We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #14 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, IA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were the guests of the Jazz Quarters on Nov 17 and 18. When we arrived at the B&B, we were greeted by Vincent and Lola. They were our hosts for two wonderful days. The first thing they did was to set us down with a glass of wine or soft drink and go over what we wanted to do for the next two days. They offered suggestions and recommended some possible sight seeing options.
They gave each of us a half sheet of paper with important info; phone numbers, addresses, cell numbers and anything else they felt we would or could possibly need.
The accomodations were great, clean, quiet, comfortable and impecably clean. The breakfasts were gourmet but not over the top, just very, very tasty.
Vincent and Lola both bent over backward to meet our every wish. As an example, we decided we wanted to do a 'plantation tour'. Vincent made several calls for us, lined up the tours, the transportation and return all according to our travel time-frame. I highly recommend the Jazz Quarters and would definately stay with them again.

Room Tip: The inn was gated, which was an additional security for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
My word, what a nice review.


Thank you, Ron.
I am glad that even though your stay was brief, your group had a good time in NOLA.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
288
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Jazz Quarters. I think one of the special things we liked, besides such a GREAT location to visit the French Quarter, is the breakfast. If you're expecting bacon, eggs, toast, coffee etc. this is not your place. Expect something you have NEVER eaten and expect it to be great. They will exceeed expectations.
The inclosed gated parking area is also great for folks like us that drive to N.O.

Room Tip: They have several room sizes with multiple baths etc. just ask the innkeeper, I think he really want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Mac1270, for the review and for coming back to stay with us. To Lola and me, there is no better compliment than a guests who returns to The Jazz Quarters. That you are a fellow Louisianan makes it even better.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my first (and long-awaited) visit to New Orleans. I'd read so many rave reviews for the Jazz Quarters (and as a jazz maven, just the name was a positive sign) that I had to check it out myself. It's right where you want to be, walking distance from the good stuff. And the the amazing (and totally hip) innkeepers, Vincent and Lola, know where the good stuff is; trust them if your idea of a New Orleans trip is to go where the locals go for music (ask them about Kermit Ruffins) and eating. My suite (Armstrong) was magnificent and spacious, but I could be happy in any of the accommodations. Last but anything but least, breakfasts. If you don't love breakfast at this place, you've got a hole in your soul. Breakfast couscous! Lola gave me a portion to take back to L.A. My wife flipped. Got the recipe and it'll be on our Thanksgiving table.
There's no other place to stay in NOLA. Period.
Will be back next year for our anniversary fo' sho'!
Laissez les bontemps rouler!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Chuck,

Lola and I still talk about your visit.
You were a fun, well-adjusted and very interesting guest.
Thanks for hanging out with us at Kermit's.

Next time, please bring Jane with you. Lola and I would love to meet her.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hats offf to Vincent & Lola. Somehow these inn keepers allow you to feel you have know each other your whole life. The comfort level is beyond compare. They take pride in their profession, and it shows in every aspect of the running of their B&B. You won't find any run of the mill egg bakes for breakfast, and they know you can't boil water in a microwave for tea drinkers! The breakfast areas encourage conversations, and the patio and gardens are extremely welcoming. The location was perfect and secure. We easily walked to everything in the French Quarter. There was parking available, which we did not need. Our room was impeccably clean, and I'm fussy about that. When I return to NOLA, I will not even look for another B&B. The sense of familiarity, security, and attention to detail has made Jazz Quarters where I choose to lay my hat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Linda, for your positive review.
We loved having you and Charles stay with us.

You are welcome here anytime.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a gorgeous courtyard property. The convenience of the location was excellent, the staff was gracious and welcoming and the breakfasts were to die for. The Jazz Quarters came highly recommended by a close friend and they exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you, Gary and Anna, for your review.

When the Wisconsin winter drives the thermometer way down, you have a good excuse to come to New Orleans again and enjoy our balmy winter.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This quaint, secluded, secure B&B just steps from all the French Quarter action was more than worth our trip to New Orleans. The inn keepers are passionate about what they do & about New Orleans but with a relaxed, unhurried , southern charm. Sharing a bottle of good wine on the veranda in the evening was simply delightful.

In a city known for its food, the breakfasts @ Jazz Quarters are up there @ the top. Leave your skinny jeans @ home. We were there 6 nights--- I liked the crepes with a savory cream cheese filling & shrimp sauce the best. Husband liked the bread pudding the best. Had to get the couscous recipe. And had to buy a pound of the coffee/chicory blend they use to bring home. The physical set up for breakfast encourages conversations with other guests, which is what we hope for @ a B&B.

Secure parking within the property was comforting. Nearby laundry facility was a good thing. Although Vincent & Lola tried to reboot several times, WiFi was unreliable. A/C and heat worked well (we had to use both in November). Relatively quiet @ night.

Suggestion: perhaps they'd consider unscented laundry products as some people may be sensitive.

Thank you Vincent, Lola, and the rest of the staff for the personal attention you show with all your guests. God bless

Room Tip: The door out to the street should be shut carefully or it bangs, which could be disturbing @ night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Pepper49,

Your review title is one of the funniest I've read in while.
Thanks for the accolades for our breakfasts.

You are right, 'diet' is a four letter word here in NOLA. : )

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The Jazz Quarters was perfect for our group of seven people. Being right next to Armstrong Park we were able to enjoy great food and music during the Creole Gumbo Festival. Lola and Vincent were fantastic hosts - they helped with directions, recommendations, made dinner reservations, made swamp tour reservations, bike rentals, etc. … not to mention the great food they served every morning. All the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a great time and will definitely be back to the Jazz Quarters again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvilleGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks, JvilleGreg, for the positive review.
We enjoyed having your group stay with us.

Come on down South, and see us any time you like.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,560 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,402 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Property: The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Address: 1129 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free hot breakfast and free wifi, another popular feature is our free parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing