We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #19 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Jazz Quarters. Lola and Vincent we fantastic hosts. They made us feel so welcome and were always gracious and helpful. The food was delicious and the accommodations beautiful. The location is perfect. Within easy walking distance to lots of activities and events during Mardi Gras, but away from all the noise. We were thrilled to find this great guest house and only wished we could have stayed longer. Lola and Vincent helped to make New Orleans a special place and we look forward to another stay with them in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi Margaret,

What fun guests you were!
We hope that if you ever return to belle Nouvelle Orleans, you will allow yourself a little more time.
Please thank James for the special present he gave me,

That was very much appreciated.

All the best,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 509 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Jazz Quarters during the run-up to Mardi Gras. It is perfectly located as we were close enough to all the craziness of the French Quarter yet far enough for a good night's sleep. We had the Kermit cottage, which was comfortable, clean, with a flair of New Orleans' wild side. Vincent and Lola were extremely helpful when we asked for tips and were ready to accommodate our every need. Vincent's breakfasts were unique and very tasty and the chat was always interesting around the breakfast table. Cannot recommend this place enough. If we come back to NOLA this is the place we're staying at again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meli408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks, M, for the kind words.
I am glad you and B had a good time at the Jazz Quarters.

We wish you the best of luck with your endeavors at the United Nations.

Lola and vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I would give this delightful B&B 5 stars, except for the creaky bed! Since we live in New Orleans, I thought I knew about all of the perfect little guest houses in our city. Well I learned something new this Mardi Gras. We decided to stay in the French Quarter for carnival this year and a friend found this place. It is a group of small guesthouses, all contained around a central courtyard and breakfast room. This could not have been a better place location wise. Although not in the French Quarter it is only half a block away and in the Treme neighborhood. It is a quick hop to the Quarter and actually easier to access then the Quarter, plus it has secure parking!!!

We stayed in the "Music Hall" which contained 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, along with a small kitchen and a nice sized sitting room. It was perfect for our group of 6, and would have easily accommodated eight people. The breakfast each morning was a wonderful surprise, with the bananas foster pancakes being my personal favorite! Great staff, that was unobtrusive but helpful.

One of the things we liked the most were the furnishings, some antiques, mixed in with modern TV's in the living space and each bedroom. These are old buildings, however, with plenty of charm making it almost feel haunted. The courtyard was a perfect place to sit and have coffee at the beginning of the day and a glass of wine at the end. The best thing though was that it was right across the street from a great little restaurant called Meauxbar!!

If you want something off the beaten path in New Orleans, give this place a try.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rock504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you, Rock504, for the elaborate review.

Positive feedback from a native New Orleanian is about as rewarding as it gets for an innkeeper.

We hope to see you and your merry group same time next year.

Kind regards,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at The Jazz Quarters for 4 nights in mid-January. We arrived at 7:30PM and were greeted by Vincent, our host. He provided a tour, a glass of wine and once he knew we were hungry - he picked up the phone and reserved a table for us a nearby bistro that proved to be excellent and only a block away. We enjoyed our cottage, The Kermit, which was immaculate and comfortable in every way. Breakfasts were served in the main house each morning and we had a chance to meet many other visitors staying at the JQ. The breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. Lola, our hostess, took the time to check on us and make sure that we were "all set" each day to fully enjoy New Orleans. We had the good fortune to have a nephew from the area as a personal tour guide. But for those who did not - Lola and Vincent made certain that tours were arranged and all guests were happy. On our last evening, Lola guided us to Kermit Ruffins' jazz club which is a 10 minute walk away. We had a great evening there in a very "local" setting - a great way to end a perfect visit to NOLA. There is no other choice than the Jazz Quarters when visiting NOLA. It is unique and the accommodations are comfortable and quiet, yet it is only a few blocks from the heart of the French Quarter. We will never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It is likely that all rooms are excellent. But as a couple - we loved "The Kermit". It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noreen_kayaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Many thanks, Doreen, for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you and Kevin enjoyed our fair city.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 days during Superbowl weekend along with 3 other friends in 4 different cottages.
Vincent and Lola are excellent hosts and the breakfast is top notch!! They do anything to make you feel comfortable and at home.
We were welcomed with wine, beer and delicious local treats. The rooms are really nice and spacious and the style suits the French Quarter.
To our surprise, the day we left, we had a farewell gift of champagne and a King Cake. I highly recommend this place! -just be aware that the showers are very nice, clean, like new- but quite small ;)

Room Tip: I stayed at the Mayfield. I recommend it to couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cegonzalez1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks, Carlos, for the encouraging words.
Lola and I very much enjoyed having you 4 hard-working folks stay with us.

We wish you all the best with your travels and I sincerely hope to be able to visit Colombia one day.

Kind regards,

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My review is a bit late but my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights right after Christmas. This was our second time at the Jazz Quarters and I think we enjoyed it even more than our first stay. Lola and Vincent were amazing hosts and we felt like we were visiting with old friends. They gave great recommendations for exploring the city and breakfast was delicious! We stayed in the Mayfield suite and it was very nice and spacious, and CLEAN :) Once again we loved everything about our stay here and cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you, Rachel, for staying with us again.
Few things are as rewarding as guests who decide to come back to stay with us.

All the best,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

As first time visitors to the Big Easy we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The owners took the time to help us with recommendations on what to do, and most important, where to eat and drink. But I have to say that the best we had was the breakfast at the Inn, couldn't hardly wait for the morning to come. We love to go back anytime!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank USAfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Many thanks, USAFantast, for you praise of the breakfasts.

In New Orleans, bad food truly is anathema, so we try hard to get folks off to a good start in the morning.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,522 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,115 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $90 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing