We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet, beautiful, reasonable!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, quiet, beautiful, reasonable!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located at the river's end on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, you are right across the street from the old U.S. Mint and Farmer's Market/old Slave Market, and to the left is the Red Trolley (over the wall) that you can take all the way to Harrah's or stop in-between. (The Red Trolley is not the same as the streetcar.)
(Exact change $1.25 good for 2 hours.)
To your right looking towards Esplanade is Frenchman Street (walk over to the Fire Station and you'll see it).. cool restaurants and great night music!
If you get tired, retreat to the large balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue and enjoy a berverage. Easy to meet other friendly travelers there.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 15 are stunning due to a glass wall overlooking the courtyard. The front bedroom win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
46
76
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is hotel is perfectly located in the French Quarter. It is within walking distance to everything that you want to do in the area but far enough so that it is relatively quiet. It's an older hotel but quite charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YVR_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had the best stay at Hotel de la Monnaie! It is close enough to the French Quarter, yet removed enough to be peaceful! Close to Frenchman Street and the French Market.

The room was a one bedroom with a living room, and galley style kitchen. Perfect for morning coffee and cereal.

The balconies overlooking the courtyard an wading pool were very nice, and gave my husband a place to smoke conveniently outside.

The staff, especially Camille, was very helpful, especially arranging a bus tour for us.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to NOLA!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, so we had a great view of the city, and even the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDriftWoods24477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the week of June 22, 2012. We had a 2 bedroom unit on the 5th floor which was very nice. It is on the outskirts of the French Quarter, an ideal location traveling with kids, no loud partying outside at night. The trolley is basicly across the street & the French Market a 2 minute walk. Plenty of options for meals/music in the area. I was worried that I had made a mistake bring an 11 & 12 year old to New Orleans, no reason to worry- it is very family friendly! The hotel pool looks really small in the photos they have online, but it wasn't bad. The kids were able to swim in it & enjoyed it. Free parking in the basement of the hotel was a definite plus! Front Desk staff were very helpful & HK staff were very good. I left a fleece throw blanket behind & called to see if it was found, they offered to mail it back to me free of charge which I thought was very nice. If I head back to New Orleans in the future will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This quiet lil hotel is walking distance to the action of the French Quarter, but has a small community feel. It is one block from the Farmers Market, one block from Frenchman street with local Jazz clubs. This hotel is our favorite, must stay place, prices are reasonable, and the rooms are a decent size with a living room, kitchen and bedroom, 1 - 2 bedrooms. Inside terrace overlooking fountain or pool, you really feel safe and secure! They also have off street parking free for guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

No upgrades on furniture or electronics...small rooms..Bath not recommended for elderly or disabled

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Like just about every other review has said, this location is great. This was our first trip to New Orleans and we had no idea what to expect - how far the hotel would be from where we wanted to visit, etc., and were very happily surprised. We arrived about 4 hours before check in and since our room was ready they let us check in. That truly allowed us to start our vacation the morning we arrived. We booked this as an exchange through Interval. The room was a 1 Br unit on the front of the building which was very quiet. The only noise we could hear inside was the occasional train going along the river. The rooms are not super large, but very clean and comfortable. Queen size bed in the bdrms with good closet and dresser storage, small sofa, table and chairs in the living room. The bath was kept very clean and the toiletries were of nice quality. The kitchenette is small but functional and had adequate glasses, etc. Ice manchine on each floor is very convenient. We loved the balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking Esplanade. At night you can hear music from the local clubs and relax with your drinks, there was seldom more than 2 other guests, if any, out there. There are also "inside" balconies" outside each room that are really kind of neat with tables and chairs. These open atrium type hallways look down at the little splash pool or a garden. There is also a nice excercise room in the hotel. The walk to the French Market was about 3 minutes long, about the same to the streetcar stop. With the exception of one employee who took nasty to a whole new level, the staff is super nice and helpful. Housekeeping kept the room tidy and were quick to get you something you may need. If you want super fancy accomodations in the middle of the bars this may not be for you. But if you want clean, comfortable rooms with a great location I would not recommend anything else. If we return to NOLA, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Esplanade were quiet. Rooms toward the back (ie: 400, 401) may be noisier with clubs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wlk902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 163 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 163 in New Orleans
1,008 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#130 of 163 in New Orleans
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#99 of 163 in New Orleans
375 reviews
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Property: Hotel de la Monnaie
Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing