We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, couldn't be any better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #21 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Jazz Quarters for an entire week, there is little to add to the other 5 star reviews, everything turned out to be true: Great location, we didn't use the car for most of the week, all major attractions are in walking distance. Great atmosphere, feels like a small village, most cottages are standalone, feels like a lot of space and privacy, relaxed. Nevertheless the B&B layout is space efficient, could be used as a prototype to start a B&B chain.
We stayed in the fountain cottage - great - tasteful interiors, large enough fridge and bathroom, comfortable bed, seperate living room, airconditioning is very quiet and efficient.
Needless to say - this B&B is spotlessly clean - rooms, breakfast room, also the beautiful courtyard with fountain, everything exceptionally well maintained and in top condition.
As with every accomodation - customer experience can be just as good as the staff, and our experience couldn't have been any better ! Therefore many thanks to Kelly, Cliff, Raphi (the Austrian intern) and all the others we met there - you all were always helpful superfriendly and really made a difference to our stay in New Orleans.
Last not least the breakfast was stunning as well, New Orleans style cooking - every day a different dish. And if you have dietary requirements - the folks try to adjust as much as possible.
This was definitely the best of the 6 accomodations we had on our 3-week trip through the South. If we ever get a chance to visit New Orleans again, we definitely will stay at Jazz Quarters.

Room Tip: We loved our Fountain cottage, but the other cottages seem to be same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerSchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

You made our day! Thank you so much for your review and most importantly for sharing your week in New Orleans with all of us. It was truly our pleasure. We know it's a long way for you to travel, but please know how much we would love to have you back. Jazz Quarters is always waiting to be your home away from home.
Warmest wishes,
The Jazz Quarters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 513 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

I definitely want to go back here. Very friendly staff and an ideal location. It is just across the road from the Quarter, and in a great historic neighbourhood, across the street from the beautiful Armstrong park. Compared to the prices if things closer to Bourbon St., this was a steal. It was about a 5 minute walk to Bourbon St and 12 minutes to Frenchman, which is highly preferable if you actually like jazz and art. I plan to stay at this place again. I felt totally safe and they have free, on site secured parking, which is a huge plus. Another great thing is that it is close to Kermit's, which I also recommend. It doesn't get 5 stars across the board only because there were a couple things I think could be improved in terms of guest facilities/conveniences but they are not worth mentioning. There is no reason you shouldn't choose the place when looking at any in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit. Please email our office with any comments on how we can improve the rooms and service. We are always trying to be the best we can. Thanks, The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Perfect, peaceful location despite its proximity to hubbub of the French Quarter. My little cottage (Kermit) was charming, well-appointed and clean; the garden was lovely; the hosts were delightful, accommodating and kind, and the fact that the property is gated makes it feel wonderfully secure. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Kermit was perfect...spacious, interesting decor, and well-situated on the property,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laMarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. The entire team has been working on the gardens and outdoor space and we are pleased you enjoyed them. Join us again soon. Cheers- Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and it was the perfect place!..The service was outstanding and the location very close to everything we wanted to see... The cottage was big enough for 2 or even three people, the breakfast was delicious! Thanks so much for such a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy7106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest. Visit us again soon and thanks for the review! Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for the weekend and had a great time. It's in a great location, everything in the French Quarter, the cemetaries, Frenchman Street, Magazine Street are all within easy walking distance. It's gated so you can park your car inside for peace of mind. We spent the first night in the White Room which is small, but very nice and perfect for us. It is right next tot he porch though where people sit and talk so if that bothers you, you may want to pick another room. The staff was extremely accomadating, Kelly gave us tons of great tips and helped book us tours. Breakfast was delicisous, outside of the box kind of things, not your typical breakfasts, very yummy! There is a beautiful garden you can sit in and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are evaluating moving the tables and furniture outside of the White to help keep the noise down. We look forward to your next visit with us and are glad that Kelly offered such great recommendations. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Jazz Quarters for a weekend getaway. It was quaint, clean and the service impeccable. It's in a perfect location and we loved the fact that it was gated. We were within walking distance of all the great sites in the french quarter for eating, shopping and music. We will definitely stay there again. Our hostess was so helpful to us and gave us ideas of where to go and an insight on some of the places we might like to see. We will recommend them!! Last not least, the breakfasts were awesome!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We work hard to provide tasty breakfast, and are glad they were a highlight of your stay. Visit us again soon. Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the first time we stayed in a bed and breakfast in New Orleans and we will definitely stay here again. They offer a wide variety of room options. The hospitality was great and the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llm0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are glad your first B & B experience was a good one! Thanks for staying with us and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 166 in New Orleans
976 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
139 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Frenchmen Hotel & Bar
Royal Frenchmen Hotel & Bar
#48 of 141 in New Orleans
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 141 in New Orleans
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $90 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing