We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home with gracious and incredibly warm host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Ranked #47 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Brooklyn
1 review
“Beautiful home with gracious and incredibly warm host”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have found the place in New Orleans that we hope to always call home when visiting there. The Whitney House is beautiful and located in the historic Treme area. We stayed there for the first weekend of Jazzfest this year and found it uniquely located for access to the fairgrounds, the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. The innkeeper, Glenn Miller, has been able to create a home that is both exquisitely decorated, yet also very comfortable. This is all due to his attentiveness to detail and commitment to customer service. That last point could not be better demonstrated than through the following story: While at the house, my wife and I lost a couple of our tickets to Jazzfest, which we (correctly) believed we had thrown in the garbage. Glenn insisted upon going through the garbage himself and found the tickets, much to our delight. This type of personal attention was typical of our entire stay at the house.

WE cannot wait to return to New Orleans and the Whitney House!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    13
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
94
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed HH Whitney House. Very quiet home, but the city is quite loud, so I did have to buy earplugs while I was there. Home is beautiful and I don't even think the website photos do it justice. Glen is a wonderful host and has thought of everything to make your stay the best it can be. Walking at night to the french quarter and back is not recommended however, I did it a few times and never really felt insecure in the slightest, even as a female travelling with another female.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley2784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and everything was described to us including recommendations as to where to dine on our first evening in New Orleans.

The Groom's room was comfortable and spacious with all amenities we required in the shared bathroom. Fabulous claw footed bathtub and shower ( although curtains in the shower were a little long). Also the 10 foot pocket door to our room was a little sticky- nothing we coudn't deal with considering the home is 165 years old!

Randy and Glen were the most hospitable of hosts who invited us to join the Birthday Party of a special little 2 year old with whom they were acquainted. What a great party! The food was exceptional, the company interesting, engaging and fun. We were treated like family and really felt it.

If we were to return to NO, we would definitely stay here again. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintagetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the HH Whitney. Steven was such a great host. We had the house to ourselves but it was so warm and comfortable that it felt like home. The house is gorgeous. Steven gave us some great suggestions for places to see and to eat. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieD009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The first time we visited New Orleans, it was about 20 months after Katrina...and hurricane Gustav had just blown through as well. The HH Whitney still had the ubiquitous spray painted orange "X" painted on the wall of the front patio which indicated it had been checked out and verified as evacuated after Katrina. Windows had plywood sheets nailed to them from Gustav, and all the palm trees out back were truncated or missing altogether. When deciding on vacation plans, we wanted to support New Orleans in it's financial recovery after the hurricane, and decided the HH Whitney was the place to stay. We've never had a single regret. Since that first visit, we have been back two more times, and most recently in December 2010 with our 21 year old son accompanying us. Glen and Randy, the proprietors of the HH Whitney welcomed us once again, as warmly as if we were family members...which we kind of think we are by now! The HHW's spacious, funky, cluttered kitchen was often the impromptu site for a glass of cognac or a martini with other guests as well as friends of HH Whitney who might stop by. We've stayed in both the "Garden Room" and the "Solarium Suite" and enjoyed them both tremendously. Our son stayed in the "Groom's Room" and felt like royalty. Of course the house is almost 150 years old and has its idiosyncrasies, but we don't stay there looking for rooms full of modern amenities, we go for the New Orleans ambiance, and the HH Whitney oozes ambiance! The home itself is an old world charmer, full of stuffed armchairs, chandeliers, tall draped windows, vases stuffed with flowers and gilded frame pictures. As traffic rushes by on the Historic Esplanade, you can settle into the parlor with a nice book, a glass of wine and just drift away to another era...or better yet, sit outside on a porch swing and enjoy the birds and flowers that are abundant during fall and winter months. The neighborhood is still struggling with the hurricane aftermath, but each time we return, we've seen more improvements, more homes restored, and happily, all of the wonderful greenery revived in front yards and on the "neutral" which is the median that runs down the center of the Esplanade. When in New Orleans, we walk everywhere from the HH Whitney, and have never encountered anything that would make us uneasy...but then, we love the people and the spirit of New Orleans and have completely embraced this wonderful town. I don't hesitate to recommend the HH Whitney and the hospitality of Glen and Randy to anyone I know that plans a visit to New Orleans. We will be returning there ourselves as often as we can. "Laissez les bon temps rouler!"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaSR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We just wrapped up our our Christmas holiday trip to New Orleans, and our third stay at the wonderful HH Whitney House. There is no place we would rather stay in the city. Here's why:

Location -- There are lots of great neighborhoods in this great city, but we love the HH Whitney's location on historic Esplanade. It's within walking distance of both the French Quarter and City Park. We love walking in New Orleans because it gives you a close-up view of the great architecture (that's not to say catching a trolley ride or the ferry over to Algiers are not worth it -- they are). Esplanade features some marvelously restored homes, as well as some old structures that are still in need of rehab. We feel we get a taste of the real city here rather than in some of the more carefully manicured areas.

The HH Whitney House -- The house itself is a grand old structure that has been lovingly restored. You can see the rooms well enough on their website, but you don't get the full effect of the interior decor until you walk into their parlor. It's like walking into some sort of antebellum dream. After Katrina, they even hired a color consultant to guide them in the repainting, and the choices are stunning!

The inkeepers -- Glen and Randy are top-notch hosts. On our first visit we felt immediately like members of an extended family, rather than just guests. It's the best feeling you can have at a B&B. Glen's breakfasts are to die for (and one of the reasons we need to walk a lot!). He's always on hand to provide easy directions or make stellar recommendations. Last visit we were fortunate to join them and some friends for Christmas dinner. Gotta tip my hat to Randy -- he's a marvelous chef. Still need that oyster dressing recipe!

Those of us who love the B&B experience look for a fun and funky experience -- something more authentic than you get in a regular hotel. We know for some people only a Day's Inn will do, but if you are like us, and look for a real taste of New Orleans when you visit, we suggest you consider the HH Whitney House. It's the recommendation we make for our friends and family. It's a great place to stay in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwreid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

...and there, the housekeeping didn't steal my makeup. I can't believe how many "glowing" reviews this place received. I am by no means a fussy person, but this B&B really was the worst place I've ever stayed. I even had a better stay at the Days Inn (the fridge was broken, but at least it was warm).

My experience:
I guess I should have realized the place sucked simply by walking up the front sidewalk. Or, better said, tripping up the front sidewalk, as the sidewalk to the house was in much need of repairs.
The front door had a deadbolt on it, but it fell apart the second day we were there, as did the doorknob (the handle fell off). Bear in mind you have to drag your suitcase across the hazardous sidewalk, and then unlock the door-to let you in a small entry which was stuffed with poinsettias. You couldn’t shut the front door without really pulling on it and you didn’t have enough room to do so without stepping on the poinsettias. It didn’t look like I was the only one that did this, either, as there was potting soil spilled everywhere.
The HH Whitney house is in a horrible neighborhood, and the inn keeper suggests taking a taxi after dark to the quarter. He's right, and while we walked around during the day, it was barely safe then. The local area cemetery had a housing project put up in it, and only every 10th house in the area is occupied. ALL of the homes in the area are barred up/boarded up and have razor wire around them. Of the two houses next to the HH Whitney house, one is unoccupied (it’s falling apart it has holes in it, and it should be condemned). The other home is occupied by the owner of HH Whitney house, I believe, and is a huge mess. The area between the two houses is filled with building material in piles outside. Can you say "buy a shed, people?"
The staircase railing going up to the room was wobbly. As in scary wobbly. I’d suggest not bringing a kid or taking the back stairwell if you are feeling a bit tippy. We stayed in the garden room (in the back of the house on the second floor). This room was freezing even though the heat was on....we were informed AFTER we paid that the thermostat in our room controlled the heat in the "Scarlett O'hara" room. So, if you stay in one of those rooms, you have no control of your own, individual comfort. After having the temperature in our room descend to 60 degrees that night, I asked the inn keeper for a heater. He was actually pissy with me ("there's nobody else in the other room, you can set the temperature you want" and "did you close the shutters?!"). As if I didn't already have the thermostat set to 75. I had to open all the windows in the room to close the shutters on the exterior of the house. This was actually a two person job, so some of the shutters I couldn't close. I mean, really? A guest closing the exterior shutters on the house? The shutters DID NOT help, by the way. The inn keeper never investigated the problem, so if I hadn't turned the thermostat off and on a few times the next day in frustration, the heat would have never worked at all. Did I mention that the hallway outside our room was sweltering hot the whole time we were there?

The floor of the room we stayed in had huge holes in it (water damage from Katrina or the back porch door) that were simply covered by a fake potted plant. The damage was extensive enough to have your foot go through the floor. It was dangerous. The shower in the room (a double shower, actually) didn't have enough water pressure for one person, let alone two. The second shower head spewed water out of the back of the showerhead instead of the front, so it didn't work at all. Further, once the water did get hot, there wasn't enough hot water to take more than a military shower. So much for a romantic shower for two.
The bathroom in the room is divided from the rest of the room by a 2/3 (or slightly higher) high partition. Sure, it's a closet/cabinet/wall type thing, but it doesn't actually reach the ceiling (there are a couple of feet between the ceiling and the wall). There is no door to the bathroom either. Therefore, the bathroom has no real privacy. If you are with a friend or a partner you don't normally like to defecate in front of, then you would NOT like the setup of this room. There was no fan in the bathroom either. Oh, but feel free to use this floral air spray. Gack. It does not say on the website that you won't have any bathroom privacy if you rent this room. You can, however, have room in your freezing shower for two.
The pool outside looked nice, but it was filled with debris. Sure, it was windy out, but you'd think the owner would actually try and clean the pool out on at least one of the days we were there.
There was no coffee maker in the room. It's not as if there wasn't room for a coffee maker...there was plenty of cheap particleboard furniture in the room upon which to put one. By the way, one of the dressers in the room actually had electrical junction boxes stored in one of the drawers. Seriously? In any case, you HAD to go to the kitchen to get coffee. And, frankly, the kitchen was a cluttery mess. It was shocking.
Finally, my eye and face creams were emptied by the housekeeping. This was the only place we stayed while on vacation where we had housekeeping services. (We drove to New Orleans). And the day after we left, I noticed that my Clinique eye repair and face cream vials (were new the day we left) were 4/5 empty. DO NOT leave any wallets or valuables or makeup in the room. It WILL get stolen.
You would be much, much better off paying twice the price for a room in the French Quarter. If you MUST have a B&B, get one in the lower garden district or the Garden district proper. You will be in a safer neighborhood, in a better environment, and enjoy yourself much more. Again, I’m stunned that anyone staying here thought it was worth their money. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb_inIowaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Five Continents Inn
#64 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#58 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade

Property: HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade
Address: 1923 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1706
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality and Old World Charm in this 1865 Italianate Beauty. Your hosts, Glen & Randy, have created a near-perfect oasis for you to enjoy while visiting the nearby French Quarter, Fairgrounds and City Park, all within easy walking distance. Rooms and suites feature queen beds, custom amenities, ceiling fans, hardwood floors, in-room safes, free Wi-Fi. Property features lush tropical garden with swimming pool and hot-tub. Full breakfast and complimentary off-street parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your HH Whitney House on the Historic Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hh Whitney House On The Historic Esplanade Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing