We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, and hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My friends and I stayed here and thought the hostel was great. Staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area. Hostel was clean and in a safe area.
We will be back this way in September and definately will stay here.
Charlie
California

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southern46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked to stay here for a week, as soon as we entered the female dorm it was clearly filthy. Having had bad experiences with bed bugs in san francisco (and managing to rid ourselves of the little b******s) we were keen to check out the beds closely. Close inspection was not required, as soon as we moved one of the mattresses aside three bed bugs were nestled in the woodwork directly infront of us, the place must be infested.

A woman living in the dorm also warned us that it was vital that we close the door properly at night as there is a rapist in the area, which was slightly daunting. The men that we met from the male dorm that were hanging around outisde the front of the hostel had tried to follow us into our room, they were very creepy.

Sad to read the old reviews, sounds like it has gone VERY down-hill in recent years. We didn't end up staying at all because of the bed bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumpmump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Well it looks like a haunted place, really old and creepy. First we were going to shared rooms but the girl with us had a mental breakdown along the way (the outside pathways and the room and guest gave her the chills) so we upgraded to a private room.

The private rooms where on the other side of the street in a old building. Very retro and old-fashioned but lots of space, big beds, kitchen and quiet.

After laughing a bit about the place being haunted and investigating a creepy daunting noise we settled and had 2 good nights sleep.

Both the attendants and guests were peculiar people but what's the fun of being in New Orleans without finding unusual stuff?

Would not recommend the shared rooms but the private ones were more than ok to us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nuno_m_faria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Ok - it is a cheap hostel with nice location on a good tramline - but our experience in one of the private rooms was rather bad.

Unlike other people writing review here - fortunately we did not get bitten by bed bugs - BUT in generally room is filthy:

- windows not cleaned for years
- curtains shockingly dirty
- cockroaches on kitchenette sink.
- Bathroom dirty
- Carpet very old and have not seen vacuum for a while
- Wireless did not work
- Room lock did not feel too safe

I understand 'you get what you pay for' but I would suggest investing a little time to find something else at the same price that undestand 'general hygiene'. Rooms are generally quite big , but like mentioned if you are worried about cleanliness you may want to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikko_2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Not kidding about the bites. At least a 100 bites! Never been bitten before and thought they were mosquito bites. WRONG! Rooms are filthy. Cant get sleep and am going nuts because of the constant itching. Staff WILL NOT do anything regarding my infested clothes and sleeping bag/blanket. Gotta toss my clothes. I guess this 'hostel' has been through this situation before. They are balking at this, without fear of reprisal. WI-FI doesnt exist. Lost and Found doesnt exist. You lose, they find. They didnt have to ignore my complaints and I didnt have to publish this posting, but here we are!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinerpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I stayed her almost twenty years ago and found it to be fine, no complaints, for the money. This time I got bitten by bedbugs! The thing is, often you don't notice until days later. The itching doesn't start till around three days later! While I was there and unaware of the bedbugs, the dirtiness of of the place, the bad smell was uncomfortable. The coffee pot was dirty, nothing to clean it with, the bathroom shower walls and tub were dirty, the front door was filthy. I was generally uncomfortable and happy to leave. If you are thinking of staying here, DO YOUR RESEARCH ON BEDBUGS, how to check for them and safeguard yourself from bringing them home with you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysticharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

i had stayed at marquette house about 4 times a few years ago, unfortunately new orleans is still suffering the affects of katrina and the hostel has gone downhill.
we had booked dorms but after a long flight we asked for one of the private rooms. the room stunk, was filthy and not very secure. the next day we moved to another private room which was even worse, we had booked for 14 nights but left after 3. the guy on reception didnt really care and wanted to argue about why it was so dirty.
when we took the coffee pot, which was full of mouldy coffee over to show him, he merely emptied it out and handed it back!
he also didnt give us any bedding when we arrived
i love new orleans and would go back but marquette house need to get their act together, it was a nice place in a great area and im sorry to see the way its gone

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsoulchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#73 of 167 in New Orleans
1,136 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 37 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#10 of 37 in New Orleans
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quisby
#2 of 37 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#9 of 37 in New Orleans
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Address: 2253 Carondelet St., New Orleans, LA 70130-5809
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Marquette / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing