We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week at the HH Whitney HOuse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Ranked #49 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A week at the HH Whitney HOuse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wife and I stayed over the New Year of 2012. The hosts are very welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent. If you are up early and have to get out for something, there is always something that you can make for yourself for dinner, or if you wait until breakfast is served, you won't be dissappointed. The hot tub was very nice to use on the cool evenings and the rooms we stayed in (Scarlet) was great. The home has high traditional ceilings and a historic feel to it. The location is a bit of a walk or a very short cab ride from either Frenchman street or the French Quarter. The walk was good most days to burn off some of the great NO food. Would stay with Glen again for sure. I hope my travels take me back to New Orleans

Room Tip: We selected a room that had a private bath, though we only saw other guests twice, so if we were to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
93
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the entire week of our wedding last year in the adjoining bride and grooms rooms. It was myself, my then fiancé, my parents and our one and a half year old. After the wedding, my husband and I stayed at another hotel in the quarter for a "minimoon" while my patents stayed with our son for two nights.

The house is beautiful, although the stairs are a bit scary with a very loose handrail, perhaps it has been fixed by now. The breakfasts were great as previously reviewed, and we were graciously allotted some room in the fridge to keep fresh groceries we kept on hand for the kiddo.

There was some confusion on the check in time and I recall feeling badly that we seemed to have arrived early. The thing that sticks out in my mind is the overall feeling that we were constantly being corrected or reprimanded. Randy was quite pleasant and offered us drinks upon arrival and helped my then fiance find a dry cleaner, but he was out the rest of that week, due to medical issues we were told, so perhaps it was just stress but I honestly did not feel extremely welcomed by the other host. We did have correspondence upon making the reservation so they knew we would have a little one with us and about the details of our stay so I'm not really sure what the issue was. I recall at one point him telling my parents about some of the tours. My dad is a pretty simple guy and was inquiring about the swamp tours and he was met with a judgmental attitude. Honestly, after returning for our bags the day after the wedding, I don't think we even received a congrats.

Maybe these things sound small, but I just got the overall feeling like we were a pain rather than paying guests. There are so many accommodations available in Nola, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeroOrchestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this most lovely house for the final three nights of our honeymoon in September.
Glen is an amazingly lovely and kind host! He even personally drove us in to New Orleans in order to meet our dinner reservation time!
We very much enjoyed the wonderful company and friendliness of Glen along with other guests at breakfast.. ....Highly recommended to all without hesitation...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flossiemare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We love it here! Glen and Randy are friendly and helpful, making sure we enjoyed everything we did. We were here in the spring of 2005 and were delighted to be remembered when we called for a return visit this year (2012). We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming and comfortable but we like the garden suite because it has a private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Ama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Glen and Randy the owners were wonderful. We mainly delt with Glen he was very very helpful. We came right after hurican Isaac and he kept us informed. He had great ideas and we used his maps to get around town. We had a blast. The pool is a great touch. It was very hot and we cooled down everyday after our travels. The nieborhood is no problem. We used the bus to and cable car to go the far away locations and it coulc not be handier.

Mari the house keeper is a great cook and she did a wonderful job.

Would highly reccomend

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brides room. It was very nice. Wonderful down bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We planned our trip to New Orleans, LA (NOLA) and then Hurricane Isaac presented his challenges. We were driving from Ohio and decided we'd proceed as planned and "roll with the punches." Electrical outages at the bed & breakfast were resolved by our check-in and we enjoyed five nights in the Bride's Room. The bed was the best … more comfy than our own. The breakfasts prepared by Maria were wonderful. The hosts, Glenn and Randi, were welcoming and experts on where to eat, where to go, etc. The pool area was so relaxing … we used it every single day of our stay to cool off, play a game of rummy, and read the local news.

The Historic Esplanade is an area in transition. Many of the large, historic homes are in various stages of renovation. There are some homes, however, that have not recovered well from Katrina. It's like a box of really good chocolates … some you love, some you don't, but we never felt "unsafe" what-so-ever during our stay. :)

If you are planning a trip to New Orleans, prefer a B&B over a hotel venue, and want to eat and hang out where the locals frequent, HH Whitney House should definitely be on your list of places to call for availability.

Room Tip: The Groom's Room is larger than the Bride's Room if you like a larger space, however, we cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the H H Whitney House on our first visit to New Orleans. This grand home has lots of charm and it is situated in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of the French Quarter. We really enjoyed our daily walks along the historic Esplanade. Guests are invited to relax in the parlor/sitting room on the main floor and the backyard has a pool, hot tub, fountain, and lush vegetation. The house is filled with interesting antiques. There is ample parking on the property.
We stayed in the Scarlet O’Hara room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was ample space for the two of us. Free WiFi access was appreciated.
Glen is a perfect host: welcoming, thoughtful, and helpful. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived and he made us feel like special guests. Glen gave us a helpful orientation when we arrived and prepared a city map that included great recommendations of places to eat and visit. Before our trip, we received a detailed email that answered many of our questions and it provided directions from the airport.
Breakfast each morning was delicious and well presented. We enjoyed the bottomless cups of tasty coffee. Snacks, bottled water and soda were always available. We enjoyed the opportunity to chat with the other guests and Glen during breakfast.
I would not hesitate to recommend H & H Whitney House and hope that we can visit again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill_E179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#59 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Treme
Rathbone Mansions
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Property: HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Address: 1923 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing