We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location for your visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Monnaie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #120 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect location for your visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Like just about every other review has said, this location is great. This was our first trip to New Orleans and we had no idea what to expect - how far the hotel would be from where we wanted to visit, etc., and were very happily surprised. We arrived about 4 hours before check in and since our room was ready they let us check in. That truly allowed us to start our vacation the morning we arrived. We booked this as an exchange through Interval. The room was a 1 Br unit on the front of the building which was very quiet. The only noise we could hear inside was the occasional train going along the river. The rooms are not super large, but very clean and comfortable. Queen size bed in the bdrms with good closet and dresser storage, small sofa, table and chairs in the living room. The bath was kept very clean and the toiletries were of nice quality. The kitchenette is small but functional and had adequate glasses, etc. Ice manchine on each floor is very convenient. We loved the balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking Esplanade. At night you can hear music from the local clubs and relax with your drinks, there was seldom more than 2 other guests, if any, out there. There are also "inside" balconies" outside each room that are really kind of neat with tables and chairs. These open atrium type hallways look down at the little splash pool or a garden. There is also a nice excercise room in the hotel. The walk to the French Market was about 3 minutes long, about the same to the streetcar stop. With the exception of one employee who took nasty to a whole new level, the staff is super nice and helpful. Housekeeping kept the room tidy and were quick to get you something you may need. If you want super fancy accomodations in the middle of the bars this may not be for you. But if you want clean, comfortable rooms with a great location I would not recommend anything else. If we return to NOLA, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Esplanade were quiet. Rooms toward the back (ie: 400, 401) may be noisier with clubs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wlk902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    74
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
73
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

this timeshare exchange was great! the apt style suite was a unique layout wrapping in a semicircle around the courtyard center on 4th floor overlooking the wading pool- windows looking out from each separate room into courtyard and from the bedroom to the front street. Somewhat dated, but charming no less for it. Directly across from the old Mint where festivals are hosted. Great location for walking the French Quarter as well as distance touring, with the public transport streetcar stop right across the street. Despite the ongoing rainfall since we arrived, we are enjoying this trip so far. Friendly staff, but if you already own a TS, avoid the salespitch which will come in the initial form of a 'message waiting' on your room phone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel every year for the last few, and always have a great time there. Every room is a suite, with a kitchenette and whirlpool bath...excellent location, and the rates are relatively low. It's furnished with English/European antiques, which adds to it's charm. It's actually a timeshare property, but our experience is that rooms are always available for short-term guests. We heartily recommend this spot to everyone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front rooms have direct access to a large balcony where many guests congregate during &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertLevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here during the French Quarter Fest and it is absolutely the best for this since one of the music stages is right across the street. You can watch the bands (and people) from a large patio/balcony. Some of the hotel is a timeshare and lots of "owners" pretty much hung out there the whole time. Very friendly bunch of folks!

Hotel was very nice and airy. I loved the small pool with the fountain. We booked a double bedroom suite. Had a cute kitchenette, living room and dining table. We were in #307 and we got it through VRBO. Very pleased with the room for the price. Room was quiet and clean. Had a coffee maker with community coffee, glassware, silverware, plates, even pots and pans. Our room had a jacuzzi tub for the bath.

The best part of the being here is the location. You are right at the corner of Frenchmen St. and Decatur. The French Market is right there and you are in the middle of everything.

The only bad thing was parking. Yes, they do have free indoor parking but only like a dozen spaces. We were lucky one night to get in there. Because of the festival, there was absolutely no parking all weekend. I had to park the car about 10 blocks away. I wasn't really worried about it but still would be nice to have something closer. Be careful where you park, the police do not fool around. One day, I saw a line of cars with tickets on them. Another day, they booted and towed the car that was parked ahead of me, but too close to the corner.

Overall, I would stay there again. Very family friendly place. Great for the kids!!

All the staff were very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: It is faster to take the stairs then to ride the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zonker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were at the Monnaie from 4/13-4/20 with another couple in a one bedroom and it was very tight. The furnishings and decor were outdated and there were a couple of issues with plumbing fixtures, that's the bad news. The good news is that the location is very convienently located to the French Quarter, and the staff was great!! We arrived on Friday of the Jazz Fest and the place was booked to capacity, we had originally did an exchange through RCI in august of last year before the dates were set for the Festival and were very lucky to find we were the at the same time. After the festival on Tuesday we asked to be upgraded to a two bedroom and the request was granted for just $25/day what a deal!! Anyway the staff was great, the garage was handy when we rented a car for a few days to see the plantations and swamps. There are previous reviews about the 30 gallon hot water and I have to say I was concerned with four adults in the room. I am happy to say that the hot water was not an issue at all, we never had an issue with hot water during our stay and the pressure and temperature in our rooms were great! While the rooms are small and outdated, maid service was good and the hotel was clean. If you are traveling to the French Quarter and for some reason plan on spending a lot of time in the room, then this probably is not the place for you, but if you, like us, used the room to sleep and nap in the mid afternoon before a wild night on Bourbon Street, then it worked out great! I would exchange again into Hotel de la Monnaie!!

Room Tip: Our rooms were 302, a one bedroom and 407 a two bedroom, both were not to great on the view but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cabo_cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Came for the Final Four and location made transit via the trolley to Canal and the Superdome shuttles very easy. The kitchenettes were very convenient and made restaurant leftover consumption simple. The laundromat in the garage was definitely a plus and allowed us to reduce our luggage mass.

The front desk personnel were very helpful in arranging sightseeing tours on our tournament off-days.

The only negative was a non functional shower. Even with a limited 30 gallon heater, it only put out cold water ALL the time. It was impossible to turn off, even when taking baths. It was mentioned to the front desk, but was never resolved during our stay. We had planned to stay an additional day after the tournament, but moved to a larger hotel within the quarter. There we took the first normal shower of our NOLA trip.

I would stay here again, but only if the shower works.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I went with a group of really fun women for a birthday weekend and we loved this place! We split 2 rooms, which was plenty for sleeping but the living space in one was really cramped. But the location was just perfect to get to the market, streetcar (which goes right by the casino!), around the corner from Frenchman St. for live music (fun!) and Decatur St. for lots of shopping & great food. The hotel and our rooms were really clean and all the staff were great and super helpful. We did not have any hot water issues that others mentioned. Only bad thing was we never knew about the gorgeous 2nd floor balcony until the day before we left. We would have spent our mornings there for sure. Will go to this hotel again.....soon I hope!

Room Tip: 505 was great, 513 was very cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#126 of 162 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Property: Hotel de la Monnaie
Address: 405 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2075
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing