We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oegstgeest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

During the so-called Jazz Fest in New Orleans my two daughters and I stayed for 4 days in this superb B&B. The owners were most friendly and also helpful in to show us 'how to go around' in this very interesting southern city. The interior design of the B&B was beautiful with lots of antiquities and memorabilia from abroad. The facility is spic and span, breakfast is lavish, sleeps are in silence. Most unusual for places to stay far from home is the here naturally present family-like atmosphere amongst the customers. All in all a great place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Dr. M,
Thank you for your heart warming review.It really make our day !!
WE are glad that you and your beautiful daughters enjoyed our city- 'NEW' New Orleans.
Hope to see you ALL again.
Best Regards,
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
124
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunwell England
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely spacious B&B, lovely friendly and very helpful hosts, good breakfasts, very comfortable beds. in a nice quiet and very safe neighbourhood, with good shops and resturants close by. We didnt have a car, but it is very easy to get the bus and streetcars, to downtown and just a 20 dollar cab ride back from the French Quarter at night. Not too far, but just far enough to get away for some peace and quiet!
We are so glad we choose Rose Manor for our first ever trip to New Orleans, and we will be back!
We would recommend Rose Manor to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray8pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed our city: New Orleans.
We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again SOON !!!
All the best,
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here with family from Liverpool and family & friends from Alabama for my wedding. We had 7 out of the 9 rooms and Ruby made us all feel welcomed! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the stay and the place was clean and quiet (with the exception of us!) She knew each one of us by name and had a wonderful breakfast for us in the mornings. It's quaint, lovely and I will stay there again!! Thank you Ruby for making my wedding special! Look forward to seeing yall again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you ,you MUSIC LOVERS !!
It was our pleasure to have you stayed with us and tell us of your wonderful adventures !!
Hope to see you 2014.
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

One of the most pleasant B & B's I've ever stayed at. Peter and Ruby are wonderful hosts who really know how to make you feel at home. My room was large and comfortable, and when you need somewhere else to relax there are two large sitting rooms downstairs. A great place to get just far enough away (but not too far) from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwan872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review for Rose Manor.
It always warm our hearts !!
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After spending 3 noisy (but still nice) nights right on Bourbon Street, it was great to spend a few quiet nights elsewhere. Peter & Ruby were great hosts at the Rose Manor. They were very knowledgeable of everything in and around New Orleans.

Breakfast was very good. Eggs, sausage, bacon, & waffles were all cooked to order. Cereals and pastries were also available.

They gave us great directions to the local trolley which we rode back into the French Quarter for the "French Quarter Festival". We knew driving would be gridlock, so this was a good option. The trolley was only $1.25 each way too!

Highway access was quick, and only 15 - 20 minutes from the French Quarter. We would highly recommend the Rose Manor!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice review.We are glad that you had a great time in New Orleans.Have a great year and see you in 2014 !!
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely time here on this beautiful home. Peter and Ruby were lovely and such good hosts who went the extra mile. Would recommend Rose Manor to anyone wanting to stay in New Orleans. Emma, NZ.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmarathbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your stay and kind review.We hope to see you again soon.
Ruby & Peter @ Rose Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times, and will keep coming back. Peter, Ruby and Mark are always warm and helpful. If you need tips on what to see or current events, they are always ready with an answer. From an iron to a nightcap, you will not lack for anything you need here.

The house is both beautiful and extremely comfortable; there is a magical balance of decor as fascinating as a museum, but it doesn't make me feel like I will break something at every turn.

This B&B is in a safe location, easy to get to when arriving in town, and it is easy to leave the city from here. There are good restaurants on the block, and of course, nothing is far away in New Orleans. If you know how to drive and park in New Orleans, you can get anywhere quickly from here. If you'd rather not, call a cab and you wont have to worry about a DD when NOLA gets you carried away; just don't forget to grab a business card on your way out to make the cab ride back a breeze.

For those unfamiliar with the city, this is a great way to step back from the French Quarter tourist traps and take notice of the whole beautiful city - make sure you visit different parts of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,232 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
514 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
658 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7214 Pontchartrain Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Manor has the elegance and decor of an English country house, but is situated near the Lake Pontchartrain,close to Southern Yacht Club, New Orleans Yacht Club,University of New Orleans,Jazz Fest,Voodoo Fest, City Park,New Orleans Museum of Art and only 15 minute drive to the New Orleans Convention Center,World War II museum,French Quarters and Cruise ship Terminals. Guests can enjoy the comforts of home and the great food and festivities of New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing