We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sully Mansion is a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just got back from New Orleans where we stayed at Sully Mansion. A beautiful historic home in the Garden District, we were close enough to walk to the Charles Street trolley and Magazine Street, where there are lots of great restaurants and shops. Guy and Nancy are consummate hosts, who made us feel welcome and provided tips for great dining and getting around. Breakfast each morning was a sumptuous spread of baked goods, yogurt parfaits, fruit, coffee, juice and more.Our room was quite comfortable, with a lovely full bath and Queen-size bed. The room was towards the back of the house so it was quiet at night. We particularly loved sitting on the porch in the late afternoon with the company of sweet Gracie, the house dog. We definitely plan on returning as often as we can! Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have queen-size beds, so ask if this is your preference. Most rooms are located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRG413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 682 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just returned from a visit to New Orleans. Sully Mansion is a beautiful home in the lovely Garden District. The St. Charles trolley ( one block away) made travel to the center of town convenient and dependable. Restaurants were close by on both St. Charles and Magazine Streets. Our room was maintained in spotless condition.
Our hosts Nancy and Guy were welcoming and helpful with directions and dining suggestions. The breakfast buffet had a variety of delightful selections- fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, freshly baked cakes, cereals, juices and plenty of coffee. Each day Nancy offered a hot breakfast choice. All were delicious. We would definitely recommend this delightful B & B for a New Orleans vacation.
.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may be a little quieter due to some street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aikivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Sully Mansion is all we could have asked for in a Bed & Breakfast.
Great Location: It is on a beautiful street in the Garden District that is conveniently located within walking distance to Magazine Street and just a block away from the St. Charles streetcar for those wanting to venture to the Quarter (the hosts will also immediately call you a cab if requested).
Clean and Beautiful Rooms: Our room was clean and charming, with a sturdy bed and a wall mounted air conditioner that kept our room nice and cool.
Breakfast: Plenty of juice and coffee was on hand, as well as a variety of fruits, breads, parfaits and pastries. There was also at least one meat and cheese platter at breakfast.
Hosts: Guy and Nancy are very friendly and accommodating and will immediately offer advice and recommendations when requested. You will also love Gracie, the house dog. :)
Other: If given the opportunity, take advantage of the private dinner offered with Chef Gason. He did an outstanding job with our anniversary dinner.
Sully Mansion is highly recommended and we will likely use them again when we return.

Room Tip: I would recommend this place more for couples and friends than for those with small children. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2631, Owner at Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We just love that our guests are taking advantage of our private dinners. It is not every inn or every town where you can have the likes of Chef Gason who has worked for stars in the NFL and other celebrities prepare a meal of your choosing and enjoy it in our dining room or tropical courtyard. These kind folks were celebrating their one year anniversary and it was a delight to have them stay with us. We promised to see them again on their fifth anniversary if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We only stayed one night but had a wonderful time. We had a private chef (Gason Nelson) who came in and undertook a perfect menu which we helped prepare with him. This included lobster bisque, charred oysters, grilled filet mignon (excellent prime cut) with crabmeat crust, mashed potatoes and lime cured asparagus. Double chocolate mousse with cinnamon whipped cream topped off the desert with a great bottle of wine (guy's favorite). Breakfast was great as well. The ambiance was an unexpected plus. My wife and I had a great time. Our second floor room was beautifully decorated and well maintained. This is the first bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at, and it met my (and my wife's) every expectation. We would recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mberkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our first trip to New Orleans and first stay in a bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were great as was the location. Nancy and Guy went out of their way to be sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was memorable. We would definitely like to make a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great location and wonderful hosts, Nancy and Guy. Our 1st floor room was enormous and the bath was upscale, it really seemed more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. We enjoyed the lovely breakfasts and coffee on the front porch with Gracie the dog! If you are a very light sleeper, you might prefer a back room as there is a bit of street noise. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passportraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our first Mardi Gras trip, and Nancy and Guy made our stay better than home. Breakfasts are fabulous, as are the accommodations. Couldn't find a better location-just a block off St. Charles. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
384 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
348 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#10 of 142 in New Orleans
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2631 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $136 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by magnolias and live oaks the neighborhood is filled with grand mansions and beautiful gardens. Guests are steps away from the shops on Magazine Street and St. Charles Avenue which puts the French Quarter and Tulane and Loyola universities within easy reach. Rooms range from intimate doubles to grand king suites. Continental breakfast included in rates. Come enjoy New Orleans and live like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sully Mansion b&b
Sully Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing