We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic NOLA Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #16 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic NOLA Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed six-nights at the Jazz Quarters, which provided safe, comfortable, and secure refuge from (and a quick easy, walk to) the bacchanal of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. Each breakfasts was delicious and the personal yet unintrusive attention of inn keepers Lola and Vincent was appreciated. (Be sure to follow their advice for drinking, dining, neighborhood forays, and NOLA outings. The small staff was courteous and efficient. Be sure to visit the nearby Backstreet Museum and allow Sylvester to give you his informative tour.
Bottom Line: We will stay here next time we visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in and recommend the Kermit 'quarters', it is situated at the center of the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCI4ITAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi M and B,

Greetings from sunny New Orleans.
Lola and I are glad you had a good time with us.

We hope to see you two again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    39
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
300
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at The Jazz Quarters a few weeks ago for 3 nights.On arrival we were greeted by Vincent and invited to sit and share a glass of wine. Vincent was well prepared to give us advice on how to enjoy our stay in New Orleans. His maps of the various neighborhoods proved to be very helpful since great bars, restaurants and sights were indicated on each map. Lola and Brina also shared great tips to enhance our stay.
We enjoyed the Armstrong room which proved to be spacious, immaculate, private and comfortable.
The breakfast served each day was delicious and plentiful. Conversation flowed easily with fellow travelers because our hosts encouraged conversaion by engaging each person athe table.
The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk to most places we wanted to visit. Cabs were readily available nearby or with a call from our hosts.
All of the above mentioned were the obvious amenities of the Jazz Quarters. It was the attention to detail that made our stay exceptional. Delightfully scented towels, filtered water in the fridge, visually pleasing decor, free parking come to mind.
We are already discussing a return trip to NOLA.The Jazz Quarters will be our choice for our home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnesmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Lynne,


Many thanks for the flattering review.
We hope you and Edward will come see us again if you find yourself down South.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

. Lola and Vincent are the most attentive, caring and knowledgeable hosts that our group have ever come in contact with.. We are a group of five woman who travel together, all with different tastes and interests.we have had the pleasure of many vacations to equally as many bed and breakfasts But none can compare with the jazz quarters. Our hosts were fantastic... We were given extensive information about the city, recommendations about events, places with superb food, how to travel within and beyond the city, they acted as concierge ... On and on.. Do not miss this place, they show the ultimate in hospitality.. Thank you and thank you again Lola and Vincent for your caring attitude ,warmth and charm . Not to forget the fabulous breakfasts. We will be back.. Warm regards. Kathryn ,Karen, Beverly,Angela and Vicki.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you, ladies, for this generous review.
Lola and I truly had a blast with the five of you.
Now there's a breakfast none of us is going to forget any time soon : )

Thanks again for being your wonderful, vivacious selves.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This bed and breakfast exceeded all expectations. From greeting us on street, to waving good-bye at departure, everything was memorable. The location was perfect-easy walking distance to all attractions. Lola and Vincent gave the best insider recommendations for entertainment. The rooms are all one of a kind. Breakfast? Gourmet!!!! My husband became ill on trip and with their help we went to Urgent Care which was a good decision. I'd go back to New Orleans just to stay at Jazz Quarters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, General Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Many thanks for thinking about us and writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad there wasn't anything wrong with your husband.
But it is always better to be safe than sorry.

We hope to see y'all again.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lola and Vincent are the perfect hosts. Always available when you need them with up to the minute smart advice on all things New Orleans: out of the way music venues, restaurants, parades, where to go and where not to go and when. They cook delicious breakfasts and are unfailingly cheerful and interesting. The grounds of the B&B with its gardens and boardwalks between individual cottages makes the whole place feel like you're in your own small town. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We had a great time as a couple but it would be terrific for families, business, friends or solo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aretha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks, V, for your kind words.
When you and R are back in town, we'd love to have a cocktail with you.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This bed & breakfast was an amazing place to stay in New Orleans! The innkeepers (Vincent & Lola) were so friendly and hospitable. They gave us awesome recommendations on places to eat, things to do, and where to go. They have great insight for navigating away from the tourist traps and getting a more authentic feel for New Orleans. Also can't forget - the breakfast here is AMAZING! The property was very well maintained with clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattFromLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi Matt and Stephanie,

Lola and I greatly enjoyed your company.
You were wonderful guests and we hope only good things will come your way over there in the City of Angles.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawarthas, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I recently visited New Orleans for 5 days and we stayed at the Jazz Quarters B&B on St.Philip Street located just on the fringe of the French Quarter. We stayed in the Armstrong one-bedroom suite which has a separate living room area with stereo and TV as well as a small kitchen with a micro, sink, coffeemaker, good sized fridge, basic cutlery/dishes, etc., a little drop-leaf table and two chairs. The suite also has a generously sized bathroom with a huge tub/shower, super soft designer linens, bathrobes, toiletry supplies, etc.The hosts Lola & Vincent (as well as the backup hosts) are very welcoming and always happy to help you out with anything you might need such as recommendations for eating spots, music locations, tours, safety, etc. Breakfasts are available outside on a covered patio area or inside, depending on the weather and your preferences. Breakfasts are plentiful and always start with an amazing breakfast couscous mixture served with yogurt and honey. We didn't have any problems with the location at all. It's right across the street from Armstrong Park near the corner of St.Philip and North Rampart; it's a short walk (10 min) to reach the centre of the Quarter and everything in the Quarter is walkable from the B&B. There's also plenty of good eateries and bars within a shorter radius too plus there's a fully stocked corner store/market within a 5 min walk from the B&B where you can get just about anything you need from grocery, produce, meats, beer/wine, ATM, etc. We did a LOT of walking in our visit exploring the French Quarter, Frenchman Street, CBD, Garden District, etc. There is a streetcar along the waterfront in the Quarter that you can catch to head to areas outside of the Quarter if you're not into walking more than 20 min or so but we found them to be really slow at arriving to the stops so we walked pretty much everywhere. The only thing I would caution on (and it's certainly nothing that would ever deter me from visiting again) is that street noise on weekend nights might be fairly noticeable if you are staying in the Armstrong or Marsalis suites as they are situated right at the sidewalk of St.Philip street. Week nights there was no noise whatsoever and you will often hear jazz playing from the park during the day but it's a welcome background sound that's not overpowering at the B&B at all and....it is New Orleans, after all. We highly recommend Jazz Quarters to anyone visiting NOLA. Great hosts, unit was very clean and neat, comfy bed, and secure car parking inside the B&B gates if you have a car on your trip - a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelLady044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you, H and D, for this thorough and kind review .
Stay warm there up North, and if you feel like you're in need for a bit of Louisiana sunshine, we hope you'll stay with us again.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,261 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Property: The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing