We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #92 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Value in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family and I stayed 3 nights at this Super 8 in New Orleans and found it to be one of the best values for the area. The front desk and the house keeping employees are extremely friendly and helpful and we could tell they wanted us to have the best experience possible. We had originally booked a double room for about $66 per night with our AAA discount, and then decided to call and upgrade to a room with a microwave and mini refrigerator for only $5.00 extra per night. Our room was clean and spacious and everything worked well including the television, lights, free wi-fi, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer and shower. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked great. The house keeping attendant, Cathy Smith, was very nice and made sure our room was clean and that we had everything we needed. We were on the 2nd floor and there is an elevator, however, most of the time we used the stairs. The hotel is located close to the interstate for easy access to any area in New Orleans which was great for us as we did travel to several plantations for tours, and a swamp tour as well as the French Quarter which was about 15 min. away. The front desk attendant gave my husband directions to a secure parking garage which was close to the French Quarter and we were able to park, walk down Canal Street and get to the French Quarter easily. The parking fee only cost $5.00. There is a gas station very close to the hotel that has a small grocery section for basic items and we did stop there twice to buy a few things, including fresh bananas and bottled water which was handy. The parking lot is well lighted at night and located right on the main street in front of the hotel. We could see the parking lot from our room, and the front desk is open 24 hrs a day so we felt secure. The free breakfast was satisfying including make-your-own waffles, assorted breads/muffins/cinnamon rolls, yogurt, fresh apples, dry cereals, instant oatmeal, apple and orange juice and coffee. The breakfast room is larger than most and seating was never a problem. We did use their fitness room which had a treadmill, elyptical and weight machine. The treadmill wouldn't turn on at first, and the front desk employee was very helpful in getting it to work for us. There was a television in the fitness room also. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay there again because it was clean, comfortable, had great service and location, and was a good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love-2-Travel3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    589
    275
    84
    47
See reviews for
457
455
99
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I from Scotland via Atlanta to visit New Orleans and my daughter. Having grown up in the south, I expected the same level of kindness and manners that I use. We received that and more. Ms Cathy made sure our rooms were always clean, straight, and welcoming for us when we returned from a hot day of sight seeing. Tira greeted us a smile and always asked how our day went. She's knowledgeable about Nola and helped us when asked. All in all, a very nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pondtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantine, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

When we pulled in, my wife said she wasn't staying there!! Rating for this hotel are good but I found out my wife assumed the deltoid acted motel next door was the same hotel. It wasn't. It was damaged in Katrina and never fixed up. The Super 8 is narrow and long and very OLD feeling. Room was good but.... The security doors that had signs stating they were locked at 11pm weren't We got all the
way to our room without using our keys from the rear of the hotel. I went to the front desk and no one was there (security door was not locked there either). Waiting 5 min. No one showed up at the desk So I went to my room. Told manager about the locks in the am. Female Evening desk clerk was very nice and helpful!!!! I'd say it was priced a bit high for what we got.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My room was enlightening..I enjoyed the convenience of the microwave, refrigerator,iron along with the board..
My housekeeper Ms Cathy Smith was very welcoming and kept the room extremely clean.She had a very good spirit..I will definitely visit this hotel again..and would love to have Ms. Cathy as the attendant..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cayenne504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the late evening and when Angela saw the difficulty I had walking she immediately got on her computer and changed our room to the front right above the office on the third floor. Our stay would not have been nearly as pleasant without Cathy S who took care of our room and even took the time to go from the laundry area to the front desk to get me some laundry detergent . Even the male clerk rushed to unlock the way so I didn't to go up a floor and down the hall then back down to the laundry room. Angela even suggested one of the best "diamond in the rough" restaurants Sassafras, who's bread pudding is to die for .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnElk092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I visited NO in mid July. We came to attend the Elks Convention that week. We couldn't have been more pleased with our double room, the cleanliness, and the very delightful housekeeper, who name is Cathy S. She was there for the duration of our stay, and was just super efficient, and was very timely in making up the room. She anticipated our needs and was friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Angela at the front desk was very friendly, always smiling and offering any assistance she could. When we checked in, she saw that my husband was using a walker, so she took the initiative to change our room location to the 3rd floor just above the desk, without being asked. We thought that very kind of her to do that for us.

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd fl up front, it had a large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I came to New Orleans to visit friends. We stayed in this hotel for three nights and I must say this Super 8 Hotel truly provided us with the best accommodation and service given its economy rates. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the complimentary continental breakfast was good, and the air-conditioning worked perfectly. Best of all the staff was very friendly, every ready to give us directions to places we wanted to go. Although the surrounding area was kind of run-down, the hotel premises itself was quite safe. We wholeheartedly recommend this place, as you will definitely "get the best bang for your buck".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chiqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#106 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#142 of 162 in New Orleans
2.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Property: Super 8 New Orleans
Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing