We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #97 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Orleans weekend”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I returned to New Orleans from a cruise recently and my only request was to eat at the Acme Oyster House, which is my favorite and the best restaurant in the world. It was exceptionally hot that day and we had the kids with us so we decided to start the drive home, but only after I vowed we would return this year. After much planning, we secured rooms at the Super 8 New Orleans on Chef Mentuer hwy. It was well priced,clean and nice but a little away from the French Quarter. Where we planned to dine and indulge in adult beverages. We cabbed it. The first night the line was long and we opted not to wait for Acme, even though it is worth it. The next day at lunch the line was shorter,15 minutes. The staff is always nice, but this time the waitress was a little slow with orders and drink. When the food came it was All better. Starting with a dozen oysters and Tabasco, the onto the sampler of gumbo, jambalaya, sausage and red beans and rice. Awesome! Then the fish and shrimp platter. Delicious!!! They quality of food is excellent. We literally drove 10 hours to eat there! Highly recommend you try Acme Oyster House. Put it on a bucket list. Its worth it. Oh yeah Bourbon Street is fun too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceplina801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    631
    289
    93
    54
See reviews for
488
484
105
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Before our Carnival Cruise, my friends and I spent two nights at this hotel. At first glance, I admit, I was worried because it was not in the well known part of New Orleans but after I checked in I was pleased with our choice. The staff was great and helped us find a good restaurant for dinner, book a tour for the next day and explained how to use the public transporation so we wouldn't have to worry about parking downtown. Every time we entered the lobby we were greeted with a smile. The housekeeper, Cathy Smith, was very friendly and greeted us and asked if we needed anything everytime we saw her in the halls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the architecture it would appear that this hotel had been plucked from the French Quarter
and placed in its less well known location. The reception staff are excellent, immediately
producing a printed downtown map and showing you the easiest drive to Canal Street, 10 minutes away on the Interstate. They marked out all the cheapest parking spots on the map. The
room was clean and very comfortable. A larger than the usual breakfast room helped as this appears to be a very popular hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

on the first week of October, the wife and I stayed at the Super 8 in New Orleans. The staff there was superb. They helped us with places to eat, tours, cab rides. one staff member by the name of Angela even helped us two weeks before in changing our reservations. this place believes in friendly service. great job!!! Debbie and Gary

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 163 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#86 of 163 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 163 in New Orleans
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#111 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Property: Super 8 New Orleans
Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing