We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 New Orleans
Ranked #97 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Super 8 while visiting New Orleans. We had stayed downtown near Bourbon St in the past but most places downtown have valet parking which you must pay extra for above the hotel rate. We wanted a place where we would have easy access to our car as we also planned on some day trips. Plus we didn't want to spend a fortune on hotel when it's really just a bed and a shower - most of our time is spent outside of the hotel.

The hotel was a great location with easy access to I-10. We did go downtown on several occasions and it was about a 10 minute drive. There are a few lots near Riverwalk that have an early bird special of $8.00 per day (in by 9am out after 2pm but before 8pm) so we drove rather than taking a cab.

The neighbourhood around the hotel is a little sketchy and doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants. That was a concern when booking the hotel but in the end it turned out to be a non-issue. They do have plenty of parking in the back and there is a security guard in the evenings.

The hotel itself is old but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a fridge but no microwave. As we would be there for an extended period of time we asked for a micro which they brought to our room (at no charge) within a few minutes. WiFi in our room worked great.

The breakfast included cereal, waffles, honeybuns, bananas and beverages. Nothing fancy but it sufficed.

So for $55.00 a night it was great value while visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dutchie33,

Thank you for sending in a review about our hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing Super 8 New Orleans for your hotel accommodations. Please remember us on your next trip to New Orleans. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.



Kenneth Matherne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel met all expectations and was well representative of a Super 8 motel. The staff was most helpful and made arrangements for us to travel to the French Quarter--Easy--Fast and quite reasonable inm price--About $20 each way by cab.
Breakfaqst was hot and ready well on time and as mentioned before the hotel met all expectations of a super 8 chain motel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Terry,

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to thank you for taking the time and sending in a review about our hotel. We strive to make sure all our guest have a pleasant stay with us. Once again thank you and Happy New Year.

Kenneth Matherne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

What an absolute pleasant surprise! I've booked many hotels around this price range and always worry about what horrors I'll be facing once I enter my room. This hotel by far exceeded my expectations. The staff is friendly, and except for a few cosmetic issues with the room (it's an old hotel, so I didn't expect perfection) the room was excellent. Clean, bug free, and mildew free; three traits difficult to find all at once in a hotel around this price range! If my itinerary has me staying in the New Orleans area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel every visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank KEITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Mr. Keith,

Thank you for sending in a review for our hotel. Our staff works really hard to make sure all our guest have a great experience. Thank you and Happy New Year


Kenneth Matherne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank JEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The staffs are very nice and always have a smile on their faces. The location of the hotel is very good. It is close to gas stations and I-10. It takes 10 minutes driving to downtown. The environment around the hotel is quite safe. I parked my car inside the hotel and I feel very comfortable about that. I would definitely stay here again in my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen-Jung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Mr. Yen,

On behalf of Super 8, we would like to thank you for sending in a review about the hotel. We are so happy that you had a great time at our hotel. Please come back soon and Happy New Year.

Kenneth Matherne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JimG68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8NO, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#117 of 166 in New Orleans
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
629 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#140 of 166 in New Orleans
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 New Orleans

Address: 6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $66 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, Business District, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Super 8 offers Free Parking, breakfast, Wireless Internet, Fitness and Business Center. Enjoy our wonderful outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Super Eight New Orleans
New Orleans Super 8
New Orleans Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing