We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #20 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Music Room which was perfect for our girl's weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and Brenna was quite helpful. One should note, however, that in the Music Room one has to go through one bedroom to get to another...ditto for the bathrooms. I would recommend this more for families and girls and not for couples.

Room Tip: The Music Room is perfect for groups of friends or a family.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geewhiz1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the property. Thanks for noting the setup of the Music Hall. There is a unique feature in New Orleans architecture that includes the "shot gun" style cottage. Our music hall fits that set up, filled with cozy charm and shared space, it is well suited for close groups.
Please visit us again. The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 506 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and our friends stayed in the Marsalis Suite during our stay there from 5 July to 8 July 2013. The suite was very nice. The two separate bedrooms was perfect for us. The large bathroom was extremely spacious, although we all would have preferred a separate stand up shower because both rooms share that one bathroom. Charlie was amazing and very informative. We loved the location, just minutes away, as far as walking distance from the Quarters, but a couple blocks away to actually get some peaceful rest. This was our first B&B experience and we are looking forward to visiting again, as we come to New Orleans quite often.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaToyer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us during Essence Festival. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit New Orleans again.

Sincerely,

Rick and Lisa
Owner/Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent 2 nites here before a cruise
Never been to NOLA and wanted a quaint B&B and very happy with our Shorty Trombone room. Charlie the host was so informative, helpful and knowledgeable of area, restaurants and history,,not to mention a terrific chef. The B&B is just far enough outside the French Qrt for quietness but an easy walk. Cant go wrong if you stay here.
Just made their coucous recipe,,delish

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzieandHarriet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Yay! We are glad you're enjoying our cous cous at home. Thanks for the review and visit us again soon. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

we loved being in the heart of town, able to walk everywhere very easily. Charlie was a terrific host and made so many excellent recommendations, that we just followed them all in the end. The breakfast was lovely with local influences. Room was high quality, although we did experience some noise at night from locals hanging out. if you want absolute quiet, pick a room away from the road. The whole group of houses is very secure with locked area for cars which is a real bonus.
we would all definitely go again!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road will be very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon so we can treat you to a few more local favorites at breakfast.
The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend recently, and had a great stay. We were in the Mayfield suite, and as promised, it is definitely romantic :). The people running the Jazz Quarters were awesome - so friendly and helpful! Plus breakfast every morning was delicious. Very gourmet! I also appreciated that they went out of their way to accomodate my food preferences, as I do not eat meat. This B&B is in a great location - easy walking distance to everything, and we never felt unsafe coming back late at night. The whole compound feels very secure, behind a tall gated fence.

My only 2 issues were (1) the mattress was very hard - but this is a personal preference, and (2) the bathroom was a step down from the rest of the room, which could be dangerous if you got up to use the restroom at night. Minor qualms though. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Mayfield suite is just gorgeous, and it is very private! (as long as you don't mind the step...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Erin,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of the Jazz Quarters. We are thrilled to learn you would stay with us again. I am very sorry about the step down to the bathroom in the Mayfield. These old buildings are not always designed by our standards of safety. However, we will be doing a renovation of that building, hopefully this summer, and will level the bathroom with the rest of the suite at that time.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Lisa and Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Agree with all the positive reviews, but noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful night - drug dealing, pimps and prostitutes, cars coming and going for several hours, banging on the gate. Impossible to sleep and rather frightening.

Room Tip: Noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful n...
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Amber1958-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Amber,

We were extremely distressed to learn of the problems you experienced with noise during your stay in the Marsalis suite. We have contactred the police and they have promised us frequent drive-by's in case this problem persists. Again, our apologies that this interfered with your enjoyment and hope your visit was enjoyable in all other aspects.

Best regards,
Rick and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Best find for a B&B on the cusp of the French Quarter! Comprised of a couple individual living quarters with a garden courtyard in the middle. We stayed in the Fountain suite which had a bedroom, front living room, and a bathroom. The suite had everything we needed and was beautiful!

The gracious hosts, Vincent and Lola, are a joy and very informative to the area. Every morning we had a different breakfast that was unique to the area and was a great start to our day! We had some odd arrival and departure times, and they were very accommodating in holding bags until our rooms were ready or we were ready to head to the airport.

After walking around the great city of NOLA, it was amazing to sit in the courtyard with a glass of wine and relax before we hit Frenchman street for some local music!

I will recommend this place every time anyone is looking for lodging in NOLA! And if we are lucky enough to make it back there, I won't need to shop around for a place to stay!!

Thanks again for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeynjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Wow--you made our day! Thanks so much for staying with us and for your great review! Sipping wine in the beautiful courtyard is one of our favorite things to do too. We hope you will get back to visit again soon. Have a great summer, The Jazz Quarters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,967 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 165 in New Orleans
2,631 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $90 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing