We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love and love some more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you're looking for a place with personality, this is where you should stay. Great breakfast, southern hospitality, beautiful rooms, wonderful location, smiling faces. It was a pleasure to stay at Southern Comfort. If I get a chance to visit New Orleans again, I will stay here. Jan is awesome!

Room Tip: The green room is perfect for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scomfortbb, Owner at Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Gretchen,

Thanks so much for the great review! So sorry that I missed you, but if you are anything like your sister Denise, I would have loved your company!

Thanks for complimenting Jann ,she has worked hard to carry on Southern Comfort's hospitality while I recover from my shoulder surgery. I am so pleased with her.

Hope you girls make New Orleans a yearly getaway.
Cindee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 484 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Southern Comfort is away from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter but easily accessible by a streetcar named St. Charles. Cindee knows the city and the neighborhood, takes the time to understand what you want to do, and then helps you plan your days/nights. We learned to like NOLA.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JERRY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely four days in New Orleans to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was our first time in NOLA and our first B&B experience staying at Southern Comfort. Owner Cindee Quick took care of us from the moment we stepped through her door. Actually, even before, she made sure we had reliable transportation from the airport to her B&B. She sat with us and helped plan what we could do each day to make the most of our time in NOLA and her recommendations were spot on.

Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully appointed and conveniently located home away from home. We gladly recommend it and will indeed stay with Cindee again because we definitely intend to visit New Orleans again.

P.S. > Cindee's a great cook too! Breakfast was fabulous - I nearly licked my plate clean each morning :)

Room Tip: No need to rent a car, the trolley is a block away and takes you straight to the French Quarter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KalynnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely bed & breakfast close to the streetcar line and walking distance to the fun shops on Magazine Street. The owner is very personable and gives great recommendations for places to visit, restaurants to try, even specific dishes to order! She provides maps, brochures, and guidebooks to make it easy to find your way around. The rooms are lovely and well-equipped, furnished with antiques and other touches that provide the "Southern comfort" in the name.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We spent 8 nights at Southern Comfort B & B in October, with two friends. The accommodations were charming and comfortable, and the location very convenient to the St. Charles streetcar. Our breakfasts were delicious. Best of all our hostess, Cindee, is warm and gracious. She gave us a lot of helpful information as to how to find our way around NOLA and the surrounding areas. Also she had excellent suggestions re the local music scene and nightlife. Alas, we weren't always able to follow up on the nightlife, after a full day of activity. So we plan to pace ourselves the next time we visit New Orleans... and there will be a next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After lots of research we chose Southern Comfort for our recent trip to New Orleans and are so glad we did. We liked everything about it! Our room was so comfortable--nice and big, high ceilings, lots of windows, and a very comfortable bed. We especially loved hearing the fountain outside the window as we dozed off each night. The breakfasts were delicious, and the wonderful innkeeper, Cindee, even packed us a to-go breakfast for our early morning flight home.

The front porch swing was a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing or with my morning cup of tea. (Cindee puts coffee and tea out early, before breakfast, for any early risers.) The neighborhood was full of beautiful old houses, a great place for my early morning walks. It is also just a couple of blocks from St. Charles Street, where you can easily catch a street car to take you anywhere downtown that you want to go.

Cindee was a wonderful hostess. She was welcoming, friendly, and so helpful with suggestions for places to hear music or go to eat. Each morning at the end of breakfast she appeared in the dining room and asked if anyone needed directions, maps, guidebooks, information on restaurants, music venues, or anything else to send us out for a day of sightseeing. She clearly knows and loves the city. We don't know when we will go back to NOLA but will definitely stay at Southern Comfort again when we do.

Room Tip: The Plantation Room is the largest and has a separate sitting room. It also has lots of morning ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GENCNauset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

All the other rave reviews, multiply them by 2 or 3 or even 10 and you'll get close to the experience I had staying here last spring for Jazz Fest. I loved the lovely house, my pretty and comfortable room, the neighborhood and its proximity to the street car line. I loved Cindee and the way she made me feel at home in a bunch of ways (including the work she put into laundering my mud-spattered pants after a rainy day at the fairgrounds). I loved all the delicious breakfasts she made, even accommodating my gluten-free needs. I loved her generosity, friendliness and big smile, how she shared local info, suggestions for fun things to do, for places to hear good music, for Jazz Fest logistics, for stories and history about her city. I can hardly wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolynWSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 141 in New Orleans
126 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 141 in New Orleans
180 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 141 in New Orleans
952 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Frenchmen Hotel & Bar
Royal Frenchmen Hotel & Bar
#42 of 141 in New Orleans
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1739 Marengo St, New Orleans, LA 70115-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $210 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort b&b
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing