We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“killofamily”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Waco, Texas
1 review
“killofamily”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel staff was wonderful! They were so helpful and friendly!! Cathy, who took care of our rooms was especially delightful and made our stay great. Tara was also very helpful. It was great being able to leave our car in their covered parking area while we went on our cruise and their shuttling us to the cruise terminal saved us quite a bit of money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    610
    284
    89
    52
See reviews for
473
468
104
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you want to enjoy your trip, DO NOT stay at this motel!!! One of the first things that happened to us after checking in, the bathroom ceiling started leaking. On looking for the source of the leak, the ceiling was bulging, so we had to move ourselves to another room down the hall.
That room smelled like urine and going barefoot on the carpet for 5 minutes made our soles black with dirt. The bedspread was stained with cigarette burns all over it, and the bathroom had stains on the floor, ceiling and tub. It was as dark as a dungeon, and the entire light fixture of the table light was broken. The door had to be slammed, pulled or otherwise used with force to even latch. Wi-Fi was promised, but getting any sort of signal was spotty at best, non existent as a norm.
It couldn't be in a worse part of town, we were nervous going out. It didn't help that the motel's OWN brochure warns you to make your own bed and keep valuables under the covers since the maids aren't allowed to unmake it if it is already made. Doesn't exactly give one a warm fuzzy. The high rise building directly next door is an abandoned eyesore which should be a prop for an apocalyptic movie. For free entertainment, you can watch the drug deals go down around the building or watch security lock the gates to the parking lot, reminescent of a prison.
Never, NEVER will we ever stay in a Super 8 again. A tent along the road will be more accomodating and comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Chris,
First of all I would like to thank you for writing your review about our hotel. We use all reviews as a training tool for our staff and management team. I have read your review and would like to address a few issues.
I have met with our housekeeping manager and we went through the room with the issues that you had. I apologizes about the carpet. We noticed a couple of small burnt holes in the comforter. But there was nothing wrong with the lamp. We also want to apologize for the inconvenience with the the WIFI.
In reference to the building next to us, we are working with the city as we speak.
As far as the Guest Information Card, I believe you have misread it. It states "If you make your own beds, housekeepers are not allowed to unmake them." Due to guest making up their own beds and leaving personal belongings underneath the bed cover; therefore, our housekeepers are not allowed to unmake them.
Last of all regarding the drug deals around the property, we do not allow this kind of activity on our property.
For the hotel looking like a prison, I am sorry that you felt that way. The hotel was built with a French Quarter style with Rod Iron gates.
We are very sorry that your stay wasn't a successful one, but I wish you would of brought this to our attention when they occurred. If you were not happy on your first night, we wouldn't want you to stay a second night.
Thank you

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for mardi gras this year and definately will be staying here next mardi gras. Its only a mile/exit away from bourbon street & all the action on a quiest street so you can rest peaceful after a long night of partying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrendsetaMPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We thought our service was excellent. The employees were friendly and gave us great tips on how to get around. We really liked out our cleaning lady Cathy. We liked the convenience of the location. I can only say the best things about the employees at the front desk, so helpful. It seemed like the continental breakfast could have had a little more, we did stay at several Super 8 this summer and some of them had hard boiled eggs and bagels. We were pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel based on previous reviews. I have to admit that I was skeptical when I arrived late at night because, like others mentioned, it is a bad neighborhood. The hotel itself was well-kepted and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would suggest parking in the rear since the gates are locked at night and the security guard is available all night. I felt safe while at the hotel and the customers where like us, budget conscious travelers who just needed a place to stay for a couple of nights. It is about 20 mins to the French Quarter and other popular areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank politetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. I said I was going to write a review and she gave me a large suite with a balcony! This is a very old Super 8 Motel in a bad neighborhood. On the up side, the parking area is gated with 24-hour security. The bed was hard, but the TV was old. The room was musty, but the A/C was adequate. The bathroom was clean, but old. It needs to be remodeled as the carpet is rippled and stained and the furniture looks like it was bought at Goodwill. The rate was fair, but not great at $79.00 @ night w/travel coupon. The rate during the week is $59.00 w/travel coupon. I couldn't find a room on short notice in New Orleans, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildbillwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
On behalf of our staff and management we would like to thank for sending in a review. We use all reviews as training tools for our staff and managers. Once again thank you.


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#112 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#141 of 162 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Property: Super 8 New Orleans
Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing