We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Monnaie
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
$158
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$115
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$103
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$104
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$154
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
64
82
23
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
82
23
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench marketfrenchman streetriverfront streetcarjacuzzi tubtimeshare hotelliving roomopen air courtyardcooking utensilsgreat locationfew negativesdaily maid serviceneeds updatingtrolley stopdecatur stshort walknice bathroombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 183 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

this timeshare exchange was great! the apt style suite was a unique layout wrapping in a semicircle around the courtyard center on 4th floor overlooking the wading pool- windows looking out from each separate room into courtyard and from the bedroom to the front street. Somewhat dated, but charming no less for it. Directly across from the old Mint where festivals are hosted. Great location for walking the French Quarter as well as distance touring, with the public transport streetcar stop right across the street. Despite the ongoing rainfall since we arrived, we are enjoying this trip so far. Friendly staff, but if you already own a TS, avoid the salespitch which will come in the initial form of a 'message waiting' on your room phone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel every year for the last few, and always have a great time there. Every room is a suite, with a kitchenette and whirlpool bath...excellent location, and the rates are relatively low. It's furnished with English/European antiques, which adds to it's charm. It's actually a timeshare property, but our experience is that rooms are always available for short-term guests. We heartily recommend this spot to everyone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front rooms have direct access to a large balcony where many guests congregate during "happy hour".
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertLevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here during the French Quarter Fest and it is absolutely the best for this since one of the music stages is right across the street. You can watch the bands (and people) from a large patio/balcony. Some of the hotel is a timeshare and lots of "owners" pretty much hung out there the whole time. Very friendly bunch of folks!

Hotel was very nice and airy. I loved the small pool with the fountain. We booked a double bedroom suite. Had a cute kitchenette, living room and dining table. We were in #307 and we got it through VRBO. Very pleased with the room for the price. Room was quiet and clean. Had a coffee maker with community coffee, glassware, silverware, plates, even pots and pans. Our room had a jacuzzi tub for the bath.

The best part of the being here is the location. You are right at the corner of Frenchmen St. and Decatur. The French Market is right there and you are in the middle of everything.

The only bad thing was parking. Yes, they do have free indoor parking but only like a dozen spaces. We were lucky one night to get in there. Because of the festival, there was absolutely no parking all weekend. I had to park the car about 10 blocks away. I wasn't really worried about it but still would be nice to have something closer. Be careful where you park, the police do not fool around. One day, I saw a line of cars with tickets on them. Another day, they booted and towed the car that was parked ahead of me, but too close to the corner.

Overall, I would stay there again. Very family friendly place. Great for the kids!!

All the staff were very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: It is faster to take the stairs then to ride the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Zonker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were at the Monnaie from 4/13-4/20 with another couple in a one bedroom and it was very tight. The furnishings and decor were outdated and there were a couple of issues with plumbing fixtures, that's the bad news. The good news is that the location is very convienently located to the French Quarter, and the staff was great!! We arrived on Friday of the Jazz Fest and the place was booked to capacity, we had originally did an exchange through RCI in august of last year before the dates were set for the Festival and were very lucky to find we were the at the same time. After the festival on Tuesday we asked to be upgraded to a two bedroom and the request was granted for just $25/day what a deal!! Anyway the staff was great, the garage was handy when we rented a car for a few days to see the plantations and swamps. There are previous reviews about the 30 gallon hot water and I have to say I was concerned with four adults in the room. I am happy to say that the hot water was not an issue at all, we never had an issue with hot water during our stay and the pressure and temperature in our rooms were great! While the rooms are small and outdated, maid service was good and the hotel was clean. If you are traveling to the French Quarter and for some reason plan on spending a lot of time in the room, then this probably is not the place for you, but if you, like us, used the room to sleep and nap in the mid afternoon before a wild night on Bourbon Street, then it worked out great! I would exchange again into Hotel de la Monnaie!!

Room Tip: Our rooms were 302, a one bedroom and 407 a two bedroom, both were not to great on the view but the hot water was good!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cabo_cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Came for the Final Four and location made transit via the trolley to Canal and the Superdome shuttles very easy. The kitchenettes were very convenient and made restaurant leftover consumption simple. The laundromat in the garage was definitely a plus and allowed us to reduce our luggage mass.

The front desk personnel were very helpful in arranging sightseeing tours on our tournament off-days.

The only negative was a non functional shower. Even with a limited 30 gallon heater, it only put out cold water ALL the time. It was impossible to turn off, even when taking baths. It was mentioned to the front desk, but was never resolved during our stay. We had planned to stay an additional day after the tournament, but moved to a larger hotel within the quarter. There we took the first normal shower of our NOLA trip.

I would stay here again, but only if the shower works.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews