We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #43 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chapin, SC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House with my 3 best friends. Everything about it was wonderful. Karen is the quintessential Southern hostess. She is warm, welcoming, and prepared. She gave helpful suggestions and always chatted with us when she saw us, but left us alone to explore New Orleans at our leisure. The house is located close enough to the action, but far enough away to have peace and quiet when you want it. It is charming, clean and comfy. The breakfast basket was overflowing with yummy treats which she replenished every day. We had the 2 rooms off the main street. They share a "foyer" entrance so we just kept our bedroom doors open most of the time and we felt like we were at home. The quietest room is the smallest but has the biggest bathroom. The other room is large, but with a small bathroom and some street noise. We did not have a car and it was just fine. We took a cab back to Dauphine one night as Karen suggested not walking home late at night (which is true for any city.) I loved this place and it would be my first choice if I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horsemom29036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
67
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an excellent stay. Karen was a helpful hostess and told us everything we needed to know about getting around in New Orleans. The house was near enough for us to walk to the places we needed to go. The breakfast treats were delicious, and we found ourselves very comfortable in our room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

First, Karen is the most excellent hostess! She has many great suggestions and tips for making the most out of your New Orleans visit. The room was comfortable, the breakfast basket was bountiful, and the chicory coffee was delicious! We were able to walk everywhere--early morning Mass at St Louis Cathedral, restaurants, shopping, bars, Canal Street ferry to Algiers. We really enjoyed our trip to the New Orleans Rum Distillery! We have already recommended Dauphine House to other family members!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl7_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Dauphine House is perfectly situated to be close to the action in both the Quarter and the Fauborg Marigny (3 blocks from Frenchman St), yet still be far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Karen is an extremely attentive and helpful hostess, but does not hover over her guests. She is willing to go above and beyond expectations and truly made for a wonderful visit. I only wish that she had more rooms so it was not so hard to find open dates. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnrkitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Dauphine House was a great find. Karen was very helpful about sending us in the right direction and telling us what areas we should avoid. Recommendations were much appreciated, as it was our first time to NOLA. Location is within walking distance of most EVERYWHERE, which works out well. Nice and quiet when you return to your room after along day touring the town. No hotel/motel hall traffic is a plus. Basket of goodies were a tasty treat, too. We will definitely be repeat customers !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a super cute tiny place with two bedrooms and walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Warning if you ever stay there the room with the shower has a REALLY tiny shower, totally functional but very tiny. I ended up with some amazing blisters from walking everywhere and could have used a soak for my feet. The hostess Karen was really nice, supplied us with enough pastries, coffee and juice to survive a hurricane and was also a tour guide and was able to direct to some great spots to stay. She was really nice and it was a great price too. I would highly recommend staying here you are looking for a quaint space to stay and don't need the hotel feel. It is very much like a home away from home. She even provided bug spray, which I highly recommend you use. :)

Room Tip: Request the room with the bathtub if you want more room than a tiny shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CijaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I read all the great reviews about Dauphine House on TripAdvisor and was so happy to get a reservation there. The reviews on here are spot on! The room was great and the location even better. Karen was very helpful and gave us so many tips for our stay. It was a genuine pleasure meeting her. It was my boyfriend's first time in New Orleans so I wanted to make everything special. The Ingenue room (in the back) was romantic and my boyfriend couldn't get enough of the picture of the peacock! The room was a good size for two people and the bathroom was huge. The room and bathroom were tidy and I loved the towels in the bathroom. There is a mini fridge in the room and a little table as well. The continental breakfast was great, filled with yummy pastries. We came in the beginning of August so the price was a bargain, $65 per night. Parking was easy as Karen assisted us with a parking pass. The location was great, we were only a few blocks from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. We absolutely loved it here. I have already told my family and friends about this place; we also plan to come back to the Dauphine House whenever we return to New Orleans. I highly recommended this place!! Thank you again, Karen!! Julissa & Ryan :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulOca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 139 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 139 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 139 in New Orleans
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 139 in New Orleans
569 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
167 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing