We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #14 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Music Room which was perfect for our girl's weekend. The breakfasts were delicious and Brenna was quite helpful. One should note, however, that in the Music Room one has to go through one bedroom to get to another...ditto for the bathrooms. I would recommend this more for families and girls and not for couples.

Room Tip: The Music Room is perfect for groups of friends or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geewhiz1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the property. Thanks for noting the setup of the Music Hall. There is a unique feature in New Orleans architecture that includes the "shot gun" style cottage. Our music hall fits that set up, filled with cozy charm and shared space, it is well suited for close groups.
Please visit us again. The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
288
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and our friends stayed in the Marsalis Suite during our stay there from 5 July to 8 July 2013. The suite was very nice. The two separate bedrooms was perfect for us. The large bathroom was extremely spacious, although we all would have preferred a separate stand up shower because both rooms share that one bathroom. Charlie was amazing and very informative. We loved the location, just minutes away, as far as walking distance from the Quarters, but a couple blocks away to actually get some peaceful rest. This was our first B&B experience and we are looking forward to visiting again, as we come to New Orleans quite often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaToyer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us during Essence Festival. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit New Orleans again.

Sincerely,

Rick and Lisa
Owner/Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent 2 nites here before a cruise
Never been to NOLA and wanted a quaint B&B and very happy with our Shorty Trombone room. Charlie the host was so informative, helpful and knowledgeable of area, restaurants and history,,not to mention a terrific chef. The B&B is just far enough outside the French Qrt for quietness but an easy walk. Cant go wrong if you stay here.
Just made their coucous recipe,,delish

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieandHarriet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Yay! We are glad you're enjoying our cous cous at home. Thanks for the review and visit us again soon. Cheers- The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

we loved being in the heart of town, able to walk everywhere very easily. Charlie was a terrific host and made so many excellent recommendations, that we just followed them all in the end. The breakfast was lovely with local influences. Room was high quality, although we did experience some noise at night from locals hanging out. if you want absolute quiet, pick a room away from the road. The whole group of houses is very secure with locked area for cars which is a real bonus.
we would all definitely go again!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road will be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon so we can treat you to a few more local favorites at breakfast.
The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend recently, and had a great stay. We were in the Mayfield suite, and as promised, it is definitely romantic :). The people running the Jazz Quarters were awesome - so friendly and helpful! Plus breakfast every morning was delicious. Very gourmet! I also appreciated that they went out of their way to accomodate my food preferences, as I do not eat meat. This B&B is in a great location - easy walking distance to everything, and we never felt unsafe coming back late at night. The whole compound feels very secure, behind a tall gated fence.

My only 2 issues were (1) the mattress was very hard - but this is a personal preference, and (2) the bathroom was a step down from the rest of the room, which could be dangerous if you got up to use the restroom at night. Minor qualms though. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Mayfield suite is just gorgeous, and it is very private! (as long as you don't mind the step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Erin,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of the Jazz Quarters. We are thrilled to learn you would stay with us again. I am very sorry about the step down to the bathroom in the Mayfield. These old buildings are not always designed by our standards of safety. However, we will be doing a renovation of that building, hopefully this summer, and will level the bathroom with the rest of the suite at that time.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Lisa and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Agree with all the positive reviews, but noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful night - drug dealing, pimps and prostitutes, cars coming and going for several hours, banging on the gate. Impossible to sleep and rather frightening.

Room Tip: Noise is a factor in the front cottages. In mid March in the Armstrong room I had one quite awful n...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber1958-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Amber,

We were extremely distressed to learn of the problems you experienced with noise during your stay in the Marsalis suite. We have contactred the police and they have promised us frequent drive-by's in case this problem persists. Again, our apologies that this interfered with your enjoyment and hope your visit was enjoyable in all other aspects.

Best regards,
Rick and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Best find for a B&B on the cusp of the French Quarter! Comprised of a couple individual living quarters with a garden courtyard in the middle. We stayed in the Fountain suite which had a bedroom, front living room, and a bathroom. The suite had everything we needed and was beautiful!

The gracious hosts, Vincent and Lola, are a joy and very informative to the area. Every morning we had a different breakfast that was unique to the area and was a great start to our day! We had some odd arrival and departure times, and they were very accommodating in holding bags until our rooms were ready or we were ready to head to the airport.

After walking around the great city of NOLA, it was amazing to sit in the courtyard with a glass of wine and relax before we hit Frenchman street for some local music!

I will recommend this place every time anyone is looking for lodging in NOLA! And if we are lucky enough to make it back there, I won't need to shop around for a place to stay!!

Thanks again for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeynjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traydrvic, Owner at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Wow--you made our day! Thanks so much for staying with us and for your great review! Sipping wine in the beautiful courtyard is one of our favorite things to do too. We hope you will get back to visit again soon. Have a great summer, The Jazz Quarters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,395 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Property: The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing