We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't be put off by shady area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crescent Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crescent Palms Motel
Ranked #119 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by shady area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

When travelling around the states with friends, we stayed at the Crescent Palms and arrived there by taxi from the airport. When driving down Martin Luther Jr Blvd, we were all put off by the area that it was in and worried that we had made a mistake booking this motel. However, once we got checked in, the man at reception was helpful and and gave us a warm welcome. Our room was big (for 3 people sharing 2 double beds) and very clean with a good sized bathroom. We chose it for it's cost and really was worth its money as the building was well maintained and we felt safe in an undesirable area. I looked on their own independent website and the Motel has a lot of history to it and it's nice to see that after the Motel was affected by hurricane Katrina, local investors want to keep the history of the Crescent Palms alive by renovating the motel. Overall, okay place to stay,worth the money, clean and safe, give it a chance and don't be put off the shady area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katherineanne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We arrived at The Crescent Palms Motel the day before the Essence Festival activities. It was a decently priced hotel. We had no issues checking in. Like everyone else said, the manager is very nice and hospitable. I admit that driving up to the hotel we were worried about the neighborhood. It is DEFINITELY in the heart of the 'hood', but we never saw anyone loitering around. It looks like most of the properties on this particular street are going through upgrades. I like the aspect of having yourself and your vehicle locked up promptly at 10 pm. The room was definitely clean..smelled clean and no problems with A/C or anything else. I did wear my flip flops like the others because you can tell the carpet needs a little upgrade. The bathroom was completely clean and spotless. I chose not to sleep in the sheets personally since it was for one night anyway, but the other person in my party slept comfortably in them. I did see a baby spider near the face towels and a larger spider in the shower. Killed them both and kept moving. I'd consider staying here again simply because of the staff and effort that they are making with property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbutler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms are very clean and quite. The manager Kendal was the most awesome person. He went so above and beyond what he needed to. To make our stay great. He told us the best places to eat where all the locals go to eat. Way better than any thing you'll get in the French Quarter. And way better prices too.
I want to go back in the fall, and I will stay at the Crescent Palms as long as Kendal is the manager.
What ever.... we needed he made sure we got. Any questions we asked, he had the best answer for. The motel was only 10 min's from the French quarter, and we could either take a cab or catch the bus, and then the connection trolly car. If you take the bus, get a $3.00 day pass. It's good for both the buses and the trolly cars. And Kendall will give you the skinny how to get where ever you need/want to go. The motel has free and secured parking, the gate is locked every night. So we left our car there and just took a cab or the bus everywhere. It was an awesome trip, and Kendal helped make it even better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tslinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I arived 3 hours early and was able to be checked in with a smile and no questions. Gated parking lot which put me at ease. Hotel is a short 10 min cab ride from french 1/4 and there is public transportation a block away. Great stay with a professional staff! can not be beat for the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelM1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arrived early,but it wasn't a problem Kendall let us go straight to our room,which was immaculately clean.Every thing you need is there,asked for a hair dryer which was given to us for no extra charge.Its only a $10 cab fare to the French quarter so getting around was not a problem.We were here at a very busy time (Jazzfest) so the taxis took a while to come.All in all this motel was perfect for our needs,clean,comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We appreciated the honest reviews of other visitors so I wanted to contribute as well. We arrived around 7 pm to a locked office and a note advising us to call John. Right away I was nervous, but John arrived momentarily and was wonderful. Got us comfortably situated in room, brought in a hair dryer and more towels as I requested. He advised us on where to eat and told us about the gate and security. The next day, the cleaning lady was also lovely, visited pleasantly and was very nice. The room was clean, good sized. They only offered double beds but they were comfy and cant really complain. No breakfast is offered, but that was not a deal breaker for us, given the reasonable rate. We would return to this motel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1073newyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting this great old motel recently. Unlike other older places, the owners didn't just clean up and paint, they completed renovated. The rooms are great and do not smell like a 50-year old motel. The staff is awesome and the price is right. The location is convenient to public transportation-bus and streetcar-and the neighborhood is busy with businesses and newly built or renovated housing. I would definitely recommend staying here while enjoying New Orleans away from Bourbon St!

Room Tip: Leave your vehicle in the secure lot and use public transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#108 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#99 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#128 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Palms Motel

Property: The Crescent Palms Motel
Address: 3923 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125-2011
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crescent Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Palms Motel is located in the heart of New Orleans, minutes from the French Quarter, the Superdome and other famous attractions. Our newly renovated, 1960's vintage motel offers 24 spacious guest rooms, large private bathrooms, ample closet space, a cocktail lounge and complimentary off-street parking. Each room features brand new furnishings- two double beds, a refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, 26" LCD TV/DVD with cable and more. Please join us for a visit soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crescent Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Palms Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing