We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in New Orleans”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Frenchmen St, the Quarter, the French Market, riverfront, streetcar, and a straight shot out Esplanade to City Park and fairgrounds street parking. We found the garage often full but street parking is available in the Faubourg Marigny, a rapidly hipsterifying neighborhood bordered by Frenchmen St.. Surprisingly quiet for its location. Pleasant verandah accessible from the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: The units ending in 13 are the weirdest layout of a condo (though oddly functional) you will ever se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snakefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, great location, free parking, more than adequate kitchenette, even a small swimming pool (did not use). Inexpensive restaurants and grocery and wine stores within easy walking distance. Adjacent to French Quarter and a stone's throw from the jazz venues on Frenchman Street. 1/2 block from streetcar stop and French market. It is somewhat dated and the AC was noisy, but for the price, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nothing overly amazing about this hotel. Rooms were a tad on the outdated side, but I believe that is the "vibe" the hotel is striving for. Free parking was a nice plus, but the main thing about this hotel...LOCATION!!!

1/2 block from the trolley station, which will take you ALL over the city. 1 block from the flea market. 1 block from Frenchmen Street, TONS of killer restaurants and great jazz bars. Nothing insanely wild, but def a great chill place to have some drinks, relax, and hear some great jazz. Especially great if you are not into the whole clubbing scene.

Kitchen was standard, jacuzzi tub in bathroom, pool was actually quite interesting...It was located on 2nd floor, with a cool fountain in it with palm trees all around it. But there was no roof or anything, so was actually pretty cool hanging out in there at night.

Only negative I will throw out there, we went with my wife's parents, so naturally they had the bedroom and we were on the sofa sleeper. Thing was not what most would consider comfy, but we made it.

Stop worrying and book this hotel, you will not be let down!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Within walking distance of the French Quarter. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. It's an older hotel, but the room was very clean. It had a jacuzzi tub, two tv's and a small kitchen. Both the bed and sofa bed were comfortable.The air conditioner worked great. There is a trolley station across the street. We did not have any trouble with parking or hot water. We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faye1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located at the river's end on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, you are right across the street from the old U.S. Mint and Farmer's Market/old Slave Market, and to the left is the Red Trolley (over the wall) that you can take all the way to Harrah's or stop in-between. (The Red Trolley is not the same as the streetcar.)
(Exact change $1.25 good for 2 hours.)
To your right looking towards Esplanade is Frenchman Street (walk over to the Fire Station and you'll see it).. cool restaurants and great night music!
If you get tired, retreat to the large balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue and enjoy a berverage. Easy to meet other friendly travelers there.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 15 are stunning due to a glass wall overlooking the courtyard. The front bedroom win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is hotel is perfectly located in the French Quarter. It is within walking distance to everything that you want to do in the area but far enough so that it is relatively quiet. It's an older hotel but quite charming.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YVR_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had the best stay at Hotel de la Monnaie! It is close enough to the French Quarter, yet removed enough to be peaceful! Close to Frenchman Street and the French Market.

The room was a one bedroom with a living room, and galley style kitchen. Perfect for morning coffee and cereal.

The balconies overlooking the courtyard an wading pool were very nice, and gave my husband a place to smoke conveniently outside.

The staff, especially Camille, was very helpful, especially arranging a bus tour for us.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to NOLA!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, so we had a great view of the city, and even the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDriftWoods24477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 166 in New Orleans
968 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,075 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#130 of 166 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,704 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing