We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A B& B that made our visit perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hurley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A B& B that made our visit perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Southern Comfort B&B is a charming place to stay while visiting New Orleans. It is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood where the parking is easy and reliable. (Right in front of B&B) Our host, Cindee has created a lovely home away from home with room decor that is special and pleasing to the eye as well as extremely comfortable. Her B&B is spotless and very well maintained. You can tell it is her passion to provide a wonderful experience for her guests. I was looking forward to Cindee's breakfasts and she exceeded my expectations. They were delicious and hearty so we found we did not need lunch. When we're in New Orleans again we will definitely return to Southern Comfort B&B.

Room Tip: B&B located in a quiet neighborhood so any room will be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    24
    1
    8
    8
See reviews for
69
275
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted with a warm southern welcome that made us know that we had made the right choice. We had beautifully appointed rooms, delicious breakfasts, close proximity to the trolley (so we didn't have to drive except out to the plantations) and a hostess/innkeeper who's interest in and knowledge of the city allowed us to make the most of our short visit. Cindee was amazing as she helped us map our days to fit in as much of what we wanted to do - from walking tours, to dining, to music. We surely couldn't have done it without her. If we were returning to New Orleans there would be no question where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful home in a very charming and historic New Orleans neighborhood. Cindee's was very welcoming and a great source for information on where to go and what to see while in town. The B&B's location is very convenient being very easy walk to the streetcar line. Seams like a very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSE BAY N
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

All the 5 rated reviews are true. My brother and I are from Australia and are on a 'road' trip. We struck gold at SCBnB. Cindee is a fabulous host, cook, travel advisor, booking agent and even bicycle mechanic. We enjoyed the beautiful parts of NOLA that few newcomers to this lovely place would ever see. With Cindee's knowledge and assistance everything I wanted here became a wonderful reality. Totally fabulous and her breakfast is to die for. Very classy establishment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LorandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Southern Comfort B &B is a lovely home, and Cindee is a gracious, accommodating host. My husband and I have stayed there twice over the past six months when we have been in New Orleans on family business. We have enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the convenient location, and good New Orleans style breakfasts. We plan to stay there again next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcellehilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. The house is very large and quiet, with 3 guest rooms. The rooms are spacious, elegant, and furnished with beautiful antiques. Cindee serves a hot homemade breakfast each morning. The house is in a safe, beautiful area only a very short walk to the St. Charles streetcar, which will take you to the French Quarter or the Audubon Park/Tulane area for only $1.25. Will definitely stay here again when I come to New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaylorKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Southern Comfort B&B. It is located just two blocks off of St. Charles in a quiet neighborhood within the Garden District. The parking is free and right in front of the home (that never happens in the French Quarter). Our room, the Horizon, was warm and inviting, and the bathroom was very large. The house has a lovely front porch, which we enjoyed one morning. The best part of the stay, though, was getting to know the hostess, Cindee. She made us feel completely comfortable and welcome. She is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us plenty of great ideas for things to do and places to eat. Cindee also makes a terrific breakfast! I hope that we visit New Orleans again soon so that we can go back to the Southern Comfort.

Room Tip: The Horizon room is at the back of the house and is very light with its large windows and blue/white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackintheNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#34 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1739 Marengo St, New Orleans, LA 70115-4729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort b&b
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing