We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood & service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill

Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill
Ranked #173 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great seafood & service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great seafood and excellent service from Jeff! We really enjoyed our meal and the bread pudding was delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cin054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    554
    235
    112
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pre-Cruise Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I organized a pre-cruise meet and greet for a party of 31. The reservation process was very smooth considering the number of attendees increased over a period of time. We were seated in a section on the river side with a great view and gentle breeze. The hostess, manager, and servers were extremely welcoming and provided excellent service, bending over backwards to be sure we were all having a great time. The music was fabulous but not too loud. Service was prompt but not rushed. The seafood was fresh, delicious, generously proportioned and beautifully presented, and the cocktails were outstanding! This was an amazing experience and one we plan to repeat as often as possible!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Manager at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, thanks for the great review! We love hosting large groups here at The Crazy Lobster, so it is great to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. We take great pride in providing a variety of drinks, delicious food, and top notch service; so we are very proud to learn that you were pleased with all we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
“Great times while boat watching!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our server Kevin is great, lots of energy, great recommendations. The food is right and the ambiance too! Live music and warm ambiance, a must try

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rustyrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
“Friendly bar so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere but the rice was undercooked and hard, and there were chicken bones in the jambalaya. Spicing was better than average, and portions were fine. Not a bad place but if you are mostly interested in good Cajun food and less of the bar scene, there are better places

Helpful?
Thank Stufarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Manager at Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. Although you were pleased with the atmosphere of The Crazy Lobster, I apologize that your meal was not up to our usual high standards of food quality. I will bring your feedback to the attention of our staff, and I hope that you will give us another try so we can show you how great our establishment can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Sea food restaurant, anybody who like sea food needs to go there, very nice restaurant , right on Mississippi river , you can see all the ships passing by while having very good shrimps and mussels.
Excellent service, provisional waiters (Amber), all at reasonable prices !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artur Stanisław K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Poppy's The Crazy Lobster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing