building, it is in great shape. Good location with several good restaurants within walking distance. Parking can be an issue...we usually had luck across the street near the athletic club. Our room was clean and comfortable...it's more like a home instead of a hotel. The front desk and housekeeping staff were always friendly and helpful. We thought it was pretty quiet here considering it's located on a city street. My only complaint would be a couple issues in our bathroom in need of maintenance. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wvchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

we stayed at the Ave. Garden Hotel on St. Charles Ave. Most pleasurable stay ever. Keith and staff went beyond any normal customer service and really took care of our needs. If i ever visit New Orleans again i will definitely stay here again. stay was more of a homey stay then staying at a big name hotel chain. thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groverb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing place, not corporate sterile environment, a true taste of NOLA. I love the people there, and am going to go back as soon as I can to stay with these amazing people again! If you are booking here I envy you right now!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was just as advertised. The rooms were clean and the location was great. The street car stop was right across the street. There is also a great daiquiri shop two blocks away. One of the best daiquiris in the entire city.

Room Tip: Room 20 is right near the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#107 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#98 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#67 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Property: Historic Streetcar Inn
Address: 1509 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4445 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing