We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz Quarters is equal parts charm, comfort, fun and hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Ranked #20 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jazz Quarters is equal parts charm, comfort, fun and hospitality.”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at Jazz Quarters to celebrate New Years 2012. Jazz Quarters is a ring of comfortable, private cottages and rooms, set around lush gardens, garlanded pathways, verandas and outdoor seating areas. Stepping inside was like stepping into one of the shadowed, gated tunnels leading to a distant garden you sometimes glimpse from the street in New Orleans.

Our cottage, Kermit, was well over one hundred years old, but thoroughly up to date with the modern amenities. The decoration and furniture were chosen with a meticulous eye, and the effect was warm and welcoming.

Jazz Quarters is located at the border of the festive French Quarter and Tremé, the heart of the New Orleans renaissance, and across the street from the newly reopened and renovated Louis Armstrong Park. The New Orleans experience it offers, therefore, is unique: you need not arrive with any plan whatsoever, except to set out in any direction and explore. That is what my wife and I did, and, with Vincent’s and Lola’s well-informed tips, and well-kept bicycles, the city kept us constantly surprised and never disappointed.

Vincent and Lola – our hosts – are what really set Jazz Quarters apart from the rest. Each of them has that kind of intuitive tact, grace and discretion that makes their guests feel immediately at home and at ease. They prepare hot, fresh, delicious breakfast in the local style for each guest, according to the guest’s particular morning schedule. And they went to astonishing lengths to accommodate my wife and me in every respect during our stay. In short, a stay at the Jazz Quarters provides the ideal combination of relaxation, culture and adventure that is impossible to find in any other city, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thanks, Steve, for that generous review.
Lola and I had a blast with the two of you.

All the best with your lovely wife and your new career, which will no doubt be a successful one.

We still think you should consider plying your trade in the fair city of New Orleans : )

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    40
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
75
307
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

celebrated our 44th anniversary with cozy, clean quarters and a yummy breakfast each of the two mornings....within walking distance of many French Quarter attractions....sure beats the "coldness" of some large hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeBetty705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that your anniversary was a memorable one.

Please come see us again,

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We always go to New Orleans for New Year's, but now we have a new place to stay! What a perfect venue. When we weren't eating or playing in the quarter (just a few steps away from the B&B), we were having our own private party in the beautiful courtyard. It was the perfect place for 4 couples to stay. Great location. So convenient to have on-site, secure parking. Appreciated having the mini-fridge, flat screen, WIFI, and coffee maker. Wonderful breakfast. Vincent and Lola were so gracious. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Connick was perfect for 2 couples. It has 2 bedrooms that share a bath. The Kermit is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CEvans56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed The Jazz Quarters.
Your group was a very merry one and it was a pleasure having all of you stay with us.

Lola and I hope you will come see us again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I planned this trip for my 40th birthday, and what an incredible experience! Between the gorgeous cottage, excellent breakfasts, and hosts Vincent and Lola, our long weekend couldn't have been better. Vincent is extremely gracious and knowledgeable about his city, whether you want to hang with the locals, or do all the touresty stuff. We stayed in the Louie Armstong and I could have lived there permanently, it was beautiful.

Room Tip: We were actually able to view three of the inn's rooms and they were equally pretty and elegant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi Lisa,

It is so good to hear from you.
You and J. were definitely memorable guests and I very much hope to see you two again.

How about cocktails at Tonique sometime in 2012 ?

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Jazz Quarters is ideally located for walking the Quarter but sleeping away from the noise, and it provides secure off-street parking, a big plus. The room we stayed in, “Trombone Shorty,” was spacious enough with two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, television and wifi, and was decorated in a comfortable New Orleans B&B style. The managers, Vincent and Lola, were excellent hosts—smart, very friendly but not intrusive, sophisticated yet totally unpretentious. Vincent takes care that breakfast is interesting and the conversation is lively. I highly recommend this place.
--Neil and Sue

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi Neil,

It has been a very, very long time since anyone called me sophisticated :) so thanks for making my day.
We are glad y'all had a good time.

Please come see us again.

Kind regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was my girlfriend and I's first stay at a B&B and her first time to New Orleans. Upon arival, Vincent was a true gentleman and gave us advice on where to go for the food and beverage experience we were looking for, and all of them were spot on. The room was even nicer than we had imagined, and the breakfasts were fantastic. Our experience was truly memorable, so much so that I made her my fiancee while we were there (guess that ensures us many return trips to the city I love and I will always stay at the Jazz Quarters). Many thanks to Vincent, Lola, Amy and the rest of the staff for making the Jazz Quarters everything a great B&B stay should be.
Location next to the beautiful Louis Armstrong Park is nice and right on the edge of the French Quarter, perfect for us, walking distance to most everything.

Room Tip: The White room looked excellent for the price, but the upgrade to the Armstrong was jaw dropping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi David,

How wonderful that you proposed to your girl while staying in our beloved New Orleans.
Amy, Lola and I wish y'all a lifetime of happiness.

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.

All the best,


Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I were in New Orleans to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were very excited to find the Jazz Quarters and were impressed by the abundance of good reviews. We were not disappointed. Our cottage - Kermit - was the perfect size for us. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. As mentioned by many other reviewers the breakfasts were delicious. Vincent & Lola were welcoming, friendly, and ever helpful. We would recommend the Jazz Quarters to any independent minded traveller, who is looking for a more homely experience, with much more space and character than you will find in most hotels. The free parking is an added bonus. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentLola, Manager at The New Orleans Jazz Quarters, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for the kind words.
It is always nice to get positive feedback from our guests, but it is especially pleasing when it comes from such an experienced traveler as yourself.
Please come see us again.

All the best,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,588 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Orleans Jazz Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Orleans Jazz Quarters

Property: The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
Address: 1129 Saint Philip St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Orleans Jazz Quarters 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters is ideally situated in the heart of all things New Orleans. Just steps from the famous French Quarter and next door to Armstrong National Jazz Park. New Orleans Jazz Quarters is a study in gracious southern appeal. Its charming brick courtyards with beautiful, well-established gardens are a perfect place to relax and plan the day's or relax at the end of the day. Our Creole cottages, some dating back to the early 1800's, suggest the allure of old New Orleans. Most have traditional high ceilings and antique furniture. In addition to our location, free wifi, another popular feature is our parking in our large gated parking lot, with secure access. ***New Orleans is a city where food brings people together there are now 2375 restaurants. We want our guests to experience and enjoy as many of these as possible. Unfortunately, we do not offer complimentary breakfast, as we are unable to run a restaurant at our facility. Our team will happily offer recommendations to area restaurants and in many cases discounts and coupons.*** We look forward to having you as a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The New Orleans Jazz Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing