We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time in NOLA! This place really is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #20 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Jazz Quarters. Vincent and Lola were fantastics hosts and really made us feel welcome. Vincent met us the moment we walked in, offered us some wine and sat down with us to offer some suggestions about what to see and where to eat. He also gave us great tips to make sure that we stayed safe during our stay. You won't get that type of attention at a large hotel.
We stayed in the Kermit. It had plenty of room for the two of us, was clean and nicely decorated. We had friends that also stayed at the Jazz Quarters. They stayed in Fountain, which happened to share an outdoor common area with our cottage. We spent some time there each day relaxing and enjoying an adult beverage or two. If you plan to travel with another couple, I would suggest trying to rent these two cottages.
The breakfast each morning was very good. We enjoyed chatting with Vincent and Lola along with the other guests. We had a great time and when we go back to NOLA, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: All of the cottages looked cool. We stayed in the Kermit and really liked that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi J and S,

Many thanks for the nice review..
When Indianapolis becomes to chilly, just fly down and warm up a bit in sunny New Orleans.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 509 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several day in February and it was excellent. Vincent and Lola are great hosts! They know the area and will answer any questions you have. They have great suggestions for activities and provide maps and advice. The rooms are large and well appointed, the beds very comfy and we felt like we were at home there. The breakfast is outstanding and makes for a perfect start to the day. Whenever we visit New Orleans, this is the only place that we stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Benebarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you, BeneBarak, for staying with us and for taking the time to write about our B&B on Tripadvisor.

Please come visit us again.

Kind regards,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here mid-March. First I admit was almost skeptical about all the praise given by reviewers. - as well as the spaciousness and beauty portrayed in pictures. I am happy to report these are not exaggerations.

Room Quality - excellent. I stayed in Connick with two bedrooms. Spacious, charming furnishings, very clean. Also there were special carafes of filtered water in the refridgerator, which was wonderful -- as well as plenty of space for refridgerating other items. cottage was set back from other buildings, and felt wonderfully private.

Location/Grounds - very charming, unique. On edge of French Quarter other side of Rampart St. Entrance was discreet, with separate pedesterian gate, which added to security (didn't announce "hi we're tourists"). If I was woman travelling alone, I might be more cautious at night and take cabs back late hours.

Innkeepers/Bkfst - Victor and Lola were extremely gracious. When I first checked in, Victor sat down individually with me, gave map and good suggestions. Breakfasts both mornings were excellent, and accommodated for vegetarian diet. Also they were very kind to offer late checkout, since room wasn't booked later that day.

Very happy to have stayed here, my first time in NOLA, and thank you so much Lola, Victor, and your staff


Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank AJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear AJE,

Many thanks for the kind words.
I am glad you enjoyed your short stay in New Orleans.
If you decide to return ( and If your schedule allows ) consider staying for a few more days.
NOLA has so much to offer, you can easily stay a week here and not be bored.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were off to a rough start with our flight reservations, but once we arrived all of our troubles went away... Vincent and Lola assisted us with getting a room upgrade to the Louis Armstrong Suite. They offered plenty of suggestions of where to go and what to eat. All of their suggestions were awesome! They really considered the personalities of their guests and tried to be as accomodating as possible. The breakfast each morning was awesome, yet they didn't "shove it down your throat" that you "must join" for breakfast like other b-n-b's. If we chose to venture out and get our own breakfast that was okay as well.
In regards to the location of the facility, we loved it! It was close enough to the French Quarter and other tourists spots but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet. We did walk to most of our points of interests, although a cab after dark is recommended regardless of what area of town we were in.
As I stated earlier, we were upgraded to the Louis Armstrong Suite and enjoyed everything about this room. I read previous patrons comments of the noise, but we honestly heard nothing. The room had a sound device that provided white noise to assist with the sleeping, and trust me it did! We cranked it up on the rain and heard nothing all night. The room was quite spacious with a sitting area followed by the bedroom and a small kitchenette then the bathroom.
If you have a chance to stay at the Jazz Quarters, definitely do; I highly recommend this place to anyone, even those that may be travelling as a family. We are looking forward to being able to come here again!

Room Tip: Armstrong Suite-- As I stated earlier, we were upgraded to the Louis Armstrong Suite and enjoyed eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rgm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks, R and K, for giving us the thumbs-up on Tripadvisor.

We hope that if you are coming back to beautiful NOLA, you will decide to stay with Lola and me again.

All the best,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I traveled to New Orleans for a work conference and found very few options in my office's price range. The White room was in budget so I booked it several months in advance. I couldn't have asked for a better New Orleans experience. Vincent and Lola are exceptional innkeepers. Their restaurant map was always in my pocket and their dining advise led to many excellent dinners. The conference was at the convention center so each day I walked a different path to and from the waterfront trolley and had a chance to see most of the French Quarter in just a few days. On days when I needed to get a little work done, the internet access was strong and my cozy room was a great place to concentrate. I hope to someday bring my family back to the New Orleans Jazz Quarters.

Room Tip: I stayed in their smallest room, the White room, which was perfect for a single traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebSholtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks, Deb, for the positive feedback.
I'll miss our excellent breakfast conversations.

All the best,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

For our first visit to New Orleans, we certainly picked a gem for our accomodations! Jazz Quarters was just what we would expect from the website and other reviews. We stayed in the Kermit and were very satisfied, the bed was most comfortable and awesome. The service was beyond our expectations. Vincent and Lola provided their smiles, hospitatlity, and their very own concierge service for us readily. Their friendly attitude and willingness to answer any question we had about our visit and what we wanted to do was very much appreciated. They helped us with maps, recommendations for tours, and especially restaurants! They were right on with all of their advice! The maid service also went above and beyond and did a little laundry for me after I had a spill the night before on my jeans. We had a fantastic time and felt so comfortable to come "home" to our cottage. The location of this B and B is perfect. It is walking distance to Armstrong Park and the French Quarter. We did the Swamp Tour and rented bikes for an afternoon, along with getting to know the French Quarter during our 5 night stay. We would recommend Jazz Quarters to anyone visiting New Orleans!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Karen,

Many thanks for the kind words.
If you decide to come down South to The Big Easy again, please make sure to look us up.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We travel to NOLA regularly and have stayed everywhere from conference hotels to Ws to other B&Bs. We have never stayed at the same place twice in over 15 years (not necessarily anything wrong just so many places,l so little time) that said - we'll be back here. Let me start by saying we are not big B&B people - we have often avoided breakfast at B&Bs or one of us (me) gets sent down for coffee. We had a coffee pot with lots of good coffee in our room. Even so, we went to breakfast every day. The food was great - the breakfast cous cous is amazing and that is followed by excellent hot dishes each day - wow. We stayed in the Mayfield - and we worried that pictures were deceiving - but they aren't - our room was lovely and our sitting room was spacious. Vincent and Lola, the innkeepers, are personable, friendly and knowledgeable of the rich culture of New Orleans, even providing new info for "veterans" such as ourselves. They offer great recommendations - and we heard them speaking with a variety of travelers and adjusting their recommendations to their needs/experiences. Also, and this may seem minor, but if we used three packs of regular coffee we got three new packs of regular coffee when our room was done that day. Dirty glasses were replaced with clean ones, and the room was spotless (really I wouldn't mind using the same bar of soap 2 days in a row, but it is nice). The location is amazing , across from Louis Armstrong Park, near the French quarter AND the Marigny and Bywater, also quiet and secure. GO HERE! If you love NOLA or want to get to know NOLA (it's not all about Bourbon St) this is the place. See you soon! Pat & Kate

Room Tip: The pictures are accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Pat,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Lola and I really enjoyed your company,

All the best,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,527 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,124 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $90 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing