We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Into the Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Degas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Degas House
Ranked #59 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Step Into the Past”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Degas House last weekend with my family. For starters this is an amazingly beautiful property a few blocks north of the French Quarter on Esplanade. It is very easy to park and get around in this part of town. The Degas House is a beautiful mansion with 2 buildings and a gorgeous courtyard in-between. When you walk onto the property its like stepping back in time. Almost everything is period-specific and antique. When you go inside you're walking into a museum. Its really an overwhelming experience at first. The William Bell suite was amazing - beautiful furniture, a spacious balcony, a large kitchen, a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and a guest bedroom. It was basically a 1 bedroom apartment. The beds were lush and extremely comfortable with top of the line linen. I really enjoyed the balcony, which looks out over the courtyard, and the jacuzzi tub - which is great after walking around the French Quarter all day. Another amazing part of the experience was the breakfast. Each morning we were served a delicious hot breakfast - first omelets then authentic french toast. The breakfast room is a beautiful 1800's dining room. We really enjoyed talking with the other guests at breakfast. Our kids loved it - they said it was almost as good as our trip to Disney World last year!! The Degas House is an amazing property that I would highly advise for any traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_Joey_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    3
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
65
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Degas House for three nights. The William Bell Suite worked well for three of us. The facilities are more than adequate, but remember, this is a historic property (if you want a modern bathroom, this is not the place for you). The management was efficient and responsive. Breakfast was enjoyable, pleasant conversation with fellow travelers around the communal table, and the offerings each day was slightly different, always varied and filling - especially appreciated excellent French Toast, and a touch of spice on the eggs.
Esplanade is an elegant avenue with classic architecture. The highlight of being here was the Degas tour - full of new information, and accented by copies of that artist's body of work around the property.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are especially pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmallWorldJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Small World Journeys,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate all the kind words from our New England friends. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hot French Creole breakfast served daily and had the chance to experience the Degas House tour. We hope you have the chance to visit again soon. We look to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sometimes you don't get what you paid for, and this was definitely the case regarding my stay at the Degas house.
Location: This place is in a sketchy hood, and way too far to walk to the French Quarter or anywhere else. That leaves taking a cab for $10 bucks a pop including tip. This adds up. So to leave the house and come back once a day, that's $20 bucks a pop. It gets steep.
The neighborhood: Sketchy. Not centrally located.
The place itself: After reading the other reviews, I expected a charming place with lush furnishings, or at least for it to be clean. This house is falling apart. The walls are paint chipped. It is barely furnished. The courtyard smells like urine and has stray cats running around. The kitchen had mosquitos flying around.
I stayed in the desiree room. Spider webs on the lamps. The curtains were stained, the furniture chipped, I was also bitten by mosquitos, and woken up out of a dead sleep by street noise.
This place is super overpriced for what I got. Actually I called and compared prices, and it would have cost me the same amount of money to stay at one of the more centrally located hotels, with full amenities, and a pool.
Day two of my stay:
I told the manager that I was getting bitten by mosquitos and I was very unhappy, and was getting ripped off for the type of establishment they advertised, and what I received, which was a Victorian house decorated from furnishings from Crate and Barrel. He said he would spray the room.
Boy did he spray the room, it was sooo toxic, I couldn't breath, also the maid threw out my personal shampoo and conditioner, and failed to change the sheets or clean the dishes out of the room from breakfast. Again, I'm paying a lot of money to stay here, I expect them to at least pick up the dishes.
I ended up switching to the Estelle room, which was quieter. It had a TV from the 1980's and the remote control batteries were held together by scotch tape. This place is super ghetto, and a rip off, I wouldn't recommend it. Oh, and all the art hanging around the place are posters, not original paintings. What a scam and disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tatty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Unfortunately some people you just can't please no matter what you do. Where do I begin? The Edgar Degas House Museum Courtyard & Inn is located on the beautiful historic Esplanade Ave. in New Orleans,La. a very prominent area lined with beautiful majestic century old Oak trees . The French Quarter is only 11 blocks away .This is a cozy,charming historical Bed & Breakfast , not a Big Box Hotel Chain. The rooms are tastefully appointed with expensive and plush furnishings from a past historic era .There are many Degas prints in the house and of course the original Degas Paintings and sculptures that are worth millons are available for the public's viewing at the Louvre and the Musee d'orsay Museums in Paris France where Degas was born.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the Mathilde suite. It was very spacious and elegant. It was a great experience being able to stay in a period American home and one with a rich history. There's lots of copies of Degas' work around the house and plenty of information too about the artist and his family who lived there. It's in a quiet area and we enjoyed chilled wine on the balcony looking over the Esplanade in the evening. It also had a small kitchen which was handy too; the fridge chilled the wine! It's a few minutes drive from the French Quarter and parking outside the house was easy and free. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked; it is all cooked to order. We enjoyed the tour of the house which was very informative and interesting. All staff were friendly, well informed and helpful. It's a wonderful place to stay and would love to do so again. It fit the bill for all the family.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SPEL1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear from our international visitors. We take pride in our rich Southern history. We are glad everyone enjoyed the artwork and comforts of the Edgar Degas House. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here months back, but I must say it is much more of a memorable experience than staying in your standard hotel. The staff and owner were very personable and eager to make your stay enjoyable. The court yard breakfast was perfect as well as the history tour we took later of the property. Our room was smallish, but quaint. Remember, you are staying in a historical setting and the room fits the bill. All amenities otherwise were fine. I would say it's a good idea to have a car to be able and venture into the rest of the city - you may get lucky as we did and find parking in front on Esplanade. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqueducto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at the Edgar Degas House. It is our pleasure to make your stay a memorable one. Sometimes it is fun to be a tourist in your own town. Come back for our delicious breakfast anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Needed to stay in New Orleans overnight for a business trip and was looking for a place stay - not just a hotel room... The quiet evening and wonderful breakfast provided a recharging of the soul as well as the body! Next time I will spend more time here...

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BatonRouge-BajaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Edgar Degas House Museum Courtyard & Inn on your business trip. We are glad you found your stay quiet and relaxing. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and appreciate your kind words of encouragement .Our fresh hot French Creole Breakfast is served every morning with great care and consideration for our special guest. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

great location, rooms are very large, airy,delightful and if you can, get a room with a balcony overlooking esplanade avenue. the breakfasts were to die for (try the french toast) and everyone who works there is very nice and helpful. definately would stay here again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balcony overlooking esplanade ave. ab fab! we watched a marathon go by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your perfect review of the Edgar Degas House Museum Courtyard & Inn during your stay in New Orleans. We are so glad that you enjoyed our fresh homemade French Toast with our French Creole Breakfast that is served daily for our special guest. The rooms are very spacious and we are happy you had a balcony room overlooking the beautiful Oak trees along Historic Esplanade Ave. Please come and stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Five Continents Inn
#63 of 137 in New Orleans
158 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 137 in New Orleans
306 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 137 in New Orleans
161 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 137 in New Orleans
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Degas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Degas House

Property: Degas House
Address: 2306 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70119
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Degas House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House with guided tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue and for corporate functions. Degas House is also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We are in our 19th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Degas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Degas House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing