We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No fuss for great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #92 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No fuss for great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I want to start with saying what awesome, friendly and personable front staff this place has! EVERY time we entered the hotel during our 3 night stay, we were greeted warmly.
This place is average, but clean. The breakfast is your average fare (waffles, pastries, cereal, yogurt, juices).
Bed was comfortable, but had the thinnest worn sheets I've ever seen.
The area is a bit less than desirable and some fairly seedy people were walking the streets. There isn't anything to do within walking distance, so no need to walk in this neighborhood. We felt completely safe at all times, inside and while at car and on property.
If you want to save money, I do recommend staying here. It is right on highway and you can easily get around town.
Walls are thin and was noisy inside at all crazy hours. Signs need to be posted about some quiet hours!
We did not use any facilities while here, so I cannot rate those.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
On behalf of the staff and ownership, we would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and write a comment about our hotel. We like to use all the reviews to help us better our hotel and employees. I am so happy you had a great time with us during your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    589
    275
    84
    47
See reviews for
457
455
99
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
502 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

While the outside and hallways of this hotel certainly embody the New Orleans French Quarter style and charm, this particular location is in need of upgrading.

The decor of our room and the TV were certainly dated and the abandoned building (possibly another hotel) next door does help with the industrial look of the surrounding area.

I will say our bed was comfortable, the lobby was inviting, the front staff very polite, and the price was right for a short drive into the heart of New Orleans. If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter, drive out here for the night. If you want something where the family can enjoy and walk around the area, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
On behalf of our staff and management, we would like to thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We really enjoy when our guest gives us feedback, its helps us to improve in the areas that you feel we need to. I will send this review over to our owners for review about the upgrades and hopefully on your next trip some of them may be done. Thanks


Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just got back from watching a couple of Mardi Gras parades in New Orleans. Was going to book downtown, but after seeing what the prices were along with what the downtown hotels charge for parking we decided to try the Super 8 - after reading the reviews. We were not disappointed! The lady that was cleaning the rooms (Cathy) was exceptional! We were treated like family. Only about 8 miles into the French quarter made it a very easy drive, and parking with in and out privledges for $20 per day downtown made it cheaper than what the downtown hotels were charging. The continental breakfast served at Super 8 is basic but good. The hotel was fully booked with just regular travelers and all very pleasant. Yes, it's in an industrial area, but that never presented any problems. Would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWConroeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
On behalf of the staff and ownership, we would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and write a comment about our hotel. We like to use all the reviews to help us better our hotel and employees. I am so happy you had a great time with us during your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The floors were very tacky, turned feet and our socks black. There was dirt and shingle pieces blowing out of the air vent, And it smelled musty and moldy. Would NEVER stay here again. It's not located in a good area. We watched 2 homeless men come out of the abandoned building riight next to the super.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. On behalf of our staff and management, we strive to make sure all our guest are taken care of. Just to inform you and our future guest our hotel is in a very safe area. No its not the French Quarter, but we are very safe. The building next door, it has been secured and no one is in the building. And for our rooms, we wish you would of contacted the Front Desk with any issues at that time we would of taken care of the problem on the spot. Once again thank you for sending in your review and we thank you for staying at Super 8 and we hope you can give us another try.

Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great value for your money! The hotel was clean, decent breakfast and great customer service! We were particularly fond of the lady who worked the 3-11 shift whose name we can't remember! She provided us with all the info we needed from bus routes to cuisine and places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Director of Sales at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
On behalf of Super 8 staff, I would like to thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. The staff and management reads all reviews and uses them as training tools. We strive to make sure all our guest are satisfied upon departure. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.


Thanks

Kenneth Matherne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#106 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#142 of 162 in New Orleans
2.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Property: Super 8 New Orleans
Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing