We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the character of the French Quarter”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I had read a few reviews of this hotel and some folks made comments that it needed to be updated. Not at all, it is an older hotel that has the charm and character of the French Quarter. Really friendly employees. Nice courtyard in the center of the hotel. Free internet service that wasn't slow and worked well throughout the facility. The rooms are 1 & 2 bedroom suites and were really nice. I didn't find the mattress too hard either as some previous reviewers had said. We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Only downside: it was too hot in the small exercise room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s2pigeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

Hotel was clean & comfortable. The Staff was EXCELLENT. Located by the F.Q., & very interesting places to eat in the immediatet areaAREA. Easy access to many things to do...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajalvaro2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed here for a week and found it to be the perfect location to explore the French Market, French Quarter and the trendy Faubourg Marigny section of town. The room was well appointed and offered value for the cost. Sure, it is not a deluxe hotel but it was homey and friendly. In fact, Mr. Donald Griffin, one of the front desk concierges made our stay fun by offering interesting and well-thought out attractions and restaurants. The parking lot was small but we always found space in or near the hotel.
A couple of times, we decided to use the trolley that runs along the river since the last stop is near the hotel. It dropped us off near the River Walk, Aquarium, casino and back at the hotel. This is a huge convenience since there was no parking issues (and cost) to worry about if you are traveling to that part of the Quarter. The hotel can stand to upgrade some amenities but, once again, if you are looking for value on the other side of the Quarter, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We went to this hotel with my son and daughter-in-law, via their time share. We found the hotel to be quiet and clean, with a staff that goes "above and beyond" and made our stay wonderful! The day we checked in, we found there was a problem with the sofa bed in our suite. The manager took care of us immediately, and ended up giving us a 2nd suite for our stay. You couldn't ask for more than that! We loved that the hotel was on the outskirts of the French Quarter, so while everything was in walking distance, the hotel was quiet and peaceful. We all really enjoyed the our time in New Orleans, and would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinitee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very friendly and helpful Staff. Close to the River Front Street Car.
Get there early for an inside parking spot in the garage.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finlay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Born New Orleanian now on Northshore stayed at Hotel de la Monnaie during Mardi Gras 2008 and had a fabulous time, hotel and staff were great. Had to park behind building in lot on Esplanade, but it was inexpensive and short walk. Hope to stay there again this Mardi Gras 2009. Recommended to everyone I know. The interior courtyard and balconies are great. The guests were great, all ages. The 1 bedroom suite we had was great with great views.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintSaTionAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I grew up in the Bywater neighborhood of New Orleans, but have long since moved to DC. When I come home I always stay at the De La Monnaie because it's right between the Quarters and the Marigny. Free parking is rare, and even though the rooms are too small for 6, there's more than ample room for 2-4 people. I always recommend DLM to those who want to experience NOLA and not spend their entire vacation swilling hand grenades and passing out with the gutter punks in Jackson Square!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoshuaLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
968 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,074 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#131 of 166 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing