We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a good experience”

Josephine Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Josephine Guest House
Ranked #92 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overall, a good experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Josephine Guest House as we concluded a week-long Spring Break vacation. We first arrived around 8:00 pm on a Saturday night, and our host was very welcoming. He showed us the common rooms in the main house which were filled with traditional decor and lovely antiques. He proceeded to give us an "upgrade" to a suite in the separate guest house located on the same property (former slave quaters, I presumed). The guest house is two stories and we stayed on the second floor; we were told that building had been recently renovated, and it did appear to be. The suite was lovely -- tastefully decorated, with a small sitting area, a dining room table (perfect for visitors!), a full-service kitchen, a roomy bath, and a large bedroom with a comfortable bed. Right outside the entrance to the suite (next to the stairs) was also a small balcony with a table and two chairs -- a very relaxing place to sit and enjoy the beautiful weather before beginning a big day in New Orleans!

The linens and towels were sufficient -- nothing too fancy. Lots of closet space was provided in the bedroom. On the whole, the property was very quiet -- our much-needed rest was never disturbed. Both mornings we slept in rather late, so we cannot speak for the breakfast or the common dining room accomodations.

A couple of caveats, though, to our otherwise positive review. Please keep in mind this is New Orleans, and things just run "differently" down there. The attitude towards most things is *very* relaxed. As such, those looking for that extra-special touch in the "details" may leave dissatisfied. Some examples of this "approach" in place during our visit:

- There was a folded up baby playpen/crib in our suite that we didn't ask for, though our suite was so large, it didn't bother us at all. The host must have seen that we noticed the crib when we first arrived and explained he had brought it up for the benefit of some family members with a baby that had stayed there recently. He then said, "My wife told me, 'Go up there and take that baby crib out of their room!'.... but I decided not to.... because, you know, that's *work*!"

- Upon checking out, once we finally found the owner, he didn't seem to know precisely what to charge us. We understood the rate to be $125 for the room we had originally reserved, and I think he had forgotten that the "upgrade" was complimentary. Also, he seemed a little disappointed when we told him we'd be paying with a credit card, rather than a check.

- As we left, I noticed the owner's shirt -- a screen-print T-shirt with the torso of a scantily clad (if not topless), large-breasted woman on it, her neck adorned with Mardi Gras beads. Now there's certainly not much room for prudishness in New Orleans, but I thought his choice of attire was rather emblematic of his management style of the place!

I tried to be as thorough as possible in our assessment. We really lucked out in finding a spot at all, as our reservations were very last-minute and most of the other B&Bs were all booked. B&Bs tend to be more of a gamble than chain hotels, but if you're looking for a real "local" experience and aren't too picky, then you'll probably do alright at the Josephine. We likely won't stay there again next time we come to New Orleans -- mostly because there are so many B&B options there, we want to try as many of the good ones as possible!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2005

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Josephine Guesthouse for four days to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and would highly recommend the Inn to others who are visiting New Orleans. The guesthouse is a beautiful old southern mansion situated on a quiet block in the historic Garden District, and just steps away from St. Charles Ave. where you can catch the streetcar into the French Quarter.

The interior of the house is decorated in true New Orleans fashion, with beautiful Victorian furniture, and large antique chandeliers. The guest bedrooms are extremely romantic with 20ft ceilings, large 15ft windows, and antique beds and furniture. A delicious Creole breakfast of biscuits, strawberries, and coffee is served from 8am-10am, in the house's beautiful dinning room. Staying at the Josephine Guesthouse made our visit to New Orleans all the more memorable and special.

* I would also like to add The Josephine Guesthouse has the lowest room rates, ours was only $135 per night!!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2005

The location is nice and convenient to the streetcar, but construction marred the environment a little. The building is a little run down, and repairs (carpet, paint, light fixtures, plumbing), and general upkeep, are needed. There was very little water pressure on the second floor, and bulbs were burned out. The outside doors cannot be locked, and there are outside shutters on the windows that were abruptly opened by someone outside in the morning before I was prepared to get up! (more than once). I would not recommend this place for anyone with allergies or sensitivities, because, like many older buildings in New Orleans I would imagine, this one has a high moldy/musty quotient. "Breakfast" was a bare minimum, coffee, juice and a biscuit. At $115.00 per night, the whole experience was inadequate.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2005

We were quite disappointed with our stay at the Josephine, especially given some reviews we had read. The house looks like it needs some TLC. Now we know why the pictures on their website were taken at nighttime. Most of the rooms were in fairly good shape - painted recently, nice decor, etc. However, others made the house look very run down - walls that desparately needed paint touch ups, grungy looking carpet, etc. The house felt like it needed better cleaning and upkeep - light fixtures were quite dusty, burned out bulbs, etc.

We splurged and got the room with the ivory inlaid bed that everyone raves about and were disappointed in that. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in - seemed to be a very cheap mattress. The pictures on their website of this room were misleading - a lot of the decor shown in the picture was not actually in the room and it looked very stark in contrast. The towels in the bathroom were torn.

The claim of being a bed & breakfast is very misleading. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, and a basket of biscuits that was promptly removed after we'd eaten just one. We had to go to a restaurant and get our breakfast afterward, which didn't make us too happy since we'd justified the extra cost of staying there with the fact that we were getting a breakfast.

Also, the fact that you can't lock your room when you're out is a little unsettling. We've never had that problem before in the many B&B's we've stayed in.

Overall, this place seems to be overrated and wasn't worth the money. We'll find somewhere else to stay on our next trip to New Orleans.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2004

Our room and hosts were absolutely fabulous.

Dan and MaryAnne went out of their way to ensure our three-night stay was perfect. They provided great dining, touring, and shopping tips ensuring we had the local history and insider knoweledge making our trip truly memorable. We are already booking our return trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2004

My wife and I have stayed twice at the Josephine, and it has been excellent both times. The first time was around 1995, and the second in 2003. The neighborhood was a bit run-down on our first visit but seems to have undergone a minor renaisance since that time and was beautiful.
THe Josephine is one block or so off St. Charles and is away from all of the tourists (I don't like my own, what can I say), and seems to be a lovely residential neighborhood which is not being overly restored.
The house iteself is filled with beautiful old furniture and at least two outrageusly decorated beds, and is wonderfully quiet. The owners are very gracious.

Helpful?
3 Thank DWL2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2003

We came here on our wedding anniversary and Dan promptly upgraded us to the gorgeous front bedroom with ivory-inlaid bed and huge bathroom with clawfoot tub. It was the embodiment of my romantic fantasy of what I wanted NO to be. The architecture and antiques created an incredible ambiance. Though B&Bs aren't really our style, the Josephine gave us a taste of the real New Orleans that just can't be found in the big souless corporate hotels. The light breakfast was lovely and Dan made reliably great recommendations for non-touristy restaurants. Our time at the Josephine enhanced the overall experience of this unique city and contributed to making NO "our special place."

Helpful?
4 Thank starrybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
668 reviews
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#47 of 140 in New Orleans
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 140 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Magnolia Mansion
Magnolia Mansion
#103 of 140 in New Orleans
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josephine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josephine Guest House

Property: Josephine Guest House
Address: 1450 Josephine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Josephine Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing