We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Memorable Stay?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed August 6, 2007

The home page reads "Our staff of friendly professionals will make sure that your stay in New Orleans is truly memorable."
I took my fiancee to this hotel as an overnight get away for just the two of us. The room itself was relatively clean but don't be fooled by "Jacuzzi tub" as it is not as luxirious as it sounds. A regular tub with jets is more like it. Also very old and dirty. Otherwise the room itself was adequate. The "friendly and professional staff" was something entirely different. We took a stroll through the french market the next morning and came back to find the maid in our room with "the do not disturb" sign in place. She said she thought we checked out and then stated "don't mess up my bed cause I just made it." Minutes later a rude employee from the front desk said he was charging us another day or to get out . The website lists a feature of 24 hr check in/out but that is not accurate. We were not told we had to check out by noon or we would be thrown out or charged more. Basically for $140.00 you get about a half days stay at this hotel. Can't check in before 3pm and have to be out by noon. 24 hours? I am from New Orleans so please do not allow this Hotel to show you southern hospitality as they don't have it. If you want an experience you won't forget but want to forget then stay here. For us it will be "Truly memorable" but not for reasons the Hotel will wants us to remember!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RO9S13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2007

We booked a 1 bedroom for a week in July 2007. The room was well kept and had enough space for 2 adults and an active toddler. We were able to watch tv and relax in our bedroom after we put the baby to sleep in the living room. The living room was large enough so that we could set up our portable crib in the corner. Hotel de la Monnaie is right off the French Quarter and close to the street car line. It has a nice wading pool and a deck off the second floor where you can look out on the street. There are 2 courtyards that add nice local flavor to the hotel. The suite also had a small kitchenette- and there are several small grocery and liquor stores near by to stock up. I would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wanttotravelIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We stayed at Hotel de la Monnaie for a week. The hotel and staff was fantastic! The second floor, with it's garden atrium, balcony, and "wading" pool, was so pretty to come back to each day. The reviews I read did not do the hotel justice. When we go back to New Orleans, this will be the place we'll stay. Location was the best in NO! Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Just can't say enough good things about this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanaNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

fantastic location, steps from the streetcar and the great little shops on decatur.

the property itself really needs overhauled. furniture is old and broken down (except for the bed - nice mattress) and the bath is in dire need of updating. dirty, cracked, stained tub, barely enough water pressure for a decent shower (though this may not be their fault)

the staff was generally polite with a few unhelpful exceptions. i did not expereince a staff that goes out of their way to enhance my stay, like other travellers.

whether you're time-sharing or not, you can do better than this hotel. it was not a nice place to stay at all.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NanKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We booked this hotel through RCI. There were usual problems with an old hotel, but the employees went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. The owner even loaned me his old walking cane due to some problems I was having with a bad knee. When I couldn't easily get into the tub/shower, they provided a step stool. When lights were out, they replaced them immediately. This is not a glitzy hotel, but if you're willing to enjoy the ambience of "old N.O." then this might be perfect. We were across the street from the trolley stop which was convenient and fun. We didn't even rent a car to get around and never missed it.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank vapetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tallahassee, FL
18
Reviewed June 21, 2006

Location, location, location! This hotel has it all: nice rooms, wonderful staff, lovely common areas, many free conveniences (wifi, coin washer/dryer, 24 hour conceriege, free parking) but mostly this is a wonderful "home base" while you are visiting. Walk out the front door and within a block you can be at the French Market, in the Quarter, or in the awesome & quaint "Frenchman Street" area. I highly recommend you look into staying here for your next visit to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed March 5, 2006

Hotel de la Monaie is part of the old Federal mint located on the edge of the French Quarter in New Orleans. It's a small hotel, but the suites (yes, suites, not rooms) are impressive and the rates are right in line with the rest of the French Quarter (better actually when you consider that you are getting a suite for the same money other places charge for a room). The hotel was not damaged in any way during Hurricane Katrina and has been re-opened for business since late November 2005.
The location is ideal. You may participate in as much or as little of the French Quarter as you want. And, at the end of the evening, it's a quiet retreat where the over-zealous party go-er can get plenty of sleep.
The staff is outstanding. During Katrina, the concierge (Susan Doucette)oversaw the safety of the staff (most of whom lost their homes in the 9th Ward and evacuated to the Hotel)and the safety of the few foolish out-of-towners who decided to "ride out the storm" without realizing that they were putting others in harms way -- not just themselves.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
968 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,074 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#131 of 166 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing