We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #92 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Ontario
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good stay, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Good location and close to downtown. It made our stay a good experience. We were able to park our bikes out front as to not worry about unwanted attention to then.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    589
    276
    84
    47
See reviews for
457
455
99
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here pre cruise. Greatest part is that you can stay and parking is free for cruise. Love that!!! Also, I felt comfortable with leaving my vehicle here security guard there the entire time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank nariana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I like staying here. The experience has almost always been enjoyable. I would like for the fee for a room to return to that of previous years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Recently, stayed at the Super 8 before leaving on a cruise and several nights pre-cruise. Room was adequate, nothing fancy, but clean and fairly quiet. Breakfast was decent, no protein, but dining area was clean with plenty to eat if you like carbs. Coffee was good. Public bus was available right across the street, with the ability to transfer downtown with some effort. We took the bus several days so we did not have to park near Bourbon Street. The city needs to improve its bus service as there was long waits at times up to an hour later at night. The staff was very helpful with any request we made, even making arrangements for transfer to the ship. The cost was about $8 per person for the transfer I think, or $32 for the 4 of us. We did our own taxi back and it was $30 with no traffic, so you might to check on a preset shuttle back with the Motel. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: top floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was in NOLA for a conference, and my room at my downtown hotel was overbooked, flight was delayed, and they filled my room when I got there at 2 am....I had no where to stay except for this Super 8...When I was told that I would be staying here I was feeling a bit sketchy about it....That is until I arrived at the hotel, and was greeted by Angela. She is amazing, friendly, and completely changed my nightmare. She made me feel comfortable, and was very helpful. The room itself (King Suite) was nice, for the cost. You could tell it was an older hotel, but it did the job, and I was happy with my experience. I am used to staying in 5 star hotels, and this could have been a lot worse, but looking back, I am very happy with my experience, and would suggest the old adage, "don't judge a book by it's cover."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
993 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,003 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mostly clean but worn out and shabby. People park their cars underneath the rooms so when people leave or park it can be heard in the rooms above. Noise level in the room was pretty high in general. People were coming and going at all hours and didn't work at being quiet. Some rooms are smokings so our room which was non-smoking still had an ashtray smell to it. It is not downtown -- about a 15 to 20 minute ride and then you need to find parking. The included "breakfast" was only juice, waffles, bread, and bananas. No eggs, fruit, etc. 8 nights with tax was about $920 which is a lot less than a hotel downtown. There is an abandoned building next door with a lot of homeless people there. One family was sleeping in a van at the back of the parking lot one night. Almost no food choices right around the hotel. I don't think I would stay there again. Room service was very good (thanks to our service person Cathy)!

Room Tip: Get up onto the third floor which reduces noise and is also a level that wasn't flooded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Inexpensive hotel with easy access to downtown. Terrible neighborhood with no restaurants other than a dirty Chinese place and fast food chains. Room was dark and dank. Towel rack and plumbing fixtures loose. Paint scrapes thruout. Plug had to be replaced. Main bath light flashed on and off. Breakfast very limited. Business center operational, but only 1 computer and it was not enough for fully occupied motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank leztar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#106 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#142 of 162 in New Orleans
2.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Property: Super 8 New Orleans
Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing