We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel!”
Review of Inn on Ursulines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on Ursulines
Ranked #51 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful room in a great location! You have to park a bit away but it's worth it. The staff was very accommodating and kind. The rooms aren't overly spacious but who really goes to New Orleans to stay in their room the whole time? I highly recommend this hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Ursulines, but would return upon your next trip to New Orleans! Our sister property, the Lamothe House, offers parking directly behind the hotel, should you be interested in staying somewhere with closer parking accommodations next time. It also boasts a swimming pool and lush courtyard. None the less, we are thrilled to hear that you found your stay to be so "outstanding" and look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Service and cleanliness here were really awesome. The bed was really comfortable. The location is really great- it is quiet; yet very close to the action- 2 blocks to Frenchman street, 2 blocks to Bourbon street, and about 4 blocks to the streetcar. The price was really decent too. Also there were nice places to sit the in the courtyard and a jacuzzi. We didn't have a problem with lack of A/C like other reviewers.

A couple of problems prevent this from being a 5 star experience: first, we didn't know that their parking lot for $20/day was full so our parking situation was pretty terrible (we drove to NOLA). It was a festival weekend. There weren't any other lots in French quarter, so we were left to move the car every 2 hours and then we could leave it 7pm-7am. The other thing was that a few of the other people staying at our resort were really loud (shouting, ice chest door slamming) at all hours. Once again it's hard to discern if this is because it's a festival weekend.

Room Tip: 2nd floor might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us over the Fourth of July holiday weekend. You are correct in noting that New Orleans, in general, can be a bit louder and festive during holiday / festival weekends. That being said, we do our best to manage any excessive noise that may be caused by guests who are staying at our property. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our private courtyard and jacuzzi and found your guestroom accommodations to be so comfortable. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to parking, as our lot does tend to fill up much quicker during holiday and festival weekends. Unfortunately parking is at a premium in New Orleans and we do our best to assist in finding alternative parking options for our guests, in the event that our lot is full (as it was when you were staying with us). Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Inn is located in a quiet street in between crazy Bourbon St. and Royal St. with its beautiful stores. It is a small quaint hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. This is a very old building so take that into consideration. What some call "charm" others will consider just old. I found the building to be very charming. The a/c worked fine in the room but the bathroom was very hot. We stayed in the second floor and the stairs were kind of steep so I would prefer a first floor room next time. We were there for 3 nights and all the personnel we met was friendly and kind. Perfect location and great price!

Room Tip: I would have preferred a first floor room that faces the courtyard since the stairs are steep and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Ursulines and found our prices and location to be so great! As the Inn on Ursulines is a historic property it does have a lot of charm, as you mentioned. However, all of our guestrooms are newly renovated and provide all of the upgraded amenities one would find in a larger chain hotel (that would most likely be lacking that charm). We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to Nola!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in room 13 which is up some narrow stairs so beware if you have big heavy bags. Room was small but bed comfortable. It was very warm when I stayed. The a/C was adequate in the sleeping area, but the bathroom was extremely hot like a sauna. The best thing is the location within easy walking of French Quarter, and it's period charm. Good price for the location. Desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you felt the Inn on Ursulines was a great value and also enjoyed our prime location! We hope to see you again upon your next visit to Nola!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location, we had room no three on the ground floor opening on to courtyard the room was very nice bed and pillow quality great. The shower could have been larger but adequate . The maid may and the rest of the staff were very nice.
Everything in walking distance, all in all a great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank playford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are thrilled to hear your stay at the Inn on Ursulines was so great! It sounds like we hit all the right points from your comfortable guest room to our nice and helpful staff. Thank you again for the kind remarks and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses upon your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Inn and overall were very pleased. The location is perfect – close enough to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter but far enough away to not be bothered by the noise. We had a first floor interior room which was nice. Only problem was that the air conditioning wasn’t working. Carrie Sue did everything she could to supply fans and gave us a nice discount upon leaving. Thankfully the weather was 5-10 degrees cooler than normal for the time of year. Assuming they improve the a/c to cover all the rooms for warmer days we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an interior room. 2nd floor if available but we didn't hear any other gue...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GeneBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on Ursulines with us and others on TripAdvisor. Aside from the issue with your A/C unit, which has since been fixed, it sounds like you enjoyed your time at the Inn on Ursulines as well as in Nola! We are pleased to hear Carrie Sue was able to make your stay as comfortable as possible and adjust your bill prior to check-out. We hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to New Orleans, as we are sure your stay will be nothing short of excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked this stay strickly from the website photo's and we all know that can be tricky. I was wonderfully surprised that the place exceeded my expectations. Check in was easy, room was confortable and location was perfect. We could walk a couple of minutes to Bourbon St action, but we were far enough away not to have the late night noise. It's a quick walk over to Frenchmen St. to catch real blues music and just a couple blocks from French Market. Hot tub was a nice touch after a full day of walking around town and a full night of blues music.

Room Tip: All rooms are within a courtyard. Not a lot of extra space to put things. No place to set a suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetirementBound2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on Ursulines, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that the Inn on Ursulines exceeded your expectations, especially after basing your reservation off of our website photos! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the great amenities we have to offer, such as our hot tub located in our courtyard. You also mentioned our great location, as we are in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter, just minutes from all the great gems of Nola! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 166 in New Orleans
599 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#39 of 166 in New Orleans
816 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,708 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Ursulines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ursulines

Address: 708 Ursulines, New Orleans, LA 70116-2716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $110 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Ursulines 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally constructed in the 1700's, the Inn on Ursulines is one of the oldest structures in the French Quarter. Located between the famed Royal and Bourbon streets, this traditional Creole Cottage was once owned by Marie Laveau, who operated it as a guest house for travelers to the city seeking her services.While the smallest of the French Quarter Guest Houses group of boutique hotels, the Inn on Ursulines, and each of its 15 guest rooms, has been carefully restored to showcase the property's everlasting charm.Engrossed in the property's rich history and architecture are guest rooms providing today's traveler the comfort and modern conveniences expected of a great hotel. Our inviting courtyard is your personal sanctuary from the ongoing thrill that is the New Orleans experience. With both location and comfort, the Inn on Ursulines is the perfect home base for your next authentic French Quarter adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on Ursulines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ursuline Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing