We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Monnaie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This is an older building, very quaint and comfortable. Location is excellent as its across from a transit stop and a block from the beginning of the French Market. We comfortably walked to all of our destinations. The only negative to staying here is the 30 gal water heaters for ea unit. need to plan accordingly if you want to take advantage of the jacuzzi tub :) we would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dms6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
70
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After going to New Orleans we discovered this timeshare on Esplanade steps from the French Market!!! When going for just an afternoon we parked in parking lot behind and walked right past until we stopped to get brochure. We were afraid it was pricey!!! Not so and they have underground parking and each room has a suite with small kitchenette!!! All rooms are interior with courtyard effect!!! They also have workout room!! Rooms are clean and quiet from street noise!!! Believe it or not the hideabed is actually tolerable. We go to hospital at Ochsner and discovered a route down Esplanade to Carollton that is a straight shot. I recommend!!!!

Room Tip: I do believe they have two bedrooms also and this would be great for international guests!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The resorts proximity to the trolley station is the only positive thing I can say. This hotel is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. The room is soo small for four people I can't imagine having six people. The bedrooms rooms are so tiny and the full size beds are hard. I understand that a room should be the place where you sleep and shower but this room didn't even offer that. The bathroom was large enough but the jacuzzi was so dirty I can't imagine anyone wanting to take a bath. The kitchette was so small you could practically cook on the stove and brush your teeth in the bathroom at the same time. The furniture in the living room was so old and worn down that it wasn't comfortable. The couch was so bad we didn't even use the pullout bed. And finally the bar next to the hotel made a bad situation even worst. The bass was so loud that you cold hear things shaking all around. And the music played until 5am!! We didn't get a good restful night sleep the entire stay. It was so bad that I went to another hotel to get a room. This resort will make me rethink using the timeshare again and that's so sad since we pay so much to own a timeshare and the maintenance fee but you don't get your money's worth. I honestly feel cheated because I didn't get the room or experience I paid so much for. This resort shouldn't be offered until they can get the rooms updated and the music turned down.

Room Tip: Don't choose this room!! Unless you are a super super hard sleeper because the bass from the mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kendall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a trip to New Orleans 11/20/2013 and stay at Hotel de La Monnaie Room 308. The 3rd floor location. The location is great right on the border between the French Quarter and the Marigny. My wife and I was suppose to stay 7 nights but we cut it short by 3 nights. THe master bed is too small and very uncomfortable. The place smell OLD. The T.V. clock, electronics are OUT-DATED. Need new electronic throughtout the 2 bedrooms. The T.V in the master is a 15 inch. ( TOO SMALL)
This hotel is BELOW my standards.
I owe 3 different timeshares and this is my worst exchange to date. This is NOT a FOUR STAR MOTEL listing.

BEWARE !!!!

Room Tip: TRY any other TIMESHARE BUT THIS !!! Select aother location with more new furinture, electronics and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloydmbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are looking to experience the French Quarter in New Orleans....this is the place to be! It is in the heart of the French Quarter. If you like to be near real Jazz clubs...stay here. We love the private setting...with Quaint surroundings and Beautiful Architecture. If you are looking for modern hotels...with big swimming pools & fitness centers ....then go to a chain hotel! This is true New Orleans Style. Small pool....but nice rooms with kitchenettes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near second or third floor balcony area. When there is a street festival, you can si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YJHCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved it. As others have said, it is the location, the helpfullness of the staff, the charming decor and it is extremely quiet. on the Esplanade side. We prefer it to a big, fancy hotel any day. The kitchen is small, but it was adequate for simple breakfasts, sandwiches, and warming up leftovers from restaurants..The hotel arranged pickups for tours and we took the red line just across the street to everywhere we could not walk to. We will return. N. Ballard

Room Tip: We were in either 206 or 207--a 1 BR
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 21yearworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This little hotel is just a perfect place. Not fancy and not modern But comfortable and friendly and helpful staff. Plus it is just a few blocks from the heart of the French Quarter. And the price can't be beat

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmdskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#123 of 162 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Avenue Plaza Resort
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Property: Hotel de la Monnaie
Address: 405 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2075
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing