We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pibbster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Southern Comfort! I go to Nola often and have stayed in several and this is one of the best. Cindee does a wonderful job! The house is gorgeous and the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is perfect...only 2 blocks off of St Charles and it's easy to get the streetcar. The breakfast was incredible and Cindee even lent me her bike to ride to yoga. My stay couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pibbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    24
    1
    8
    8
See reviews for
69
278
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quevert, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thank you very much to Cindee for making us feel so welcome at Southern Comfort bed & breakfast. Cindee was helpful and friendly, and full of good information about places to go and things to do in New Orleans—like how to use the street car, good places to eat dinner and lunch, and the best places to hear local music. The breakfasts Cyndee prepared for us every day were always wonderful and full of good surprises. Our room was beautiful, fresh and clean.
When we visit New Orleans again, we will be sure to come and get some more Southern Comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odile c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really! Cindee was the best host/trip-planner/story-teller any traveller could hope to have. She was genuinely interested in each person and enthusiastically made great trip suggestions backed by all the local urban lore! What a treasure!

The inn was clean and well appointed (check out the peaceful patio!). Two couples that were staying there during the three nights we were there were returning guests. We intend to add our names to that list as well!

She knows her music, her food and her hospitality! (Did I mention her breakfasts?) What more would you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've traveled to New Orleans several times and stayed in many Bed & Breakfasts, but Cindee's friendliness and hospitality made this trip very special. She made us feel very much at home, and gave us good advice for music venues and other events that were going on in town. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11nancy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

this small B & B just off St Charles is just like home - except you are taken care of by the proprietress - Cindee. Her breakfasts are scrumptious, her hospitality is superb. We have stayed there twice while trying out various B & B's while our daughter attended Tulane. This is by far the best. I wish we had found it earlier in my daughter's college career!

Room Tip: If you prefer to shower rather than bathe, it is more difficult for an older person to navigate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We travel to New Orleans frequently, at least 4 times a year, but have never stayed at a B & B. After our stay on May 16, 17 & 18 , 2013 at Southern Comfort we plan to make it our first choice for now on. The location is good, parking is easy, the room was large, clean and comfortable, and Cindee was a great, knowledgeable host.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a perfect place to stay in New Orleans. Cyndee was the perfect hostess and OMG the breakfasts! So delicious. Great location, just 2 blocks from the St Charles line so easy trip to the French Quarter but even better just a short walk or bike ride (Cyndee allowed us to borrow her bikes) to the Garden District which we preferred over the French Quarter by far. Very knowledgeable of the area and happy to share tips to make your stay worth while. Lovely rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#33 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1739 Marengo Street, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort b&b
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing